PM Asks "What kind of people do we want to be?"
pirate:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: isn't it the same whiners who complain on cost and also complain on immigration ? I guess the strawberry generation would rather not work than to work in those blue collar jobs. Just had lunch with the CFO of a Swiss company and the laments are people - white collar office workers - would rather not work than to do monthly over time due to financial closing ..... and do we expect them to pick up the tools and work under than sun even for much higher pay ? let's not kid ourselves, there are jobs that local will never ever want to do .....verykiasu2010:
People already cow father cow mother when transport fare is raised by $0.10 and you expect people to accept $10 chicken rice at hawker centre ?
Let them cry father cry mother or learn to make their own kopi. Businesses will adapt so long as their competitors are not allowed to cheat.
There is no economic reason for blue collar workers to have to subsidize white collar workers. No reason why the poorest amongst us should subsidize the middle class just so the latter can have their cheap kopi-O and chicken rice. Why should anyone want to work as construction workers, grass cutters, rubbish truck attendants, bus drivers, truck drivers for construction sites, MRT tunnel excavators, electricians, aircon fitters, brick layers, tilers, restaurent waiters/waitresses, cleaners at hawkers centres, food courts, cooks, etc when those jobs involve subsidizing somebody else to sit in an aircon office? Who wants to be paid half of what their work is worth just so somebody else can have cheap kopi?
What kind of people do I want to be? I want Singaporeans to be a people that does not expect people who do hard, honest work that nobody else wants to do, to also have to subsidize people in cushy aircon offices. That's what I want. Until we do that, we will NEVER be a resilient people.
Think of it as... part of total defence. Can't have an army full of pen pushers.
hmmm, better start brainwashing the kids in kindy and pri school that such blue collar jobs are glorious positions to hold ......... and better still, brainwash them to despise white collar jobs....oh no I am now bordering on cultural revolution .... :rotflmao: -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: isn't it the same whiners who complain on cost and also complain on immigration ? I guess the strawberry generation would rather not work than to work in those blue collar jobs.
You say one hor, not me.
Here's my strawberry
To paraphrase grandpa's generation:
Even if money drops from the sky, you still have to be faster than the guy next to you. -
pirate:
and none is faster than a pirate ! :evil: :rotflmao:verykiasu2010:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: isn't it the same whiners who complain on cost and also complain on immigration ? I guess the strawberry generation would rather not work than to work in those blue collar jobs.
You say one hor, not me.
Here's my strawberry
To paraphrase grandpa's generation:
Even if money drops from the sky, you still have to be faster than the guy next to you. -
pirate:
Small business fold up, the bosses and the workers join other bigger companies. More and more bigger companies dominate the economies, one by one, and in the end, it is the consumers who suffer. Everyone suffers. The winners are still the rich. We, the new age slaves.
Let them cry father cry mother or learn to make their own kopi. Businesses will adapt so long as their competitors are not allowed to cheat.pirate:
:? So are you saying that you want to do the hard work, the honest work that nobody else wants to do?
What kind of people do I want to be? I want Singaporeans to be a people that does not expect people who do hard, honest work that nobody else wants to do, to also have to subsidize people in cushy aircon offices. That's what I want. Until we do that, we will NEVER be a resilient people.
Think of it as... part of total defence. Can't have an army full of pen pushers. -
Would you allow your son to be a construction worker if he wants to? Yes, those type who work under the hot sun.
isn't it the same whiners who complain on cost and also complain on immigration ? I guess the strawberry generation would rather not work than to work in those blue collar jobs. Just had lunch with the CFO of a Swiss company and the laments are people - white collar office workers - would rather not work than to do monthly over time due to financial closing ..... and do we expect them to pick up the tools and work under than sun even for much higher pay ? let's not kid ourselves, there are jobs that local will never ever want to do .....verykiasu2010:
I was watching this boy serving customers at a fast food outlet the other day. I was admiring him, and wondering whether by the same age, my boy could be as efficient, as friendly, as kind to his older colleagues, as cheerful doing an honest day work. Who knows, I might just let him start work at 14 and take it as one of his \"CCA\"s after school.hmmm, better start brainwashing the kids in kindy and pri school that such blue collar jobs are glorious positions to hold ......... and better still, brainwash them to despise white collar jobs....oh no I am now bordering on cultural revolution .... :rotflmao:
No lah. You underestimate the ability of businesses to adapt, because everybody else's costs also go up.
Small business fold up, the bosses and the workers join other bigger companies. More and more bigger companies dominate the economies, one by one, and in the end, it is the consumers who suffer. Everyone suffers. The winners are still the rich. We, the new age slaves.pirate:
Let them cry father cry mother or learn to make their own kopi. Businesses will adapt so long as their competitors are not allowed to cheat.pirate:
:? So are you saying that you want to do the hard work, the honest work that nobody else wants to do?
Think of it as... part of total defence. Can't have an army full of pen pushers.
No, I don't have to do those work. But I don't expect to subsidized by those who do and I don't mind paying $10 for chicken rice and $3 for kopi. Do you expect your chicken rice and kopi to be subsidized? -
pirate:
No lah. You underestimate the ability of businesses to adapt, because everybody else's costs also go up.
Small business fold up, the bosses and the workers join other bigger companies. More and more bigger companies dominate the economies, one by one, and in the end, it is the consumers who suffer. Everyone suffers. The winners are still the rich. We, the new age slaves.concern2:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
No, I don't have to do those work. But I don't expect to subsidized by those who do and I don't mind paying $10 for chicken rice and $3 for kopi. Do you expect your chicken rice and kopi to be subsidized?[/quote]Yes, all costs go up except salary. Back to square one.
Everyone says they don't have to do those work, so in the end, get FW,
Still back to square one leh.
Can we get the cows to come home?
he wants to be their Boss, if that is the industry he is in, and pay them handsomely, he says wan. So please your expect your apartment to cost more and office rental to go up
Would you allow your son to be a construction worker if he wants to? Yes, those type who work under the hot sun.verykiasu2010:
isn't it the same whiners who complain on cost and also complain on immigration ? I guess the strawberry generation would rather not work than to work in those blue collar jobs. Just had lunch with the CFO of a Swiss company and the laments are people - white collar office workers - would rather not work than to do monthly over time due to financial closing ..... and do we expect them to pick up the tools and work under than sun even for much higher pay ? let's not kid ourselves, there are jobs that local will never ever want to do .....verykiasu2010:
I was watching this boy serving customers at a fast food outlet the other day. I was admiring him, and wondering whether by the same age, my boy could be as efficient, as friendly, as kind to his older colleagues, as cheerful doing an honest day work. Who knows, I might just let him start work at 14 and take it as one of his \"CCA\"s after school.hmmm, better start brainwashing the kids in kindy and pri school that such blue collar jobs are glorious positions to hold ......... and better still, brainwash them to despise white collar jobs....oh no I am now bordering on cultural revolution .... :rotflmao:
the cows are still lost
Get the bulls in then! That should help us find the cows!
the cows are still lostconcern2:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.