Is GEP really necessary?
Ummm… did your 2 sons go to the same school? One GEP class, the other, not?
Also, I do know of parents whose kids are well taught though NOT in GEP. What I wrote has nothing to do with pace of the child. My child can cope with more. But he was taught ONLY from textbooks. It has nothing to do with laziness either because mine worked very hard on very easy stuff only to be tested hard on stuff he never saw in class.
And so yes… I saw the need to bridge the gap. He did badly not because he was dumb nor lazy. He just did not have access to the material. On his own, and in one week, he was able to get through a textbook (used in some schools for HAT) normally taught through one year.
Moving at his own pace, and at home, he was able to move faster than the HAT in school. -
Dnls_mum:
Agree! But your son got affiliation leh... no need to be kiasu lah...
It is kiasu parents who insist their children must be top that is making if stressful for their own kids and others. Why must parents insist their kids to be top? I was never top in school,quite the opposite, but I am sure more successful in my career and making more money then many of my top classmates. :imcool: It does not mean that children who move at their own pace will suffer. My non GEp, no HA son is holding leadership position in school that even top students don't get, maybe becos top students have too many KS parents and studying extra so no time :rotflmao: My non GEP non HA son represented the school in UK this June for an international computer competition. But he did not win lah :rotflmao: . But truly, don't need to be GEP or HA or KS parents to have opportunities lor.
I say this not out of envy har... I say this because my sons also got affiliation, but daughters don't have, so I know how it is like.
I'm like you lor... sama sama, got kids on both ends. So for kids without affiliation and no GEP, what options do they have? Don't need to go to top school, I agree! But would you want your kid to end up mixing with the wrong peers? For some, getting 200 is already a challenge, and doing 19x and getting into the express is a celebration. For them, doing their best is simply not enough... just when they managed to catch up, others have done better, so their engines keep going...chasing and chasing after that curve in order not to be on the left of that bell... never ending and never quite catch up... sad to see... -
Chenon,Chamonix... I agreed with the statement I quoted from you. The rest is my thoughts. My son too thinks learning in school is effortful and learning at home is more effective, efficient and he has time to play.
Where am I getting you involved in what?
If you really don't think you and I should agree on the point I agreed with you on (or if you dislike that I quote you), I can delete my agreement and your quote and keep the rest. I am quite capable of arguing my thoughts without involving others.
Phew, if that's the point, Hi-5!
Actually, I too agree with you on having smaller classes and easier access to better materials and resources. In fact, most of us here do, I believe.
2ppaamm:
Depends lah... hahaha, I was a banker for 20 years too! I guess I am evil too! :rotflmao:
Refer to Option (2), go do a professional course and finish at 21 with an MBA (or other professional degree)
But to each his own, there is absolutely nothing wrong with a normal path, and no, this is not a homeschooled option only. Kids go to school and there's such a thing called dual enrollment, where kids go to school the same hours as their age peers all through high school. 
Many roads to Rome, none the best.
The system we are in allows this, where students are pulled out for acceleration in specific subjects or all subjects.
Hmmm, I have never think much of postgrad degree holders, eg MBA, especially those who go post grad immediately after first degree. No big deal and they are not better then those with first degrees. Conversely, too yah yah and think they are better. Maybe I suay and only kana lousy ones :?
But true lah, if graduate early can save a lot of money! :rotflmao:
The I can use the money to travel more :please: -
Dnls_mum:
Agree on those yah-yah ones. But hor, a lot of fresh grads are yah-yah also mah, no need to be post-grad. At least post-grad got extra degree to yah-yah about. :rotflmao:2ppaamm:
Depends lah... hahaha, I was a banker for 20 years too! I guess I am evil too! :rotflmao:
Refer to Option (2), go do a professional course and finish at 21 with an MBA (or other professional degree)
But to each his own, there is absolutely nothing wrong with a normal path, and no, this is not a homeschooled option only. Kids go to school and there's such a thing called dual enrollment, where kids go to school the same hours as their age peers all through high school. 
Many roads to Rome, none the best.
The system we are in allows this, where students are pulled out for acceleration in specific subjects or all subjects.
Hmmm, I have never think much of postgrad degree holders, eg MBA, especially those who go post grad immediately after first degree. No big deal and they are not better then those with first degrees. Conversely, too yah yah and think they are better. Maybe I suay and only kana lousy ones :?
But true lah, if graduate early can save a lot of money! :rotflmao:
The I can use the money to travel more :please:
Of course good to have extra money lah... but you forgot one more... can have grandchildren earlier also leh...
Both sons started in same school but one change school becos of GEP in P4.Ummm... did your 2 sons go to the same school? One GEP class, the other, not?
Also, I do know of parents whose kids are well taught though NOT in GEP. What I wrote has nothing to do with pace of the child. My child can cope with more. But he was taught ONLY from textbooks. It has nothing to do with laziness either because mine worked very hard on very easy stuff only to be tested hard on stuff he never saw in class.
And so yes... I saw the need to bridge the gap. He did badly not because he was dumb nor lazy. He just did not have access to the material. On his own, and in one week, he was able to get through a textbook (used in some schools for HAT) normally taught through one year.
Moving at his own pace, and at home, he was able to move faster than the HAT in school.
Dunno both well taught or not. I always just let teachers do their stuff. Boys both only got Chinese tuition in pri school. They dunno anything then come ask us lor. Maybe I just ignorant! Haha! Maybe if I send them to prep class and get extra material then both also can GEP :?
Nevermind, still got another daughter going P1 next year. Haha....maybe now pay more attention. :). But if I teach them myself, I scared I'll strangle them
May I just check with you who will you hire and who has a higher potential between these two applicants below?:
Candidate 1 - an application with a PHD in BA/finance/Economics from Harvard at 23 year-old
Candidate 2 - an application with a Bachelor in BA/finance/Economics from NUS at 23 YO
At least I know candidate 1will definitely stand out between these two and will have VERY high potential in his career development in my industries!Dnls_mum:
I suppose as a banker, I am looking at the business world, my world. And it does seem to me that those under such accelerated path may not suitable in the business world. Their career path seems more geared towards academic and research. So I suppose this is not for everyone. I know for sure I have never wanted to be an academic or researcher myself. Somehow I have never dreamed of or encouraged my children to be academics or researchers too :? Maybe because i am an evil banker :rotflmao:
I presume such accelerated path normally takes a home schooling path and is specifically targeted at moving faster along the academic path without need of being held back by classmates and school curriculum. I just cannot imagine eg a practicing lawyer, banker succeeding under this path as life experiences, stress etc needs to be part their education as these will have a bearing in determining how successful they will be in their chosen career. A formal school environment is necessary for some jobs. .
So the question parents should ask themselves is do they want to decide for their child at their young age, the career path that is open to them, or do they want to let their children discover what is available in this world and let them choose themselves what they want to do. -
comfy:
I have a questoin : Is Gep still necessary if most of the geppers are PR?
My thinking is towards identifying and giving an enriched program to the gifted and HA are necessarily, but should not be restricted to one group identified at P3, and should be continually revisited. They should also be expected to perform academically well (they are chosen for academic reasons), and all should have a chance at enrichment program as and when they are ready. There should not be a differentiated group (like a class of GEPpers), but groups of students pulled out from a standard class of bigger variance in abilities (notice I didn't say mixed), and pulled out for their areas of interest and strengths. That does not mean a child can only be pulled out for only one subject. Everyone should master the base curriculum first and then be enriched. Hence, nobody should be given extra benefit at PSLE, or DSA.
Given that, my stand is the same whether or not PRs are involved. For me, these are different policies. One involves migration, another involves education. If the imigration department decides that a family/person deserves a PR, the duty of the education department is to ensure this family/person receives an equal opportunity in education. -
Dnls_mum:
I dun need him to be top. He got there after I gave him stuff to read and learn from... I left DD quite alone too. No tuition except for 6 months in J2. BUT I dun want him to think he is dumb when he is not. I don't want him to underperform just because he is taught from textbooks only. I didn't think GEP important enough to even bring my son back to take the test... let alone send him for prep.
Both sons started in same school but one change school becos of GEP in P4.
Dunno both well taught or not. I always just let teachers do their stuff. Boys both only got Chinese tuition in pri school. They dunno anything then come ask us lor. Maybe I just ignorant! Haha! Maybe if I send them to prep class and get extra material then both also can GEP :?
Nevermind, still got another daughter going P1 next year. Haha....maybe now pay more attention. :). But if I teach them myself, I scared I'll strangle them
BUT, why should I allow bad teaching to shortchange my child in mainstream? -
Melodies:
I think, only if both perform equally well at the interview, and both are fresh grad, then yes, the Candidate 1 is excellent Therefore, I do believe social awareness and EQ is very important when we want to accelerate a child.May I just check with you who will you hire and who has a higher potential between these two applicants below?:
Candidate 1 - an application with a PHD in BA/finance/Economics from Harvard at 23 year-old
Candidate 2 - an application with a Bachelor in BA/finance/Economics from NUS at 23 YO
At least I know candidate 1will definitely stand out between these two and will have VERY high potential in his career development in my industries!
Also, one can also beef up his resume through activities like taking part in entrepreneurship, competitions, sports, etc. If we assume all these are the same, then Candidate 1 is better. But Candidate 2 will also land a good job as long as she/he works on other areas, and perform well, or better still, come highly recommended by who and who... :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.