Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    2.0k Posts 561 Posters 1.5m Views 1 Watching
      i3mum

Hi hquek,

Thanks, I agree with you. I also tried to teach my daughter (going to K1 next year) at home, and I really dont know how to teach them in a fun way. Although she knows the words, but I can see that she tried to learn it bcos \"mummy says so\". I was hoping to find an enrichment centre which helps & I can do revision with her.

Which centre do you send your child?

Hi i3mum, I feel that the little time they devote to chinese in school is simply not enough; and compounded by that we speak mainly english to him, he becomes fairly resistant to chinese. where he is most happy to pick up english books, he doesn't do so for chinese (and we do have a lot of chinese books at home also.

I find that Chinese enrichment is a must in my case - in fact, DS1 goes for chinese and chinese S&D. After a year, he's able to speak it better (dun sound like angmoh) and he's able to recognise quite many words.

But if you can cultivate a chinese speaking/reading environment - like speaking to him in chinese, and doing daily reading, I think it'll be much better than sending him only for enrichment classes. Ultimately he spends more time at home than in class. 😎

hquek

hi i3mum,

Actually my kids attend the Chinese S&D at SHHK ACT (Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Arts & Cultural Troupe), and on top of that, the older one goes for 乐乐华语班. I like his teacher (she’s the one who writes materials for the classes) for the 2nd class and find her materials good - it’s a bit like berries concept (a bit of writing, reading, with little booklet each week). DS2 not attending this only cos of timing issue.

DS1 is also attending Yuquan ‘chinese idioms’ holiday class - 19 lessons at one go. Find it’s quite interesting, BUT they do NOT explain the meaning of the idioms in class (it’s available in the book they provide). They learn to read like 10-12 idioms each day, write out some words, do a bit of 造句 (actually copying from another page) and there’s a supplementary reader.

i3mum

Hi hquek,

Thanks for your information. I will find out more. There is Yuquan near my place, which I just realised. Not sure if it is good anot. Another option will be Berries, but Berries is too costly for my 3 kids to attend at 1 go. Hope more parents will give me more feedback.

hi i3mum,

Actually my kids attend the Chinese S&D at SHHK ACT (Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Arts & Cultural Troupe), and on top of that, the older one goes for 乐乐华语班. I like his teacher (she's the one who writes materials for the classes) for the 2nd class and find her materials good - it's a bit like berries concept (a bit of writing, reading, with little booklet each week). DS2 not attending this only cos of timing issue.

DS1 is also attending Yuquan 'chinese idioms' holiday class - 19 lessons at one go. Find it's quite interesting, BUT they do NOT explain the meaning of the idioms in class (it's available in the book they provide). They learn to read like 10-12 idioms each day, write out some words, do a bit of 造句 (actually copying from another page) and there's a supplementary reader.

hquek

hi i3mum,

I see they have a lot of outshoots. My kid is now with the one at Guillemard road. We both like his teacher, just not the location (stupid carpark got to exit within 5 min and the place got spa....in geylang district 😞 . Initially we were quite hesitant cos the lady was very pushy, but glad it turned out well.

Perhaps you can let lao da go, and then see it filter down. DS1 was in Berries when he was in N2, I am using those booklets to teach DS2. Must reuse mah...

i3mum

hi hquek,

The yuquan outlet is just opp my house, which i find the location is convenient. But not sure how the lessons turn out to be.. how long has your child attend at yuquan?

I wanted to sign my 3 kids together, but yuquan only has from K1 onwards. Went to their website, saw that they also give enrichment classes for Nanyang Primary school.. wonder how is it...

In fact my eldest gal was at Queenstown CC, with one of the SHHK teacher, Mdm Lim, do you know her? Her husband is also from SHHk too. Both of them came to teach at the CC on friday nights, but I stopped my gal recently. And the class is v.big, from N1- K2, a max of 22 students.

hi i3mum,

I see they have a lot of outshoots. My kid is now with the one at Guillemard road. We both like his teacher, just not the location (stupid carpark got to exit within 5 min and the place got spa....in geylang district 😞 . Initially we were quite hesitant cos the lady was very pushy, but glad it turned out well.

Perhaps you can let lao da go, and then see it filter down. DS1 was in Berries when he was in N2, I am using those booklets to teach DS2. Must reuse mah...

hquek

ha ha...I was a bit worried you may not know what is SHHK. 😄 Not sure who is Mdm Lim - this year, many of DS1's teachers have surname Wu. I was surprised actually to see that they have an actual school, but was very impressed with the school despite it's laopok facilities (think 1980's school) cos the local staff speak impeccable chinese and are all very warm and helpful.

Anyway, so far quite happy with what I see in yuquan, but I'll stick with SHHK for the usual classes cos I think it's cheaper and transport wise much easier for me. Although class size can be a bit big - the lele class I think has easily 16 kids (but there are 3 teachers inside).

Currently for holiday class, and I think yuquan Guillermard is new, there are only 4 kids in his class (previously only 2). Lessons are 2 hours each. My expectations not that high, as long as he can read the textbooks to me, I'm happy mummy. BTW, I'm also learning new chinese idioms....so many I never knew existed.

Go Yuquan and view their materials, timings, charges and even teachers. It's definitely a big plus if it's so near to your place - think of all the transport woes you are avoiding.

I heard good things about their zijing class (from ex-students) but then the lady at the school kept selling me this chinese idiom class - so decided to try out for the holidays.

i3mum

Hhaha, I know about SHHK, and asked my hubby to bring my gal for their \"Emperor new clothes\" performance this year in May. The teacher in the CC teaches well, but it's more of a Speech & Drama class.

Yup will go there for a look, hope it turns out well. 🙂

Thanks!

ha ha...I was a bit worried you may not know what is SHHK. 😄 Not sure who is Mdm Lim - this year, many of DS1's teachers have surname Wu. I was surprised actually to see that they have an actual school, but was very impressed with the school despite it's laopok facilities (think 1980's school) cos the local staff speak impeccable chinese and are all very warm and helpful.

Anyway, so far quite happy with what I see in yuquan, but I'll stick with SHHK for the usual classes cos I think it's cheaper and transport wise much easier for me. Although class size can be a bit big - the lele class I think has easily 16 kids (but there are 3 teachers inside).

Currently for holiday class, and I think yuquan Guillermard is new, there are only 4 kids in his class (previously only 2). Lessons are 2 hours each. My expectations not that high, as long as he can read the textbooks to me, I'm happy mummy. BTW, I'm also learning new chinese idioms....so many I never knew existed.

Go Yuquan and view their materials, timings, charges and even teachers. It's definitely a big plus if it's so near to your place - think of all the transport woes you are avoiding.

I heard good things about their zijing class (from ex-students) but then the lady at the school kept selling me this chinese idiom class - so decided to try out for the holidays.

titank

I enrolled P1 Chinese Enrichment only.The Chinese Indioms I guessed can be at a later stage where not in a hurry.

mummyloves:
                    titank:

Oh actually I can put both kid in Molin where save the time & logistics. The problem is that Molin told me max is 10 students (P1 Class) in the class, that is my area of concern. I guess small group like 5-6 should be a better figure & in terms of this Yuquan is better.

On the other hand, I choose N2 from Molin as in terms of N2 is the best value for $$ as compare with other chinese enrichment centres. Ha.ha must maximise use the investment.

In summary, I guess all chinese enrichment centre is more or less the same. At least have to try like 6 months or 1 year then can see the muscle grow up just like you work out in the gym.

Hope you would select a chinese enrichment centre soon!Good luck.

Thanks for sharing. We wanted to check out Molin but they are closed for holiday break. Guess we have to take a look b4 deciding Molin or Yuquan. Did your p1 kid enrol for Yuquan cheng yu class?

titank

hi i3mum,

Hi hquek,

At first I also thinking to enroll the Guillemard Road for my P1 but think the stupid car park is lousy.Grace period of 5 minutes is not sufficient to bring the children to the class unless the children are independent.

Yes have SPA & very near Red Light District Geylang! Wonder is it a poor planning to set up Yuquan in Guillemard Road. BTW, I had enrolled the class in Yuquan (Middle Road)

hquek

hi titank,

Absolutely agree. somemore classroom on 2nd floor. If you take the lift, it's absolutely mazey (and very scary if alone). there's a shortcut via the staircase (where the car grooming pp are), but have to climb up that flight of steps - something which my kid cannot do alone, and my parents can't (bad knees).

Think middle road not much better cos will kena erp - unless it's off erp hours. May not seem much, but if you add up over the whole course, the amount can get scary.

Paying too much for kids' classes, so have to scrimp on erp and parking charges. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 202

MilomarjiM
                        Milomarji
                        TanATanT
                        TanATan