All About Autism
Yup I agreed we are the best therapist for our kids. The way I talk to my kids are different. People might wonder why this mummy so long winded… And like to ask stupid questions like asking him what flavour ice cream he is eating when its obviously strawberry… And the I ask him is it hot or cold, sweet or sour etc…
But the thing is I wanted to get him to talk and describe that’s why. Only we are constantly at our kids side to teach them.
I am quite impress with KKH SLT. I might stop my pte 1-1 SLT and let KKH conduct the 1-1 sessions. However I will continue this pte group SLT. To save cost and we feel that we can do the 1-1 part ourselves at home…
Spend within our means and adjust according when needs changes is the key…
If I remember correctly, eipic centre also have income bracket for different income and subsidy… Need to select those eipic that are within our means too… I know I won’t be able to put my child in awwa so I never select that… -
helplessmum3:
helplessmum, sorry to hear about your financial issues. I reckon that your seeking views at this forum is good cos it has helped you put things into perspective.
slmkoo,
i see, now i get it, thanks so much .. so life skill will some how open up them..
i been working with my son at home cuz no $ for private therapist also kkh therapist long wait.. :(..
and get advise from all mummies here and work on him..
he is now able to imitate adults & even his peers already.. he has widen his awareness... and able to see things in big picture , as compare in Feb 12 time..
I cant give you much advice on the financial issues, but hope I can cheer you up by letting you know that the positive changes have occurred not only in your son but also in you, since you first started posting at this forum. There is a lot more positive energy in you now in finding ways to help him and that really deserves a pat on the back!
:celebrate: -
Mashy, ya, i oso pick learning from here… so grateful… there so many kind sould parents here who willing to share & help. the picture card i think my son will understand yet…
Nugget, wat is your SLT name in KKH? i oso talk to my son differently, ppl i force him or so bad to him. but i just wan to ask him to greed & talk mah. dun care la, i jus need to explain to them tat, he need to force to talk lor…
ImMeeMee,i need your pat on my back so much… time to time i still struggling in acceptance… but still got to move on. and hope one day he will near normal… try to closed the gap…as much …i only can afford him for my this life time… one & only child in my life… -
Helpessmum,
I only been through one session at KKH rehab, will the SLT remains the same? The SLT is Cathy but she told me she is leaving KKH so I dunno who I will be assigned to next… -
nugget:
Yes, u stay with the same SLT until your needs/emphasis has changed or in this case when your SLT leaves. Mine has changed many times already over the years coz we moved from articulation to stuttering and now to social skills. For the OT, we have only changed once becoz that's when the first therapist was on leave and I also felt that we weren't making anymore headway. Different therapists have different ideas so some times if it stops working, u can voice out your concerns and try another one.Helpessmum,
I only been through one session at KKH rehab, will the SLT remains the same? The SLT is Cathy but she told me she is leaving KKH so I dunno who I will be assigned to next.. -
Thanks Mashy,
How often do you attend the speech therapy at rehab? Now you son is still attending? If yes, How did he find the time to go since now he is in primary school. -
nugget:
Once every 3 weeks for speech, OT and social skills. So works out to be about once a week. We book for the morning session before sch. So we have lunch in kkh and go straight to sch after that. I only arrange for one session each time at 10am coz that's the only time we have. They are quite punctual. So usually we can estimate the time better. We tried once at 9am, but that's too early and he's exhausted in the afternoon in school. Sometimes we couldn't get an appointment for 3 weeks apart, so plus minus lah. I'm not so particular with OT so I allow it to stretch to 4-5 weeks sometimes. My son's handwriting has improve a lot already so now it's more to get him to be able to do his work without being distracted.Thanks Mashy,
How often do you attend the speech therapy at rehab? Now you son is still attending? If yes, How did he find the time to go since now he is in primary school. -
Hi Mummies with kids in primary schools now,
How do you coach them in picture composition? My boy, like most ASD kids is quite literal. He can only tell what he see in the picture, but can’t really explain the story behind the picture -
specialboymum:
Have u tried picture sequencing card games? U can try playing that, then just show one card and remove the rest of the cards and ask him what happens next. Then u can try asking what happens before the card.Hi Mummies with kids in primary schools now,
How do you coach them in picture composition? My boy, like most ASD kids is quite literal. He can only tell what he see in the picture, but can't really explain the story behind the picture
Once he gets used to knowing that before and after concept, u can try with a random pic and ask what happens before and after and get him to build his story around it.
My son hasn't done composition yet, but I use this to teach him to tell me what happened. He always got his ideas jumbled up and couldn't tell me exactly what happened in sch. So I told him to remember that game and tell me like in the form of pic cards. He could then tell me sequentially what happened for me to understand what he is saying, -
Hi everyone,
I am new in this forum. I happened to see this topic on Austism, and i want to share my story.
My son got diagnose with Austism recently. But i have put him to Fei Yue Early Intervention Centre since Jan 2012. He shows alot of improvements after he attend at Fei Yue. He tends to speak up more. He started to call out names, like "Mummy", "Daddy", "Jie Jie" and etc. He also knows how to say "A, B, C to Z".
I did not expect much from him now. He is 3.5years old. I just hope that he can speak up and tell us what he wants.
Cynthia
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.