Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 440.5k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

Melodies:

6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

Estimated cost is $2.5K exuding music, dance, swimming, tennis, golf, taekwondo:yikes:

How in the world do kids fit all these in? :yikes: Still have cca n when competition dates draw near, have to go for extra training....

Don't sleep lor...

My daughter asked me just two days ago if I will scold someone who sleeps in class or pity her. I say I'd rather be kind. She told me that in her Singapore Sec school, those people in the top classes tended to fall asleep more than the rest. She said she pitied them, but the teachers would scream at them, \"You are from top class and you sleep!\" My daughter said that they had tuition all the time, and the better the class, the more tuition they had, and the more they slept! So pitiful...:(

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

Imami:

[quote=\"Melodies\"]6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

Estimated cost is $2.5K exuding music, dance, swimming, tennis, golf, taekwondo:yikes:

How in the world do kids fit all these in? :yikes: Still have cca n when competition dates draw near, have to go for extra training....

Maybe that's why got some kid ran away lor....[/quote]As in like really run away from home or run away from the country.

ruohoo97

2ppaamm:

As for the child prodigy, I truly feel for him and can feel for the parents as well. Like you, they never conformed to what they thought they couldn't have and because they can, they made the decision to go with their parental instinct (gut feel) thru all the research they've done and thru the highs and lows to get to the alternative path... and where he can feel accepted just simply being who he is and being able to pursue greater heights. Singapore has lost many of the truly gifted having made these kids go one big merry go round. I don't need to have gifted children to empathize with their journeys of parenthood, because simply... I'm a parent myself.

In actual fact, everyone of us will help our children pursue the best they can be no matter how or which route is taken to get there. Whether or not GEP was necessary in the first place, this route is already in place. Children who qualify and can maximize their potentials with this programme, great for them and for the rest of them/us... it doesn't mean life stops there. We just work at our mainstream pace and perhaps work a little harder... :grphug:

Yep, all of us will fight for our children. I am reminded of something my PreU2 teacher wrote in my testimonial, that whenever I see something not right, you can trust that I will stand up for it. And I have been doing this for decades... and today, a post reminded me that people might be happy struggling themselves and then be successful. While I thought they are disadvantaged, they might not. And how true! It is only when we go through hard times that we become stronger. I should not assume some people want help. So let the lower % struggle and when they become stronger, they overtake the white horses. I remember this always happens, and that thought made me happy.
          My daughter's favourite music these days:
          [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn676-fLq7I][/youtube]

Hi Five, so is my DD's. :rahrah: But she is only 12, so I was a bit ( :nunchuk: ) to the music she likes. šŸ†’

ruohoo97

2ppaamm:
            Melodies, hehehe... don't worry about tuition lah, when I come back one day, I will set up a centre, and you can register. I will guarantee applicants will enter the university of their choices by 16, and no tuition required, just 4 hours of study a day, and must take part in CCA with age peers. My track record? 80% and will reach 100% soon - better than GEP by far. hahahah!!!

But only open to non-GEPpers. Since GEPpers already have the MOE looking after them. Need PSLE score of 240 to apply if age to university is <16, for those <240, can only guarantee to university at 18 or 19. For those who score less than 200 at PSLE, I will help to put into training institutes after equivalent of 'A' levels. Tuition fee: just material costs.

And, I am 100% confident of the results.

Maybe action speaks louder than words. šŸ™‚

If want to be kiasu, kiasi and kiabo, be really kiasu, kiasi, kiabo. Don't stop half way. Achieve beyond your dreams! And you can! The system cannot stop you, and there is help available. MOE is not the only system in the world. Don't let that stop you. šŸ™‚
            Put me on waiting list! Okay?

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

Melodies:

6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

I also wonder how to have 6 tuition classes?

My secondary school level kids can only manage 1 tuition each. Maybe need more, but no time. My JC one fits in 2 tuition classes, but then only 2+more months to the end of her so-called formal schooling life. After this, wherever she goes, no need wear school uniform already.

Dnls_mum

I also wonder how to have 6 tuition classes?

My secondary school level kids can only manage 1 tuition each. Maybe need more, but no time. My JC one fits in 2 tuition classes, but then only 2+more months to the end of her so-called formal schooling life. After this, wherever she goes, no need wear school uniform already.

Same here. My sons have so much activivties, CCA, project, etc. I wonder how these people have so much time. Amazing! šŸ™‚

Dnls_mum

Sun_2010:
                  Dnls_mum:

My kid does not attend GEP preparatory class. We did not help him prepare for DSA. He just go to GEP selection test, and take the DSA selection test and interview without any preparation assistance from us. My point is, if a person is truly good, you do not need to attend extra lessons to get into GEP. I know for NJC admittance via DSA is not based on performance in the test alone. There is a day camp where they observe the behaviors of the kids in group activities and then in the interview ask them why the do certain things. The school was looking for students with certain quality. But I don't know what specifically. 🤷

My son got into NJC via DSA, another one got into SJI via affiliated pri school. Both have people in the secondary school who got in there with better PSLE results then them, but they are doing better then some of these students now. My son in SJI hold leadership position in his core CCA, is a peer support leader and has been asked to take up leadership in his second CCA but declined as we agreed he has too much on his plate. A true leader is not trained from extra lessons or by rich parents. Such leadership positions is free for all and cannot be bought. Ie someone from a poor family can get it too.

Anyone who has done well in PSLE is not deprived of a place in a good secondary school. Why is someone from a poor family deprived of a place in a top secondary school? It cannot happen base on how the S1 posting exercise is done. Those with academically better results get placed first.

It is more like someone from a poor family not being able to do well because of issues at home. Then this person cannot go to a good secondary school. This has nothing to do with our education system, but rather our social issues. What do we have in place to help these children?

Having said all these, I agree that there is a social mobility issue and it is not equal opportunity for all like what some claim. But I do not agree that GEP or DSA affects social mobility. We have a bigger social problem then that, and education is but one of many aspects. In fact GEP ensures that a truly gifted child, irrespective of background and financial ability will be provided with a GEP education and perhaps break out of the poverty vicious cycle.

This thread is about whether GEP is necessary. My point is that social mobility has nothing to do with whether there is GEP or not.

Dnls_mom, nice points. :goodpost:
                  your kids are a examples of the current system which works. Your child is in the Gep with no preparation for it. But I assume you are rich enough to afford enrichments if there were a dire necessity, And both you and your DH are very well educated . But an assumption that your child got in mainly bcos of that is preposterous, isn't it ?

That is what I am saying, the system is not a total failure that it is being made out to be. It is not the best , has its flaws , improvements need to be made but the need and benefits are there.

Don't diss the system and ask for it to be uprooted just because it does not deliver a 100%

:thankyou: šŸ˜„

ruohoo97

Melodies:

goodness. how does the poor child live?

Melodies

:udawoman: please come back soon...... my dd is currently in P3 same age your youngest one ...any tips for her now?...so that she can make it to University by 16 :please:

2ppaamm:
                      Melodies, hehehe... don't worry about tuition lah, when I come back one day, I will set up a centre, and you can register. I will guarantee applicants will enter the university of their choices by 16, and no tuition required, just 4 hours of study a day, and must take part in CCA with age peers. My track record? 80% and will reach 100% soon - better than GEP by far. hahahah!!!

But only open to non-GEPpers. Since GEPpers already have the MOE looking after them. Need PSLE score of 240 to apply if age to university is <16, for those <240, can only guarantee to university at 18 or 19. For those who score less than 200 at PSLE, I will help to put into training institutes after equivalent of 'A' levels. Tuition fee: just material costs.

And, I am 100% confident of the results.

Maybe action speaks louder than words. šŸ™‚

If want to be kiasu, kiasi and kiabo, be really kiasu, kiasi, kiabo. Don't stop half way. Achieve beyond your dreams! And you can! The system cannot stop you, and there is help available. MOE is not the only system in the world. Don't let that stop you. šŸ™‚

simple2005

ruohoo97:
                        Melodies:

goodness. how does the poor child live?

šŸ˜“ Frankly, I've never even heard of something to that extent... :siao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 133 / 154