MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
HAPPYH:
:goodpost:ana_mum:
Just happened to be reading this thread few days ago and would like to give my 2 cents worth..
The current system is indeed giving much priority to alumni. I am not proposing to scrap away the registration phase for alumni but will definitely appreciate if the authorities do something to fine-tune the current Phase 2 category.
(1)\tAgreed with parents who wanted their children to be in the school they have previously studied in, to share the same values and cultures. However, if parents think so highly about their alma mater, shouldn’t they joined the alumni association and active participate in the school activities even before their children enter the school? I can understand giving priority to alumni, especially those actively involved, but I truly don’t understand why should priority be given to those old boys and girls who refused to join the alumni association, not involved in any of the activities and not even in-touch with anything from their alma mater until their children need to register for P1. Then they’ll go for registration with their old report book or any documentations, which they have not touch for at least 2-3 decades, to prove they were previously from the school. Worse are those parents who only studied in the school for only 1-2 years, either transfer-in or out due to some reasons. IMHO, I think the authorities should do away with Phase 2A(2) and just have Phase 2A for alumni who actively involved in their alma mater.
:goodpost:
perhaps P2A should be restricted to the school where we collect our PSLE certs from? some people have 2 alumnis to choose from while others have none cos their schools have been closed down. -
pirate:
This is where I don't understand what you are saying. The question remains why not just post it on the school's website?
not every school must have a website or have sufficient manpower to maintain one. you should volunteerpirate:
nothing disingenuous unless you say so. as it it parents are complaining teachers not teaching enuf with too much admin work. you should volunteerIf the school thinks that parents are interested enough to justify posting the school's overall PSLE results breakdown on the school's website, it is disingenuous to even suggest they think parents won't be interested in the breakdown between GEP and non-GEP results.
pirate:
not hanging it up at the gate or the website does not equate to did not analyse nor not having the data. if you are truly interested, call up, or make a visit, don't insinuateIt is a very simple thing to do. There is simply no good reason why it is not done. And no, parents can call up the school to ask if they are interested is not a good reason. Why should an interested parent have to call up the school to ask?
pirate:
This is supposed to be about the education of our children. It is not supposed to be some PR exercise or one-upmanship amongst schools. The whole philosophy is wrong. And if you don't see that, then sorry, we must just agree to disagree.
yes very much so, it is very obvious you don't agree, and you don't have to. putting up results has always been maligned as one-up-manship and boasting, so much so that parents and MOE are asking ST not to publish the sterling results of those school. perhaps your own philosophy is wrong, not the school'spirate:
some parents even calling for pure-bred SC up to xx number of generations. your type ??Speaking of priorities. Does anybody see anything potentially wrong if all the popular schools here will eventually only have SC students? Would that be a good environment in this current age?
HAPPYH:
What about only SC ALUMNI?
How about schools that eventually only have children of alumni?dorisp:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
Speaking of priorities. Does anybody see anything potentially wrong if all the popular schools here will eventually only have SC students? Would that be a good environment in this current age?

What about SC ALUMNI - not enough, on top of that those parent(s) must be a SC when he/she was a student?
Can keep going like this. No end.[/quote]to go further, must specify the SC's ancestors must all be born in Singapore, no immigrants are ever allowed. Must check Bukit Brown lah -
pirate:
why 70% why not 25% or 10% or 44% or 69% why 70% please justify for the sake of education.Absolutely. That is why I suggested earlier that MOE should cap P1 and P2A to 70% of total vacancy. I also suggested that P2B should be capped at 25% of the remaining places, compared to the 50% now.
That doesn't address the first issue I brought up though.
is there a lie or secret research that say 70% is the magic number ? :evil: -
not true
I wanted to join the PSG. but all the activities are on weekdays which parents have to work and those who cannot afford to contribute during working hours are deprived of a chance to volunteer for PSG.keroppi:
I was an alumni before joining the PSG. The schools my kids are attending do not accept PVs simply because there simply isn't a need to. The overwhelming support of parents means the school is never short-handed in any school activities. I guess that's because most parents these days know the importance of being involved in their kids' educational journey.
lots of activities are in weekend or holidays or evenings
they know alumni also need to earn a living -
pirate:
They should join the alumni association before the child is born.

half agree. they should not only join (what for just a name on the register??) but should actively participate in alumni activities that bring good name to the school, they should also give time and money -
Actually alumni is not only contribution by effort alone. When the school calls for donation, having alumni group can encourage more collection because it is compelling to want to support the school for self and child and easier for the school to appeal to the alumni group who has an identity with the school. Having said that, the generous new parents who contribute now will have their children contributing as alumni in future.
:goodpost: -
to go further, must specify the SC's ancestors must all be born in Singapore, no immigrants are ever allowed. Must check Bukit Brown lah
But, but, some sections bulldozed already right? No proof how? :rotflmao:
Wa seh, why am I on this thread again.. :siam:
:idea: Only humor will keep me coming back!
ya lor, can blame the government again ...... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:verykiasu2010:
to go further, must specify the SC's ancestors must all be born in Singapore, no immigrants are ever allowed. Must check Bukit Brown lah
But, but, some sections bulldozed already right? No proof how? :rotflmao:
Wa seh, why am I on this thread again.. :siam:
i oso don noe why on this thread again, must be the weather lar :rotflmao: :evil: -
ana_mum:
I must support you!! :udawoman:Just happened to be reading this thread few days ago and would like to give my 2 cents worth..
The current system is indeed giving much priority to alumni. I am not proposing to scrap away the registration phase for alumni but will definitely appreciate if the authorities do something to fine-tune the current Phase 2 category.
(1)\tAgreed with parents who wanted their children to be in the school they have previously studied in, to share the same values and cultures. However, if parents think so highly about their alma mater, shouldn’t they joined the alumni association and active participate in the school activities even before their children enter the school? I can understand giving priority to alumni, especially those actively involved, but I truly don’t understand why should priority be given to those old boys and girls who refused to join the alumni association, not involved in any of the activities and not even in-touch with anything from their alma mater until their children need to register for P1. Then they’ll go for registration with their old report book or any documentations, which they have not touch for at least 2-3 decades, to prove they were previously from the school. Worse are those parents who only studied in the school for only 1-2 years, either transfer-in or out due to some reasons. IMHO, I think the authorities should do away with Phase 2A(2) and just have Phase 2A for alumni who actively involved in their alma mater.
(2)\tPhase 2A(1) & 2A(2) are given unlimited seats for application from the balance after Phase 1. Then the balance after Phase 2A(2) will be evenly apportion to Phase 2B (50%) & Phase 2C (50%). That means applicants under Phase 2A(1) & 2A(2) who are staying >10km away from the school will be given the seat against those staying within 500m but not under this Phase. Would this be fair for those staying near and yet not within reach due to limited seats? Why can’t the balance vacancies after Phase 1 be equally apportion to Phase 2A, 2B & 2C and the balance from Phase 2A will then be evenly allocate to 2B & 2C? That will definitely increase the chances for those staying within 1km or 2km especially when most people will probably fall under Phase 2C.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.