MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
Imami:
Wanted to say the same thing..
:goodpost: just one expression summarizes it all. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
:hi5: -
Imami:
Are there non taxpayers around us? :evil:
Like that Non tax payers how? :rotflmao: ok ok, joking. I understand what you mean.
Unless they grow own vege or rear poultry..... :evil: :evil:
But even then.. HDB, landed, water, electricity and such are all \"GST included\".. I guess..
There no escape.. :evil: -
True but the point is after rationalisation, one may realise that the priority system is ok after all.. The demand for certain schools may be artificially inflated if parents have not rationalised these factors.ksi:
There should be several other factors involved. \"Think child unique factors\" more important.
That, is individual's personal preferences. And you're free to give advise for individual parents how they could choose their school.
What we're discussing is a priority system, a national policy. Why one should have priority over the others based on principle of best interest for the community (direct or indirect). -
alng:
Those who made significant contributions on individual level could be singled out for priority.. I guess that's fair.
It is a fact that MOE put in the same resources in every primary schools. But some schools have more resources from their other stakeholders like alumni, clan, churches etc. These extra resources that some schools get made them able to do more and thus become more popular.
But blanket priority to the whole group including those w/o notable contributions isn't fair, I feel. -
But surely that is then going back to giving priority to those who can afford to give their time or money?
Those who made significant contributions on individual level could be singled out for priority.. I guess that's fair.alng:
It is a fact that MOE put in the same resources in every primary schools. But some schools have more resources from their other stakeholders like alumni, clan, churches etc. These extra resources that some schools get made them able to do more and thus become more popular.
But blanket priority to the whole group including those w/o notable contributions isn't fair, I feel.
With the Church schools it's not necessarily the case that they have more resources as their level of government funding is lower so a lot of the fund-raising just goes to fill that gap. -
gvyong:
Hi gvyong, I like reading what you wrote here.. very fair statement and certainly has it's merits.. and also offering interesting perspectives..
In the first place, the ACSes, MGSes, SCGSes, Maha Bodhis'es & NYPSes schools were set up to serve their respective communities and stakeholders, and never to serve the general public. But they were either asked or compelled to join the national system and began receiving Gov't aid at some point in time. So, should we fault the alumni of these schools if they want their children to continue the tradition? Barring the few 'freeloaders', most do so because:
1) They are Methodists, Anglicans, Presbytarians, Catholics or Buddhists
2) They are strong in Chinese language & traditions
So those of us who are not have no business to be asking for a place in their schools.
Thankfully I am not keen in asking for a place in these schools.. so.. I am not paiseh to say something here..
With respect to those part in blue.. my comments is as follows
Education starts from young..
Are we moving towards One People, One Nation, ONE Singapore..
or
Multi racist, Multi religious Singapore? Celebrate & Promote the Differences?
Sure, they may not contradict.. but what is the direction we want?
Anyway, personally I feel locate the brand schools to pulau ubin or offshore island the best.. no need to fight and worry about cannot get into nearby schools.. :evil: it's not gonna happen so just say say only.. -
Laura02:
Potential for corruption is a factor that cannot be under estimated..Has anyone thought to ask if these popular schools themselves would prefer to accept children from their alumni/ church / clan members?
Perhaps, MOE should allow schools full autonomy to decide who to accept and who to refuse. Afterall, its the school who will have the responsibility of educating the child for the next 6 - 12 years.
Absolute power corrupts absolutely..
Since the govt decided to convert these into public schools
The operations will have to be public and not \"privately controlled\".. -
We have always been and still are a multi-racial, multi-religion society. I think the government is promoting religious harmony and practising religious tolerance. Just as there are Madrasahs schools, there should be buddhist, catholic and other religious schools as well. Some parents may deem religious education as important as academic ones and we can't fault them on that.
Are we moving towards One People, One Nation, ONE Singapore..
or
Multi racist, Multi religious Singapore? Celebrate & Promote the Differences? -
nms1:
Well.. Since SG is based on principle of meritocracy.. those who can contribute more efforts deserves it then.. but mebbe take out the money part.. bcoz govt can fund it..
But surely that is then going back to giving priority to those who can afford to give their time or money?limlim:
Those who made significant contributions on individual level could be singled out for priority.. I guess that's fair.
But blanket priority to the whole group including those w/o notable contributions isn't fair, I feel.
With the Church schools it's not necessarily the case that they have more resources as their level of government funding is lower so a lot of the fund-raising just goes to fill that gap.
As for clan and church.. I guess there maybe some merits.. but maybe that is OT here..? Maybe we can focus on P2A here.. P2B could deserve a thread of their own for more in depth discussion
:rotflmao: I like your new avatar too. Should animate the one with a whistle and ask ChiefKiasu to appoint an arbitrator or referee with that avatar. Topic too hot liao, must have half-time with advertisements, cheerleading or other entertainment to dissipate the heat. :rahrah:
http://photos1.fotosearch.com/bthumb/CSP/CSP990/k10169050.jpg\">
Looks like time for some liang teh again....
http://www.myemoticons.com/images/super-smileys/jumbo/sports/sports-fan-1.gif\">
As an open forum, we encourage everyone to contribute whether there are similar or differing views so long as we do not get personal.
To all the active ksi on this thread :udawoman: :udaman:
Must summarise all the valid points argued by both sides and ask edgrace to bring it back to MOE for deliberation.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.