PSLE 2009 Top Student Predictions

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    253 Posts 78 Posters 107.5k Views 1 Watching
      mum03

Aiya don't steal my points, Chief now :siam:

mathsparks:
        hey buds, so it's you! the closest to a correct answer, eh chief?

thot it might be winth with her scary ideas or fairy with her dream interpretation.
        It buds, with her fantastic instincts and also the Oujia Board. Hahaa!

tamarind

mathsparks:

So I wonder why parents give credit to the principal when the kids do well, esp the PRCS. I've nothing against them but I figured they are now appearing in neighbourhood schools, coz difficult to get into top schools. And being driven (themselves or their parents), they will excel. Just check around and you'll see a lot of neighbourhood top scorers are PRCs, even the maths olympiad winners from neighbourhood schools tend to be PRCs.

You can tell quite easily a prc from their names, always in hypy with surname followed by space then names. And our local kids' surnames are mainly dialect names like Tan, Koh, Chia etc. Theirs would be Qiu, Chen, Xie...

I also wonder why parents try so hard to get into schools like NYPS, etc, just because they have produced top students before. Those top students could have highly educated parents who have fantastic genes and are able to coach their kids to do so well. It is not necessarily due to good teachers in the school.

As for the top student this year, she could be born in Singapore, though the parents are from mainland China, right ? The student could have Singapore citizenship ? Why do we still call her PRC ? Not trying to start an argument here. But I support our government, we should embrace all immigrants as our own people πŸ˜‰

I have a colleague who is from mainland China. All her family members are already citizens. Her twins are going to the same primary school as my girl next year. She told me that in China, all kids start to memorize multiplication tables since 2 years old, and they also memorized hundreds of Tang poetry. I supposed that's how she educate her own kids too. Her kids are born here, and attended local childcare centre, and they are able to read English very well by K2. I am not surprised that kids whose parents are PRCs can do so well.

Multiplication tables at 2yrs! Wow! :salute:

My girls are still enjoying multiplication tables' songs! :lol:
            http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4120&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

tamarind

Multiplication tables at 2yrs! Wow! :salute:

My girls are still enjoying multiplication tables' songs! :lol:
              http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4120&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
              The thing is she said memorize only, she knew that most kids at 2 years old don't understand the concept of multiplication πŸ˜‰

Guess since early education advocates all agree

children's learning ability are like sponges especially
                from birth to 3yrs... let's drill. Mwahahaa.. :lol: They do
                not hafta understand the works of it at that age... guess
                it's preparation for future learning. And by P1 it's embedded
                like concrete liao, can vomit out all the information at their
                fingertips. Come to think of it, rote learning is how i learnt
                it too! πŸ˜› Mebbe be more kiasu, rote learn the Math
                formulas as well since on that track anyway.. :politebleah:

tamarind

buds,

I think they are very successful in developing the discipline to learn "serious and boring" stuff since a very young age. Unlike in Singapore, where most parents want learning to be very "fun" for their kids. The fact is that, studying cannot always be fun. Kids must be trained to learn things which are "boring" to them, best to start from 2 to 3 years old.

csc

tamarind:
                    buds,

I think they are very successful in developing the discipline to learn \"serious and boring\" stuff since a very young age. Unlike in Singapore, where most parents want learning to be very \"fun\" for their kids. The fact is that, studying cannot always be fun. Kids must be trained to learn things which are \"boring\" to them, best to start from 2 to 3 years old.
                    I agree with you, tamarind. Here we are complaining so much about the CL teachers in the past and blaming them for the lack of interest in the language. In fact, that's how the Chinese learn , rote learning.

Not afraid to say my children learn Chinese in that manner too, ie, by memorising tons of phrases and model compositions and yes, they are rewarded for that discipline and effort.

Augmum

mathsparks:
                      yo chief, don't take cover for so long can? site's crashing intermittently, and so many coming forward for your 100 points. i dont consolidate liao. you know, i'm the lazy type. hate to update lists. so you can keep the KPs.

oh yes...Chief Chief..............don't be away pl.......
                      i also wanna to ask for KS points leh.........got anot???

i got the top scholar T-score guess correctly, see postings below posted in \"Estimated T-score for 2009 PSLE\" (wow...take quite a while to search for it, can't remember where i had posted)
                      hi atutor2001

me too, guess less than 294.
                      yesterday when i talked to hub, he and me guessed the same number 290.

tamarind:
                        buds,

I think they are very successful in developing the discipline to learn \"serious and boring\" stuff since a very young age. Unlike in Singapore, where most parents want learning to be very \"fun\" for their kids. The fact is that, studying cannot always be fun. Kids must be trained to learn things which are \"boring\" to them, best to start from 2 to 3 years old.
                        Yup, it's just whether we do it earlier or later.
                        Learning using the \"fun\" is so call to encourage
                        them to learn more of the coming boring stuff.. :lol:
                        Bait a bit to catch the bigger fish at thee end of
                        it. But hor... cannot schedule boring and important
                        stuff too late or at the last minute. With everything
                        we do, must have sufficient time to make prepz....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 18 / 26