Is GEP really necessary?
Dnls_mum:
I heard one of my ex classmate used to go to las Vegas during wkends to 'count cards' (like Rain man) when he was doing his degree in USA. Maybe they shd have this enrichment in gep too
Actually govt receive a lot of tax revenue from casino.
They don't spend money training the croupier. The casino themseleves spend money training their own staff.
So maybe need MORE casino so got more tax revenue for govt to train teachers!! :rotflmao:
Dnls_mum:
diminishing rate of return.
Of course got good teachers, just not enough good teachers, and not enough teachers in general to get to smaller class sizes. -
2ppaamm:
I am not sure if the poly has such courses, but i think the students who attend these courses prob don't want to be teachers anyway. If these courses are able to start the kids on to good jobs and support themselves and their families, who are we to say that the money is not well spent? It has benefitted these kids and their families.
Ah... croupier..., govt don't spend money training them (I am sure), what about those courses in poly and universities, that were set up years before after the casinos were set up, to prepare them for the industry? Those facilities are expensive to set up.
Don't play play, those who can count cards are geniuses, ok...
I heard one of my ex classmate used to go to las Vegas during wkends to 'count cards' (like Rain man) when he was doing his degree in USA. Maybe they shd have this enrichment in gep tooDnls_mum:
Actually govt receive a lot of tax revenue from casino.
They don't spend money training the croupier. The casino themseleves spend money training their own staff.
So maybe need MORE casino so got more tax revenue for govt to train teachers!! :rotflmao:
Dnls mum,
Your ptm reminds me of the recent one we had. Teacher told us generally ok n then she quoted some silly prank he did during one assembly. I almost burst out laughing...but held it in...still I think there was a smile on my face. I was like...er, we were playing such silly pranks up to JC...so what is new?!
She must have been thinking I :siao: -
Dnls_mum:
Have lah... just do a little search on the poly and you should find them. The government envisaged a need for this workforce once the casino open, so the schools had to provide. It is like the government plans what kind of work force is required going forward, and the schools are asked to make sure they train the right skills to fulfill this requirement. Singapore government is very systematic.
I am not sure if the poly has such courses, but i think the students who attend these courses prob don't want to be teachers anyway. If these courses are able to start the kids on to good jobs and support themselves and their families, who are we to say that the money is not well spent? It has benefitted these kids and their families.
Anyway, children at that age don't really know what they want, typically. So when they choose their courses, they also have to worry about their grades, and what is open to them with their grades. If there is this training, and they cannot get into anywhere else, they go for it lor...
And it is not that they are the ones or not. It is what is available for them to take in the institutions. If the intake (let's say teacher is more demanded than many courses) has a limit, those who want to be teachers go for lower and lower cut-off courses, until they reach the bottom lor... -
2ppaamm:
No matter how many teachers they increase also not enough since got so many foreigners coming to work here and bringing their family. These days, these foreigners are no longer only in senior position and can afford international school. These days, a lot are middle to lower income so need to tax our public schools! :sad:Dnls_mum:
diminishing rate of return.
Of course got good teachers, just not enough good teachers, and not enough teachers in general to get to smaller class sizes. -
2ppaamm:
Exactly! That's why shd be included as a gep curriculum.
Don't play play, those who can count cards are geniuses, ok...
2ppaamm:
No, I know it will be there. Just waiting to see if the worms have started eating it up to form holes. Sometimes, it is better to :peekaboo:[/quote]:rotflmao:
Did u come back to check if my leaf is still there?! :evil:Nebbermind:
[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]
Guess what? The feelings is mutual, but who cares! I don't need to please you, and you don't need to please me.
But you are right, I am annoying and I am annoyed with myself as well. I said I don't want to post but can't resist. :slapshead: When you are annoyed, do like I do. Don't read. And I seriously don't read past the first paragraph if I sense it is not what I want to read, just like you.
Form holes... :drool:
Still waiting.. :peekaboo: -
Dnls_mum:
No matter how many teachers they increase also not enough since got so many foreigners coming to work here and bringing their family. These days, these foreigners are no longer only in senior position and can afford international school. These days, a lot are middle to lower income so need to tax our public schools! :sad:[/quote]This is like a chicken and egg situation. Why take in so many foreigners when the infrastructure is not even enough for our own? FT worries me a lot, and I see it here. I am an FT here, we top the schools, we go into better courses in the uni, get better jobs, and the locals are jealous, we get the same advantages, we own their lands, we lead their people, we get the scholarships. One day, I shudder to think, Singaporeans in our own lands will be like this.2ppaamm:
[quote=\"Dnls_mum\"]diminishing rate of return.
Of course got good teachers, just not enough good teachers, and not enough teachers in general to get to smaller class sizes.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.