All About London Olympics and Paralympics 2012
Have to miss some events due to the time difference.
I'm not as ON as the last Beijing Olympics. This time round just pick and choose lor else get updates from Internet or papers.
Am catching The Chaser now. Almost finishing the drama soon. Oops :offtopic: -
It gets kinda annoying seeing those negative comments amidst the congratulatory messages. (At least we don't see it here, but we don't get a lot of comments here anyway
Ya lor... As long as she is representing Singapore. Just like if I work for an American company or European company n need to compete against a singapore company, I still represent those companies right??ksi:
[quote=\"concern2\"]OK, this thread cannot go without this message that a Singaporean has written for Feng Tian Wei:
http://thehearttruths.com/2012/08/07/feng-tianwei-sorry-on-behalf-of-my-fellow-singaporeans/
) Ok, not happy with garmen giving so much to get Olympic medals, but complain about having no money right? Then encourage children to work for the medals lah, then can become millionaire overnight what, no meh? Isn't that attractive enough? Not so easy to get Gold? If easy, the whole street will be filled with Olympic Champions and millionaires! :mad:
For once (
), I thot we might be on the right track on this. We should build on this while the heat is on instead of belittling it. We have a short history, and there is no better time to make a change than now. The facilities are increasing around us. Start enrolling and get involved in sports. The table tennis facilities are free for rental at some complexes![/quote] :goodpost: :goodpost:
:congrats: :congrats: :congrats: to the table tennis team, they worked hard for it. For those giving negative remarks : If you think that we should have true blue Singaporeans to represent Singapore, then let your children take up sports and join the Olympic games lar. I'm sure you will spent thousands of dollars to get a top notch coach for your children since you are willing to spend so much for their tuition. See if they can win any medals at the next games lor. Are you willing to let your children sacrifice their childhood like FTW did? Talk is easy hor. :spank: :spank: :spank: -
Sama sama!Have to miss some events due to the time difference.
I'm not as ON as the last Beijing Olympics. This time round just pick and choose lor else get updates from Internet or papers. -
As the country become more affluent, there will be more people joining the \"more expensive\" sports and participating in those events. Interesting turn of the wind and water.fightingmom:
China and USA to-date is a difference of 4 gold medals between them ! :boogie:
Yeah latest, China table tennis won Japan and got another Gold! :celebrate: -
Anyone can explain how the points for gymnastics are tabulated? Got decimal points some more!
As the country become more affluent, there will be more people joining the \"more expensive\" sports and participating in those events. Interesting turn of the wind and water.[/quote]China in now what the old Soviet Union used to be in terms of world sports, especially the Olympics. Like the old Soviet Union, it has a government-sponsored training program and hand picks promising athletes for world-class development. In post-Soviet Russia, however, that program has disintegrated so they are only a shadow of what they once were. In the USA, there is no government-driven program at all...every sport operates rather independently and sets its own criteria regarding who makes the team or not.ksi:
[quote=\"fightingmom\"]China and USA to-date is a difference of 4 gold medals between them ! :boogie:
Yeah latest, China table tennis won Japan and got another Gold! :celebrate: -
For a local to get an Olympic medal in Singapore context is almost impossible for many. To be a national swimmer your family must be rich enough to put you in the top swimming club from a tender age of 6. Train 6 days a week till age 12. From age 12 continue training 6 days a week and twice a day to secure top 5 position in the national level. In between training and school, they are most likely loaded with private tuition, because there is noway they can catch up with studies. No life for any other things.
After getting the DSA to top school, which is more important than having an Olympic medal, most if not all of these talented swimmers will vanish in thin air.
This applied to track and field talents, which is a much cheaper sports to pursue.
Most of these talents are snatched by top schools via DSA. None of them want to be transferred to the O level class or ask to sign up as private candidate.
Sports School with its modern sports facility and sports science technology is a crippled white elephant, unless it is used as a training ground for all sports talents from all schools to develop local sports talents to compete oversea. -
pinky:
gosh, what happened to liu xiang? millions of his fans will be heartbroken and maybe furious with what happened during the heats
Quite a disaster, don't you think? He also failed to run in the last Olympics due to leg injury. I was also looking forward to see how he do this round as I heard he's good. So disappointed. You know, some people say he's got the whole Chinese Nation on his shoulder as his number is 1356, interpreted by the Chinese as a population of 13 billion and 56 ethnic groups.
looking4Tutor:
To be a national swimmer your family must be rich enough to put you in the top swimming club from a tender age of 6.
So different from China, aren't we? They join because they are poor and need the money, while we must be rich enough to join. Hm....
They should make competitive sports FREE - if you could meet certain criteria. -
usa-sing-1:
In your opinion, what do you think Singapore could do to get there?
China in now what the old Soviet Union used to be in terms of world sports, especially the Olympics. Like the old Soviet Union, it has a government-sponsored training program and hand picks promising athletes for world-class development. In post-Soviet Russia, however, that program has disintegrated so they are only a shadow of what they once were. In the USA, there is no government-driven program at all...every sport operates rather independently and sets its own criteria regarding who makes the team or not.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.