All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 931.7k Views 1 Watching
      NoeNothinG

Hi, i need advice here…

I hav DS who is currently in full day cc & I intend to switch him to kindy next year when he goes K1… I’m now having big headache on whether should I enrol him to a church kindy (which I already registered w one) or put him in Monte kindy, so far I visited Lumiere Monte in Serangoon & I’m quite like it esp the environment (Not the exp fee though :p)… Will try to visit others too but not much time left as the church kindy is asking for deposit now in order to secure the place…

Ok, my main concern is is here… I hav frens who told me (also heard some comments from others) tat Monte is more suitable for younger kids & best to put kids in mainstream kindy when they are older like in K1&K2, so they will not hav ‘environment & culture’ shock when they enter P1… Is that the case? I hav the worries when I know monte kids hav lot of freedom to do things their wan, what if next time they go primary school? Won’t they hate it when they hav to follow teacher’s instruction all the times & cannot do whatever they like?

NoeNothinG

Oh ya, actually what character type of child suits Montessori the best? I really no idea what is suitable for my child, terrible rite?

twinstar3393

Dear Mummies,

Can I seek advice from all the mothers here? My 28th mths old son is currently with a childcare but we are thinking of transferring him out as he is basically not learning much in the centre. Especially with the high turnover of the teachers for the past 6 months, the other parents have been feeding me info like how they left my son unattended for hours as he is not compliant. They put him outside the classroom and let him room around the other classrooms on his own. With this, we are seriously thinking of taking him out. However, as he is delayed, we are torn between putting him in a 3 hrs structured montessori class vs a traditional kindergarten. There have been different comments and suggestions but our preference would be a TLC enviorment with low t-s ration. We are staying along upper bukit timah and thus far, have the following places in mind:

1. Arise Kindergarten
          2. Bukit Panjang Methodist Kindergarten
          3. Cannosian Kindergarten
          4. Spring Montessori
          5. Early Years Montessori

The main aim is to let him have social interaction in the mainstream as he is attending EIPIC in the afternoon. Would appreciate if mothers could give me your comments to the above or any other centres worth exploring that might suit my son. It would be another challenge to get them accept him during enrolment i believe but we will try nonetheless. Thank you for all comments and support.

Happy National Day:)

• STmummyS Offline
            STmummy

Dear Buds/ Cantbearit2,

I had read through from page 1 (skipped some pages in between) to the current page, and boy am I impressed with Montessori teaching methods now!

I have a 3.5 year old boy and 1 year old girl. My son is currently in full day CC located in pair ris (we stay in Punggol). I am a SAHM. We let our son go for full day cc mainly because I need to care for my baby (no help at all). But lately my son has been showing signs he is not interested to go school at all. One of the reasons was because of the nap time (the kids in CCC will nap from 1230 to 3), but my son only wakes up around 8+ to 9+ everyday, so he cannot nap during that timing, and he said his teachers will always 'scold' him asking him to sleep. I also find it waste of time for him to be there 'pretending to sleep', and the schedule for classes is early morning (which he will miss if i'm the one sending him to ccc, due to the travelling and getting everyone ready) and after their nap.

Now that my girl is bigger, we try to fetch DS home earlier, but that means he will not be able to attend some of the classes. Therefore, lately I had been thinking of changing school for my son (thinking of those go for 3-4 hour classes instead).

I am just staying 1 bus stop away from Shekinah Montessori at Punggol Plaza, and recently met a mummy whose son (5 yr old) had been with them since 3, gave me good feedback with them. Went to visit them (walk-in as I called them and left my number, but nobody return my call). But as I'm not familiar with Montessori teachings, am not sure if this is one of the 'good' ones? Any comments?

Cantbearit2 - you mentioned you are staying in NE area and had explored most of the centers here? Care to share which are the ones I can consider?

Buds - I had been reading on your posts and am so interested to learn more so that in turn I can teach my kids too. But it's so tiring and difficult when we need to care for them, do housework, cook. How did you manage with 4 kids??? :udawoman:

cantbearit2

Hi STmummy,

I did visit Shekinah too but ey fail to impress me lor..... e person in charge were not ard wen we went there. We called but we r not convinced. :roll: Tat being said, i could b too fussy. Hee.....

I dun tink i can speak for all cos everyone's definition of a gd presch is diff. I can only tell u wat i like/ dislike abt e sch. Actually I did not explore all cos I only look at sch which are convenient (bo bian, 🤷 i have to rely on my mum to fetch/send my DD2).

I din wan MMI (even though it's childcare which suits me best cos no helper) cos read so many negative comments :rant: fr lots of diff parenting forum. Fr high staff turnover rate to not so fantastic curriculum to boast abt (despite having e montessori name to eir sch). :slapshead:

e montessori playrm at Hougang central (IMO) is not so organised (in terms of eir daily operations, fr enrolment to kids' progress) & e directress had a v stress look on her face. :frustrated: e environment is oso not condusive & e kids dun seem independent.

As I have not explored other ctr, im not able to comment. My niece was in Character Montessori but has since withdrawn as my BIL complained she's not learning much at sch.

I tink a well organised sch plus a gd directress is a formidable combination but hard to find. Remember to visit e ctr & talk to e directress & person in charge, if possible. Aft a few ctr visit, u will form your own impression.

If u need more info abt CS montessori, i can share wif u cos my DD2 is still in tis sch. 😉 Gd luck!

BTW, Buds have lots of clear instruction on how to do reinforcement at hm. U may wish to search for her contribution either on Maths or Phonics thread. It's v easy to follow (some even come wif pics) & yur boy will have fun too. 😄

• STmummyS Offline
                STmummy

Thanks for your reply. Had replied your PM too.

Think Buds is too busy with her 4 kids. Still wondering how she manages. Really like to learn from you buds.

arielle08

Hi cantbear,

I would like to know more about cs montessori.
                  Is that a good school? How is the full day program fees like?
                  Thanks.

NoeNothinG

Anybody wan to join Montessori math workshop by Right to Learn?

If sign up together can get buddy price, let me know!

U can find details here:
                    https://www.facebook.com/events/138757596265195/

• STmummyS Offline
                      STmummy

My son is taking trial class and he told us one of the girls in his class changes her own diaper at a corner of the classroom. Is this the usual approach of montessori class? We find it amusing but yet I was abit surprise to hear that too. Can anyone enlighten me?

Cos we are still deciding if going for this.

cantbearit2

arielle08:
                        Hi cantbear,

I would like to know more about cs montessori.
                        Is that a good school? How is the full day program fees like?
                        Thanks.
                        Hi arielle08,

sori 4 e late reply. :oops: On hand IM having a major 'project' at hm 😉

Coming bk to CS, it really depends on wat u want. I find it a gd sch as i like e environment (new sch so premise is clean), e location (MRT at dr step so easily accessible), e admin (v well organised & thoughtful wif super clear communication), e weekly updates on my DD's progress (yes, ey do it weekly & v precise), e trs (v gd directress, even e chinese tr), e curriculum (montessori based). Honestly, i have no complaints.

Tat being said, it is a personal perception. It's better for u to make an apptm to visit e sch to find out more. Try to chk out other sch too as a comparison.

As 4 e fees, it is $2,400 per term.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 147 / 165