PSLE 2009 Top Student Predictions

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    253 Posts 78 Posters 107.2k Views 1 Watching
      tamarind

Congratulations to Qifa ! :celebrate:

I am very happy that a neighbourhood school produced the top student 😉 Because my kids are going to a neighbourhood school !

Actually my answer quite close leh :

tamarind:
      That school may produce one top student in donkey years. It is like striking TOTO. May be some parents with fantastic genes decided they just want to put their child in the nearest school 😉
      But nevermind lah, I was not actually making any predictions.

mathsparks

hey tamarind, maybe chief can split the points with you and buds and anyone else who comes forward?

atutor2001

mathsparks:
          atutor2001:

I say yes, PRC staying year for at least 4 years.

Then, I'm not surprise. PRCs in neighbourhood schools are very driven to excel.

I have included at least 4 years because 2 previous top students (during my kids time) were reported in the press as SG. However, they were actually born in PRC and have become SG by the time they took PSLE .

Those foreign students that join in P3 usually do not have enough time to catch up with English & Science (because of English) and cannot top PSLE but they will excel in Air level.

mathsparks:
            hey tamarind, maybe chief can split the points with you and buds and anyone else who comes forward?

Me lor..I also supported neighbourhood schools (underdogs).. Bukit Timah primary school count right?

mathsparks

Me lor..I also supported neighbourhood schools (underdogs).. Bukit Timah primary school count right?
              chief, where're you? I help you consolidate .. got 3 liao..ks2me, buds and tamarind. got KPs for me since I so kaypoh?
              *there goes mathsparks shamelessly begging for points* :oops:

mum03

Chief have you disappear, I also supported the underdog, \"tampines Pri\". Aiya Chief got point or not. I am very happy for the neighbourhood sch.

:rahrah:

Fairy

mathsparks:
                  Then, I'm not surprise. PRCs in neighbourhood schools are very driven to excel.

Fyi, Chen Muhe, the Nation's 2nd highest (from NYPS, mainstream) is also a PRC.

NYPS' own 2nd is also a PRC, mainstream.

mathsparks

yo chief, don’t take cover for so long can? site’s crashing intermittently, and so many coming forward for your 100 points. i dont consolidate liao. you know, i’m the lazy type. hate to update lists. so you can keep the KPs.

mathsparks

Fairy:
                      Fyi, Chen Muhe, the Nation's 2nd highest (from NYPS, mainstream) is also a PRC.

NYPS' own 2nd is also a PRC, mainstream.
                      So I wonder why parents give credit to the principal when the kids do well, esp the PRCS. I've nothing against them but I figured they are now appearing in neighbourhood schools, coz difficult to get into top schools. And being driven (themselves or their parents), they will excel. Just check around and you'll see a lot of neighbourhood top scorers are PRCs, even the maths olympiad winners from neighbourhood schools tend to be PRCs.

You can tell quite easily a prc from their names, always in hypy with surname followed by space then names. And our local kids' surnames are mainly dialect names like Tan, Koh, Chia etc. Theirs would be Qiu, Chen, Xie...

Tri-mum

Tri-mum:
                        My choice : Yew Tee Primary School.

Reasons being:
                        1) My nephew is there 😉 and the school produced good result last year.

2) I hope more and more neighbourhood school will stand out in the limelight and shine brightly. This is also to reward the principal and teachers fm such schools that they are doing as good as those\"branded\" schools.

3) Ëmm last reason, to shut up those who wear \"colour lens\" on neighbourhood school. :nunchuk: Ouch, don't throw stone at me.
                        Haha, let me join in the crowd begging for KSpoints.... Chief, please :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 26