Is GEP really necessary?
computer addict.... :hugs:
Melodies:
3Boys, I agree with you. We have an issue of social mobility. This is a social problem. Not a GEP or No GEP issue. Not an education system issue.[/quote][/quote]Melodies,I beg to differ! Education system does play some parts in causing an issue in the social mobility.
At least, we all agreed that there is an issue of social mobility.
Under current policies in our education system, firstly, those pupils who have rich parents will have all the resources to enrich themselves for DSA (in whatever domains, GEP, good PSLE results) and hence can get into good secondary and then universities and so on...
Secondly, though poor bright pupils (remembered that they have no tuition with useless textbook, hopefully they got some good teachers along the way) who have reasonably good PSLE results, they are deprived for an opportunity to get into TOP/good sec schools as compared to some who have poorer results but still got into the top schools through DSA.
The current policies in our education system do give UNFAIR advantages and associate to these RICH pupils or pupils who have educated parents or come from the RICH heritage. The poor pupils face too much hurdles in order to rise up the society ladder.....
Though I stated the fact, but :siam: for
Dnls_mum:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
I did not say we were the best, but neither do I believe our teaching system is in dire need of overhaul. If there is an issue with fairness in our society (and I will grant you that there is), then it needs to be dealt with at the societal level and school is but one small part of that.
I have said before, there is not point giving and iPad to a child who goes home to a family with absentee fathers, or a child who needs to work at the family hawker stall.
I agree on the top part you've said. No need to :siam: .
Computer Addict:
I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.
Wow, you sleep even less than me? How you survive? I hope this won't shorten your life span..... Ok, touch wood. :? -
:yikes: I think I better get tips from Pam for an alternative path.Lynn2010:
To add on the list, homework, CIP, school events. Dont even have enough sleep. Poor kids.... Do you remember the UOB Young artist winner? His painting shows a stressful student?[/quote]
In sec school, CCA can be 2x - 3x per week. Usually CCA starts at 3.30pm and ends at 6.30pm. On somedays, it can be 6-8pm. When it's near competition times, Saturdays included!phankao:
[quote=\"Melodies\"]O, paiseh! I don't have sec school going teenager, so don't know it is a full time program for sec school. During my time, it was half day in sec school, so I assumed the same.. I's referring to primary kids le..I'm sorry for not making this clear in my previous note. :imsorry:
And we haven't included the numerous (ridiculous and often useless) - projects they have to meet up for after school and on weekends. -
Mychildren:
Choy ahh choy! I survive on only 3 to 4 hours each day leh.Computer Addict:
I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.
Wow, you sleep even less than me? How you survive? I hope this won't shorten your life span..... Ok, touch wood. :? -
Computer Addict:
I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep everyday. And it isn't even exam period now. I return home from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.
how much time do you spend on travelling to school every day?
5.5 hours of sleep is very little.....it will be bad for your health. anyway to get more rest?
I definitely dun wish to see my children leading such lifestyle :sad:
You are still growing, do take more care of yourself. -
Computer Addict:
I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep everyday. And it isn't even exam period now. I return home from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.
Wow! My 2 boys still get 8hours sleep, even the IP one. They even have 2 CCA! They must be damn idle!
Why your school end so late? -
Watching \"the Lady\" (DVD) on Aung San Suu Kyi acted by Michelle Yeoh just now with family. Good show, encourage you all to c. The politics & military in Burma & the Burmese people too. You know what's the country like, the riots, the sacrifice for her own country, oh, I cannot describe all in short sentences, c for yourself. Highly recommended.
Tears fell from my eyes. My sons asked me why like this, why like that, is it a true story & those acted are they real person etc etc.....
If not real, why there's blood.....:roll: -
Care to share how many hours of your sleeping time during exams?
Computer Addict:
Choy ahh choy! I survive on only 3 to 4 hours each day leh.[/quote]Ai, how you do that, amazing, any secret recipe or secret essence to share???Mychildren:
[quote=\"Computer Addict\"]I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.
Wow, you sleep even less than me? How you survive? I hope this won't shorten your life span..... Ok, touch wood. :?
Don't mind, PM me if its something that u can't say out loud, OK? :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.