PSLE 2009 RESULTS!!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    1.3k Posts 223 Posters 667.3k Views 1 Watching
      mathsparks

If I charge every forummer for using the phrase \"guinea pigs\", I'll be laughing all the way to the kiasu bank. :lol: :lol:

mis

mis:
        Hi my son scored 241 any suggestion which 6schools should i opt for.

Got a couple of school that i am looking at
        Since we staying in the east was thinking of
        1.Temasek sec, cop 232-254
        2.Victoria sec, cop 246-270
        3.Tanjong katong sec, cop 236-260
        4.Dunman sec, cop 234-261
        5.Ngee Ann, cop 233-259
        6.Pasir Ris Crest, cop 222-246

Son really wants me to also put in victoria but hes short of 5 points to even try for it ..shd i?
        does this look okay
        soo stress to think of it
        thanks in advance
        😒 :stupid: :?: πŸ™ :?

mathsparks

tutormum:

Don't be too sure about this. I heard that there is a well known 'lovers' bridge' near Nayang Girls and another school which students from these 2 schools meet. 😐
          St Pats n CHIJ Katong also got famous \"lovers' bridge\" πŸ˜‰
          Any other schools with such bridges?

• G Offline
            gsksp

mrswongtuition:
            gsksp:

Hi All

I need advice from u all.... My DD scored 185 and we staying at North East and she prefer a girl sec school. Which school should I choose?

Thanks!

I'm not too sure of the COP of PLMGSS, but you can check in the booklet?

There is none posted for last year at PLMGSS...

peakpeak

mathsparks:
              ngbrdad:

What about the students who go to NUS High and the new science and technology high school ?

They are more or less guinea pigs too right ?
              These schools don't offer A levels or IB but their own exam right ?

You're right, they're guinea pigs too! But the BIG difference is that they dont take A levels (NUSH) and hence, can't be compared with the masses who take the A levels. If comparison can't be made, it's anyone's guess how selection for limited U places are done. However, seeing how NUSH is \"affiliated\" to NUS, I somehow get a feeling that those kids would get priority. :?

The 1st batch last year of 88 students all 100% make it to University, with many getting multiple offers from Top overseas Uni like MIT, Cambridge, Harvard, etc... see their website for more details.

Think they are all groom to be Uni graduate...

nothing2do

hi all,

Tml is the date line already. But hor me still thinking. 😒

atutor2001

Deleted by writer. Sorry, double posting.

atutor2001

atutor2001:
                    parentof3:

[quote=\"atutor2001\"]During my kids' time the system is like that :

Top 290 get to choose first (definitely get her 1st choice)
                    2nd 287 turn to choose (if her 1st choice school has only 1 place and is already taken by the 290, then he/she gets her 2nd choice)
                    3rd 287 turn to choose (there are decimal places behind 287 that we don't get to see) - (if her 1st choice is not the same as that of the front 2 kids, then he/she gets her first choice)

So actually for those with high score, but miss the COP of TOP favourite schools, there is no harm putting them as first choice and their more realistic option as 2nd choice but I would say no point, sure cannot get one. (Unless the top 600 students somehow decide against RI & RGS)

The system is fair because the queue in awarding the choice is based on the aggregate.

However, for those in the \"mid-range aggregates\" where there are many with same score, don't play play. Your choice will decide who get the school.

E.g Ah Beng and Ah Seng both got exactly 230 and wish to go to Sure Good Sec (SSS). Ah Beng put RI as first choice (for fun) and SSS as 2nd Choice while Ah Seng put SSS as 1st choice. When it reaches their turn, there is only 1 place left in SSS. That place will go to Ah Seng because he put it as first choice.

I think it's not like that. If ah beng is 230.11111 and ah seng is 230.2333, ah seng will get to choose first. Nobody will have the exact score ie 230.000. So ah seng 1st choice SSS if COP is 230, ah seng will be given SSS. When ah beng turn, he'll get 3rd choice since ah seng got the last seat for SSS.

Some mathematical questions to consider :

Question 1 (True or False)
                    The T-score is computed by computer, which can generate to many decimal places. As a result, it is impossible for 2 students to have exactly the same T-score.

Answer : FALSE

Question 2 (True or False)
                    Even if the answer for question 1 is \"False\", the chance of it happening is very very slim because the number of decimal places used for the comparison is so large.

Answer : FALSE

Question 3
                    Support your answers to Q1 & Q2 with mathematical concepts or theories.

Answer to support Q1:
                    a. The calculation of the T-score is dependent on the \"national average (NA)\", \"standard deviation (SD) and the student's actual score.
                    b. The NA and SD are \"Constant\" (fixed number) derived from overall results and will not change.
                    c. Therefore, a student's T-score depends only on his \"actual score\" for each subject
                    d. Two students with exactly the same \"actual score\" for all 4 subjects will have exactly the same T-score, regardless of the number of decimal places generated. For example, if both student A & B get 70 for math, 65 for science, 80 for English and 76 for Chinese, their T-score will be exactly the same.

Answer to support Q2:
                    a. There are over 48,000 students taking the PSLE
                    b. The \"degree of accuracy\" of the marking scheme for the papers is 0.5 marks. That is, the \"finest\" incremental change in mark is 0.5 (1/2 mark)
                    c. The intelligence of the huge group of mid-range students are quite similar.
                    d. With such a huge population size of over 48,000, it is quite probable for more than 2 students to get exactly the same combination of marks for the 4 subjects and their T-score will be the same.

Question 4
                    All Answers from helplines are true.

Answer 4:
                    \"Cannot Tell\" Depends on your luck on who receives your call.[/quote]

VitoRelax

atutor2001:

d. Two students with exactly the same \"actual score\" for all 4 subjects will have exactly the same T-score, regardless of the number of decimal places generated. For example, if both student A & B get 70 for math, 65 for science, 80 for English and 76 for Chinese, their T-score will be exactly the same.
                      While that is true but having 2 students with the exact raw score for all the 4 subjects are also quite remote though not impossible.

Question is, if that happens how does the software program work ?

atutor2001

While that is true but having 2 students with the exact raw score for all the 4 subjects are also quite remote though not impossible.

Question is, if that happens how does the software program work ?
                        Sorry have to disagree with you that having 2 persons with the same raw score is quite remote.

Many moons back, when computer first came out, I volunteered to help my friend (a teacher then) to key in her class results using Lotus 123 (maybe most have not heard of it), a spreadsheet.

When I sorted the results, I found 2 students with exactly the same marks and I thought it was my mistake. After checking, it was correct. It can happen in a class of 40 because of the \"marking scheme\" - marks are awarded in \"blocks of 0.5\".

Based on the briefing (many moons ago) given by my kids' Pr school principal, (a very nice lady) the programme will prioritise by choice. I remembered clearly she keep emphasizing to us to put the school \"we want and we can get\" at least as the 2nd choice and not tikang tikang alway the first 2 choices.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 108 / 132