PM Asks "What kind of people do we want to be?"
mamago:
I am surrounded by PRs at my workplace, holding positions from junior to senior. Many owned resale HDB flats which they rented out while staying in private estate or even in JB. A few left Singapore to work back home but continue to rent out their HDB flat. A pregnant colleague who is a Singapore PR also went back to her own country to deliver her baby instead of delivering here. That speaks a lot about their commitment towards SG.Fairy:
[quote=\"Dora1\"]
I think there were some reports in the papers. Actually, my personal experience were with the PRs and not the S or EP holders. Personally I find that the S and EP holders actually do respect SCs in general. It was the PRs that have that sense of entitlement, and they think that nothing can be done to them. And I actually have no issue with the gov giving S or WP to positions where SCs don't want to do.... When they announced that they are reducing the WP and S Pass quotas, I personally felt they were barking up the wrong tree.... :scratchhead: Maybe the SMEs can reflect this to the gov?
Singapore PR Re-entry Permit is not infinite, it can be renewed with condition every 5year, in some cases, yearly.[/quote]yes, as much as uninformed SC would like to imagine that PR is permanent, SG gov't also very tricky - no permanent PR one, renewable every 5 years subject to conditions.
long before the recent unhappiness over PRs, I also have staff whose PRs were not renewed for various reasons - even when they are HQ staff in S'pore -
If pr is renewal every 5 yrs, why in the world are they allow to buy hdb? :?
they need a place to stay ? -
mamago:
they need a place to stay ?
so that they can blend in, bring up PR children, their boys are to serve in NS like SC, enlist at 16. PR minor can turn down, but the whole family have to uproot and go back to where they came from.
and, never again enter Spore, even as tourist. -
http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=152&secid=150
PR electronic re-entry permit can be applied online.
or make a physical trip to ICA at Kallang. -
mamago:
mamago:
[quote=\"LOLMum\"]If pr is renewal every 5 yrs, why in the world are they allow to buy hdb? :?
they need a place to stay ?
so that they can blend in, bring up PR children, their boys are to serve in NS like SC, enlist at 16. PR minor can turn down, but the whole family have to uproot and go back to where they came from.
and, never again enter Spore, even as tourist.[/quote]
The PRs' children having to do ns is a pretty recent one...but have the PRs been allowed to buy hdb for a long time? -
many of the ex-PRs have since became SC after serving their NS and reservist, and their boys are about the age of being enlisted.
the re-entry permit validity have been revised from 10 years to 5 years/2 years/1 year (2 year/1year REP validity is not listed on the website, they will call the applicant for interview.) -
http://www.divaasia.com/article/18123
[quote]Why people are not having babies
They have been married for three years but have no plans to have children yet.
Financial planners Amanda Bandar-Tay and Bandar Tjetty, both 28, together earn $15,000 a month, but even so, they feel that they are not financially ready to have children....
The couple say they're aware of the risks of having children at a later age but say there's always in-vitro fertilisation...[/quote]\"Si Ginnas\"...
$15K/mth still money not enough to have kids?
Study too much until :siao: Liao...
Somebody never tell them IVF is not \"Bao Tio\" one...
Confidence for our Future...
:faint: -
keroppi:
My regular plumber/aircon man, car mechanic and piano tuner guy charge relatively high fees for their labor. And it's so hard to book them. I don't believe their pay are indecent (alamak, not sure why maple leaf comes to mind when I use this word :faint: ). I think the problem lies in the society/parents perceiving these jobs as less glamorous compared to desk-bound ones with air cond offices. Ironically, these are jobs that can withstand economic ups & downs.
:rotflmao: I know who! -
Not recent. At least more than 30 years ago. Being allowed to buy HDB but resale only - is later than the NS thing.
The PRs' children having to do ns is a pretty recent one...but have the PRs been allowed to buy hdb for a long time?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.