MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 458.8k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

The current system of P2A without taking into consideration the home school distance and admits all makes a mockery of the policy's intention of a child should study in a school near their house.

Over here, P2A children may come from 3km, 5km, maybe 8kms and the authority accepts that. Over there, for P2B and P2C, why is home school distance suddendly so relevant that everything is determined by that leh?

Just don't understand why over here and over there different treatment lor.

Discuss only hah, cannot fight one hah!

πŸ˜„

LOLMum

Correct me if I am wrong but I believe there is distance priority in phase 2a.

The only difference between phase 1, 2a (group a) n phase 2b,2c (group b) is there is no cap on group a.

Someone in this forum said balloting at phase 2a was conducted by a school some years ago…anyone remember this or can confirm this?

rains

There is no distance priority in phase 2A πŸ™‚ which is why the outcry.

No la. Balloting was never done at phase 2A in the history la. Maybe you misread what I typed earlier on: I said that I would really have to ballot IF the number of children registered at phase 2A doubled that of the previous years - because I saw that it doubled at phase 1 and phase 2A1.

dorisp

Yes but by the current rules, if all places are just enough for only P2A, then the school will admit a P2A child staying 9km away and turn away a child staying 0.5km from school because this later child is in P2B or P2C.

Like that happening soon lor. Logic correct meh?

πŸ˜„

limlim

rains:

Practicality - you said it. That's exactly why people want to register at phase 2A, so that we don't have to scramble for limited vacancies at phase 2C, so that we don't have to go through the stress of balloting and uncertainty of whether we would get that seat.

Oh, to answer the obvious, not everyone can afford a house at Bt Timah or other prime areas to be near their alma mater. Believe me, if I had four million dollars to burn, I'd shift immediately to save my kid the insufferable agony of traveling for an hour on public transport. Er that's sarcasm by the way.
              You are missing the point here.

It is NOT a question of whether an alumni should pick their alma mater or a nearby school.

The question is WHY should alumni who stays far away be given the priority over someone who stays nearby, and this is a whole thread already debating on that.

Not everyone have $$$$, and so does not everyone desire to put their kid in their alma mater, as simple as that.

limlim

rains:

[quote=\"rains\"]And what's wrong with wanting the best of both worlds?

Nothing wrong.. at all.

There is also absolutely nothing wrong in a citizen wanting to reserve/protect the precious resource such as education for their own kind.

so, if you are not a citizen and do not intend to be one..

Don't expect the citizens to welcome you for a piece of the pie at their precious resource and enjoy the \"best of both worlds\" at their expense.

That's underhanded, personal attack and I am not going to entertain that, just so that the ugliness of xenophobia doesn't take over this thread.

Just remember don't take advantage of the currency exchange to 'enjoy the best of both worlds'.[/quote]No it's not personal attack.

Probably I should not use the word \"you\". And when I typed that post, I am not aware whether you're a citizen, and I actually assumed you are.

Replace the word \"you\" with \"one\", if it bothers you.

\"so, if one is not a citizen and do not intend to be one..

Don't expect the citizens to welcome him/her for a piece of the pie at their precious resource and enjoy the \"best of both worlds\" at the citizen's expense.\"

LOLMum

Thanks for the replies. I just found this...On moe website

Question ..What are the guidelines to be used for balloting when the number of applications exceeds the number of vacancies from Phase 2A(1) to Phase 2C Supplementary?

Answers...With effect from the 2012 Primary One Registration Exercise, should the total number of applications exceed the number of vacancies for each phase from Phase 2A(1) to 2C Supplementary, priority will be given in the order of (1) children who are Singapore Citizens (SCs), followed by (2) children who are Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs). If the number of applicants within each category exceeds the number of vacancies, balloting will be conducted according to the home-school distance category in the following order of priority.

Children living within 1 km of the school of choice.
                  Children living between 1 km and 2 km of the school of choice.
                  Children living outside 2 km of the school of choice.

Go to Primary One Registration webpage

dorisp

rains:
                    There is no distance priority in phase 2A πŸ™‚ which is why the outcry.

Many here did not doubt that alumni should be given some degree of priority. But it should not be done over a limitless blanket at the expense of those who stay nearby and without connections.

IMHO, a national policy has to be fair, transparent and consistent to all.

A cap for P2A would be a reasonable proposal. It protects the interest, priority and PRIDE of the alumni, and it also at the same time give a fair chance of those staying near school to gain a place.

πŸ˜„

rains

dorisp:
                      The current system of P2A without taking into consideration the home school distance and admits all makes a mockery of the policy's intention of a child should study in a school near their house.

Over here, P2A children may come from 3km, 5km, maybe 8kms and the authority accepts that. Over there, for P2B and P2C, why is home school distance suddendly so relevant that everything is determined by that leh?

Just don't understand why over here and over there different treatment lor.

Discuss only hah, cannot fight one hah!

πŸ˜„
                      Maybe they feel that phase 2a people have fought the battle last time already, so now should rest mah. Phases 2b and 2c are the battleground. If don't go by distance, then how to ensure fairness? Can't be every phase also fight battle right? If not we also make phase 1 go by distance? Lagi best! πŸ˜‰

limlim

Aiyoh, πŸ˜‚ not everyone can afford the property next to the alma mater lah. What if the house he could best afford is 3km away from school.

So alumni phase is the only phase whereby pp who can't afford to move near to the school have the best chance to study in a good school which so happens to bethe alma mater. :boogie:
                        He is saying he find it incomprehensible why one don't want to go to their alma mater.

so, I post the same question, why don't he move near to his alma mater?

The answer is, because not everyone can or want to.

And because not everyone wants to enrol in the alma mater, why should alumni be given priority as compared to some who stays nearby?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 179 / 197