Asia spending billions on tutors: study
BPGH IS a good school, no need so far.
May not be next door like Pei Hwa, but still good.
Within the zone (where you guys are) still..
And not easy to get in oso leh... 245... waaahh.. :please: -
BeContented:
Well.. perhaps you can share what are some examples of \"deliberate manipulations\" & \"toxic postings\"?
Personally, the peace I want is a place where there can be healthy discussion, no deliberate manipulation, less toxic and finger pointing, and of course more responsibility in what we say..... otherwise, KSP would be no different from the other online forums. So I do believe each KSP member has a responsibility to help prevent this from happening. :please:
yes quite a number of used-to-be regular ksp members have quit or don't bother anymore due to excessive amount of negativity and toxic postings, baseless accusations / bashing of teachers / schools / MOE
nothing wrong to be unconventional in viewpoints. but something is wrong with people (no one needs to self-acknowledge here) who likes to post negative things without processing in their head first whether it is true or half truth or outright nonsense which can't withstand being challenged
I like challenge.. :evil:
ps: I know part comment not by you.. since it is already in different colour I didn't separate them..
feel free to share.. -
Repetitive sweeping statements aren't genuine oversights leh. :slapshead:
It could be a genuine oversight.. right..? Not everyone writes \"very carefully\"..verykiasu2010:
to make a sweeping statement (and frequently) without being pointed out as untruth will eventually render most info on this kiasuparents.com as mere gossips, even when other useful may be around.
I know, people usually does not like to be challenged
They are sweeping. :frustrated: At times, wee too often. :rant:
Sweeping statements are misleading. Especially for parents who are new to the education system.
So from now onwards, write carefully hor.
Sharing experiences yes.. welcome.. :hugs: Teacher bashing, not nice. :spank:And, for \"teacher don't teach well\".. well, 1 of my kids teacher is like that. We just share our experiences. You can't prove that it is untruth isn't it? of coz, sweeping statements is not good, but I am quite sure most reader don't read it as \"all teachers are like that\" (sweeping statement).. right? or mebbe.. YMMV........
1 teacher who didn't teach in your child's school and another one in j's school and ok another two from another person's school does not equate to ALL teachers don't teach or all schools not good... that's barely a fraction as compared to the great ones around.
Teaching ain't an easy profession. What more when parents are getting more involved, more intelligent, more kiasu.. Some parents can't even handle one child.. or their own child(ren)... and yet parents still scream when teachers don't teach values or moral education to a class of over 40? :skeptical: -
Well.. perhaps you can share what are some examples of \"deliberate manipulations\" & \"toxic postings\"?BeContented:
Personally, the peace I want is a place where there can be healthy discussion, no deliberate manipulation, less toxic and finger pointing, and of course more responsibility in what we say..... otherwise, KSP would be no different from the other online forums. So I do believe each KSP member has a responsibility to help prevent this from happening. :please:
[quote]yes quite a number of used-to-be regular ksp members have quit or don't bother anymore due to excessive amount of negativity and toxic postings, baseless accusations / bashing of teachers / schools / MOE
nothing wrong to be unconventional in viewpoints. but something is wrong with people (no one needs to self-acknowledge here) who likes to post negative things without processing in their head first whether it is true or half truth or outright nonsense which can't withstand being challenged
I like challenge.. :evil:
ps: I know part comment not by you.. since it is already in different colour I didn't separate them..
feel free to share..[/quote] :spank: you no good, no good.
U like challenge....no wonder like to poke porcupine :pokeeye: :rotflmao: .....but I no like challenge
so story must end here.
What I feel....you may not....and vice versa. Since it is a feeling, I may be right, I may be wrong and you may interpret it totally differently from me. Already there's too much 'chemistry reaction', I dun wanna be ็ฝชไบบ (sinner) and create more trouble. ๅค่ฎฒๅค้๏ผ ่ถๆ่ถ้ปใ Peace yah
Mychildren:
Ya, its really scary. 90+ still need tuition. I would be very happy if my children can score this kind of results.KSP:
[quote=\"buds\"]Agree with that KSP, cos when I inquired at Mindstretcher thinking to perhaps sign up for DD2 last year for Math they asked the same questions. To me, it's more like filling up the blanks in a Personal Particulars form, no biggie at all. Upon hearing that DD2 has been scoring 90s to full marks range... the lady advised that I bring in her last semestral exam results and encouraged me to allow her to sit for a test. If she can manage that test she should go for HA (Higher Ability) class where concepts won't be repeated but instead children will be exposed to more challenging Math, rather than be stuck in their Achiever class which is more tutoring than enriching her already good foundation in math concepts. They also showed samples of their worksheets.
Wow!!! People may ask 90+ still need tuition? :yikes:
Just to share that you are not alone. TOP Branded tuition centres reserved all their weekends' slots mostly for GEP students!!! They make it easier for these top students so that more can join them. Most mainstreams are allocated on the weekdays.
Nowadays tuition services are not just to help those with poor grades to improve from FAIL to PASS. It does way way more than just that.
It provides services for students with different abilities and parents with different ksi
who want their children to imrpove
- from Good to Better (gooder for vk2010)
- from Better (gooder) to Best
- and for the Best to stay at the Best
Now, I understand, its really about what is our expectation, not what the children really need to have. Sorry, I don't mean to offend anyone. Just stating what I feel. :lightrod:[/quote]
The above is an example of not writing carefully. My bad cause i wrote in between breastfeeding two boys. *pant pant*
I was and still am the sole caregiver and support for my children. We have very little help from our parents as they are all still working. Yes, in their silver years but still enjoy working to stay active and yes, sane. We have very little funds, no extras most times. Which means no tuition.. thankfully something we don't need to date. :xedfingers:
I was heavily pregnant with #3 and starting to get busy with household arrangements and what nots in preps for delivery. I was still actively involved with my children's education. They do not need to be hovered over during homework and assignments. I don't hafta sit with them to make sure they do, because that's their job. They can always holler when they need assistance when in doubt. My job was to provide basic foundation of concepts since funds was lacking for a single-incomed family of ours.
We have daily after-homework stuff to do (extras) like top school papers and some games thereafter or brain boosters. It keeps them challenged. Children get complacent when it's always the same thing over and over and when complacency sets in, carelessness ensues. Keeping children appropriately stimulated ensures they are kept on their toes.
DD2 was worried that i won't have time to do all those anymore with her when baby comes (she likes it) and wants to relieve me of those areas and requested some classes she could attend. We looked at OnSponge.. liked it.. but expensive for a two day holiday prgm. By the time i decided to bite the bullet (take from what i've saved) to send her for it, places were all filled. When the holiday prgm at OnSponge came again, both DD and i deliberated again. Eventually, she mentioned a friend of hers attended Mindstretcher and said it was fun. She came home to rationalize.
DD2 : Mom, one-time pgrm at OnSponge is $380 so two sessions equals to $760. Can i trade those two prgms for a longer one at Mindstretcher here? It will stretch our dollar. Instead of a four-day fun holiday pgrm, i might be able to get a 6-mth enrichment pgrm with Mindstretcher. It is still expensive so you can think about it.
Fast forward to date. I now have #4. DD2 still has not attended any extra external enrichment pgrm. All the more harder to cough out now.
So she has recently declared..
DD2 : Mom, i think we should save the $ for a rainy day. This year i'm going to start supplementary lessons after school and i've heard from friends in upper levels, they are quite fun. When you have time off the babies and the house, we can still do as for normal but if not the school is giving us... and it's free, mom. I just love to spend time with you, that's all. It's not like studying at all.
Then that same night after the above conclusion, there was a Jet Star advertisement on TV.
Joanne Peh went, \"Singapore... Do you need a holiday?\"
DD2 screamed : Yes!! Yes!! Me! I need a holiday! *raising her hand up excitedly*
DD2 : I know, mom! We could save all the money we thought to spend on my enrichment for a family holiday! That's a great idea isn't it?
Me : Yes it is.. yes it is.. :love:
So.. to clarify (which i don't mind to at all)... i am not a kiasu parent. Never was really.. but a very much involved one.. and an observant one to know what keeps my children going. Without extra moolahs :moneyflies: \"I\" am responsible for how it keeps going. So if i do eventually have money raining from the sky for them, i will send them for selective lessons that they can find enjoyment and fulfillment from because it can keep them going... keep them motivated with learning. So for the longest time, i have been teaching them to learn how to learn.. a more independent way that doesn't require an extra person to do it with. It's a lifelong journey i hope i can see through, if i live to see the days. But it definitely is a happy one for me thus far.
While my children share that they have classmates who can get full marks all the time, but attends tuition for all 4 subjects, i just reassure them that they are the true geniuses for they have only themselves (and very little from myself from time to time) to achieve that 80s to 90s or the occasional full marks and that's even way better. They have more time for themselves to be the children that they are and are happier.
I don't have expectations to begin with so it's easier on me.. for i don't wear them down with MY expectations. Kids these days go round fixing all that on their own already. Scary but good scary cos they know what's good for them.
Even though there were occasions where they failed (yes failed and recorded in red) or gotten ranges of Band 3s, they pull themselves up back together to what they deem comfortable and they understand that the results they get commensurate with the effort and the diligence that THEY put in. Nothing else.
No one owes us a living. We work for it.
They know that and i'm happy... plus quietly beaming with pride. Not so quiet now that the rest of you know... :politebleah: So when they do do very well, it's sheer bonus for me! :please: It was hard work that got them there. Instead of them asking me if i was proud of them and what they achieved, they come hugging me and sharing how proud they are of themselves. It IS their hard work and it is literally their success. I'm just sharing the happiness. :grphug:
You can read about my bonus here at this link.
> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=640008#p640008
Sharing a quote a very close friend of mine shared...
\"The only job i know how to do (best) is to be a mother....\"
...... and i hope i have been a good one, if not great.
PS 1. While i did inquire at Mindstretcher, for DD2's sake... never did sign up in the end. And yes, i'm am moooorrre than happy if they get 90s to full marks. Definitely. Over the moon. Without tuition especially..
PS 2. Plus they don't only work hard in school, but are mommy's little elves at home and ever so excited to be a part of any volunteer projects I'm involved with. Balanced children. Cannot ask for more.. :please:
PS 3. I also know how to be a good wife but :politebleah: i don't have to clarify that.
I oredi have proof. :evil:
:rotflmao: -
Mychildren:
:ugogirl:
I will not because of all these stop posting my opinions here. If I feel that there's a need for me to voice up something, I'll do it.
I neither here for quarreling nor forcing anyone to accept what I've written. Also, I don't like to beat around the bush and ๆ้ฉฌๅฑ anyone here. I think others will still try to find something wrong with what I've wrote. But, this won't stop me from writing in KSparents unless I'm real busy with my family.
Cheers. :hi5: -
Mychildren:
:goodpost:
Stop poking Janet. She is indeed admirable for been saying what's happening around her whereby not many people dare to do it. She's the first person I respect here in KSparents. :roll: -
Yes, agree with Janet- American ginseng not Heaty. In fact it has cooling effect and is good for general well being. It's affordable too - $1.50-2 per bottle at ztp or similar.
Read that American ginseng is not heaty.limlim:
ginseng is \"heaty\".. take too much will nose bleed..
try birds nest (neutral) or ็พ็พๆฐด (ling yang shui). hock hua or ZTP got sell.. $5 a pop.. not cheap for us peasants but shd be affordable for you lah..
Giving him chrysanthemum and barley. His tuition costs $1800. Sponsors for birds nest are welcomed though :evil: -
Todayโs ST published an article about Aristocare care putting up untrue claims about his GE preparatory program. This was what we were hoping for in our earlier discussion on "regulating" the tuition industry (tuition centres). At least a first step. Imagine if this man had been allowed to continue with his exaggerated claimsโฆ more tuition centres may follow suit.
MOE already licenced private education centres, and this list of centres include tuition centres. Here is the URL : http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/private-education/school-list/
I have no objection to imposing more regulations on tuition centres, but more regulations usually lead to higher costs, which will eventually be passed onto the consumer.
This letter by a tuition agency clarifies the difference between an NIE trained teacher and an MOE certified teacher. http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/forum/2006/forum_letters/20060309a.pdf
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.