Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
Imami:
:goodpost:Instead of picking on PRs, I think perhaps there is a need to seriously look into priority given to alumni? Alumni's kid's are in an earlier phase than Grassroot leaders and PVs right? How fair is that?
Grassroots leaders serve the community. pVs put in effort to serve their choice of schools. What about passive alumni members?
Move around related topics/threads you will find folks saying things like \"I stay punggol leh, but my wifey was alumni of chij. So we are putting our kid's thru priority phase via the alumni route even though our kid needs to spend 2hr commuting daily.\" for those of us who live only a stone throw from that particular school, 锤不锤?
But I salute to those going the alumni route who move nearer to their alma mata so that their kid's need not commute so much. In my heart, they win (me). -
Thanks dorisp. I so scare Kenna flamed and stoned… For speaking my view.
Imami:
Instead of picking on PRs, I think perhaps there is a need to seriously look into priority given to alumni? Alumni's kid's are in an earlier phase than Grassroot leaders and PVs right? How fair is that?
Grassroots leaders serve the community. pVs put in effort to serve their choice of schools. What about passive alumni members?
Move around related topics/threads you will find folks saying things like \"I stay punggol leh, but my wifey was alumni of chij. So we are putting our kid's thru priority phase via the alumni route even though our kid needs to spend 2hr commuting daily.\" for those of us who live only a stone throw from that particular school, 锤不锤?
But I salute to those going the alumni route who move nearer to their alma mata so that their kid's need not commute so much. In my heart, they win (me).
:celebrate: :goodpost:
Agreed TOTALLY. Very easy for these alumi to enrol their child in lor. PV have to clock PV hours diligently while some people just need to produce report book/slip and walk into the school gate and voila, secured a place with no sweat.
Please note that I do not belong to any PV group and neither do I intend to PV or have anything against alumi.My daughter is already in her primary level .I have just keying in my 2 cents worth of thoughts only. -
Cannot say PR taken up rate is not significant so we just open one eye and close one eye. What is right is right and what is wrong we must change. If u experience balloting before you will then know that even ONE vacancy makes a big difference to all parents. Some school went into balloting just because of that ONE vacancy exceeded.Not 2C lah.. that is too much.. Let the PRs have a go at 2C..
Afterall, the number isn't that significant.. The seats taken by 2A to 2B far outweighs those taken by PRs at 2C.
Don't forget, at 2C, All SCs are admitted first before PRs.
That is already significant priority already.
If MOE were to put SC priority before PR throughout registration can you imagine so many more SC parents and their kids can succeed to get into their preferred school within 1km, 1-2km and even for those out of 2km.
There will be lesser disappointed SC parents in KS forum.
I am a Singaporean so my main concern is for our own Singaporean friends after which then our PR friends. Isn't this what our fellow Singaporeans want our garmen to do? -
Imami:
Thanks dorisp. I so scare Kenna flamed and stoned.... For speaking my view.
I totally understand as I tried to put myself in their shoes.
When you get
, just stay
!
miffymiffy:
Thanks miffymiffy.:celebrate: :goodpost:
Agreed TOTALLY. Very easy for these alumi to enrol their child in lor. PV have to clock PV hours diligently while some people just need to produce report book/slip and walk into the school gate and voila, secured a place with no sweat.
Please note that I do not belong to any PV group and neither do I intend to PV or have anything against alumi.My daughter is already in her primary level .I have just keying in my 2 cents worth of thoughts only.
Maybe this is the best measure - all things keep constant i.e alumni still is in an earlier phase before pv and grassroots leaders. But all phases must be subjected to the proximity rule. Ie priority is given to all those within 1km first. Then proceed to 1-2km and so on.
I personally feel that
-yes, genuine and serious Grassroot leaders should be given priority. They serve the community.
- yes, pv shd be given priority, they serve the schools amid their busy schedule.
- yes, all children living within 1km to a school should be given priority over those living further away.
- yes, priority shd be given to SCs over PRs but we cannot be overly 臭。I am a SC. Strangely, I feel a bit sad for the PRs when I hear comments that more priority should be given to SC. I just thought, enough is given for SC. Perhaps we should look within the framework for flaws...
I am still thinking of it but what's your take on this scenario - who shd have priority over thus one vacancy (let's forget about the differnent phases. Let's assume there is only one phase):
- SC child, alumni, lives 8km away from school, need to commute via school bus everyday for 1 hr.
- SC child, lives 1km from school.
- PR child, lives 2km from school
- SC child, pv, lives 3km from school. -
dorisp:
I totally understand as I tried to put myself in their shoes.
When you get
, just stay
!

I try. I try. I will most likely need to go through balloting in the near future. I hope I stay objective.
Blessedwife:
I support limlim that PRs should be given a go at phase 2C.Cannot say PR taken up rate is not significant so we just open one eye and close one eye. What is right is right and what is wrong we must change. If u experience balloting before you will then know that even ONE vacancy makes a big difference to all parents. Some school went into balloting just because of that ONE vacancy exceeded.
If MOE were to put SC priority before PR throughout registration can you imagine so many more SC parents and their kids can succeed to get into their preferred school within 1km, 1-2km and even for those out of 2km.
There will be lesser disappointed SC parents in KS forum.
I am a Singaporean so my main concern is for our own Singaporean friends after which then our PR friends. Isn't this what our fellow Singaporeans want our garmen to do?
SC are given priority, so if SC applicants is more than the vacancies available , ballot is only between the SC ....PR dun even have chance.
Only when SC applicants < vacancies, then PR will get to 'smell' the leftover. I really dun see why this hoo-ha over PRs in phase 2C.
What really is important, is for schools to be able to update and inform potential parents what are the vacancies available and how many SCs are applying.....so that SCs (& PRs) can make informed decision.
(refer to point 5-8
http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2012/03/seven-new-primary-schools-for-2013-and-further-differentiation-and-outreach-at-p1-registration.php) -
Imami:
:snuggles:
Thanks miffymiffy.
Maybe this is the best measure - all things keep constant i.e alumni still is in an earlier phase before pv and grassroots leaders. But all phases must be subjected to the proximity rule. Ie priority is given to all those within 1km first. Then proceed to 1-2km and so on.
I personally feel that
-yes, genuine and serious Grassroot leaders should be given priority. They serve the community.
- yes, pv shd be given priority, they serve the schools amid their busy schedule.
- yes, all children living within 1km to a school should be given priority over those living further away.
- yes, priority shd be given to SCs over PRs but we cannot be overly 臭。I am a SC. Strangely, I feel a bit sad for the PRs when I hear comments that more priority should be given to SC. I just thought, enough is given for SC. Perhaps we should look within the framework for flaws...
I am still thinking of it but what's your take on this scenario - who shd have priority over thus one vacancy (let's forget about the differnent phases. Let's assume there is only one phase):
- SC child, alumni, lives 8km away from school, need to commute via school bus everyday for 1 hr.
- SC child, lives 1km from school.
- PR child, lives 2km from school
- SC child, pv, lives 3km from school.
Imami, you are very objective
I too feel sad for them and hope not to go overboard. Every country has their black sheeps......let's be more tolerant of each other. Many of these PR kids grow up here and will develop a bond with Singapore.....but if we continue to behave so anti towards them, this nastiness will rub off to these kids from their parents AND from our own kids. As they get older and reads all these stuff, aren't we just pushing them away, making them feeling so unwelcome with all these ME SC, YOU PR ?? -
BeContented:
Thanks BeContented.:snuggles:
Imami, you are very objective
I too feel sad for them and hope not to go overboard. Every country has their black sheeps......let's be more tolerant of each other. Many of these PR kids grow up here and will develop a bond with Singapore.....but if we continue to behave so anti towards them, this nastiness will rub off to these kids from their parents AND from our own kids. As they get older and reads all these stuff, aren't we just pushing them away, making them feeling so unwelcome with all these ME SC, YOU PR ??
I just thought none of us is picking on the proximity rule right? So how does it measures up if we are pushing the PR kid's who lives nearby out? Are we not doing what those in priority phases but live very far away do to us - ousting those of us who live within 1km or even 2km for this matter to end up balloting?
Sure we are SC. We shd have priority over non-SC. I just feel that the priority shd be reasonable. If One doesnt have any primary school going kid, will one still cry foul on this subject? Maybe not.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics