All About Autism
Karkar:
I think it's the same? It's either you go private (cut short the waiting time & pay more) or public (but wait). I do need to caution you though. You might not get a definite answer on your first visit at kkh. Most likely the dr won't say whether he's on the spectrum or not, might even say he's too young to test. The dr will most likely get him to see a speech & occupational therapists. Both will test him to see if he has met his developmental milestones. And if he fall short, they will recommend follow up therapy. It might take many months before they give any definite assessment. My friend took almost a year to get the diagnosis- started around 2 plus also. I hope I've helped you manage your expectations? When I first went to see the dr at NUh- when son was around 2.5years old, I thought i would get a straight answer. But no. I was still in a limbo.Double E:
Kar kar, u need to go to the polyclinic to get referral in order to get a subsidize rate
then is the same as i got the referral to KKH and now waiting for assessment. Maybe i should be more patient, rather than going to private and get assessment done. although we know it earlier, but it's not too much earlier..since assessment in KK is in Nov. -
Double E:
Thanks for asking. It was good. She's got good energy!Blokus
How was your meeting with Denise from Weecare today?
Mummies
Are your little ones cheeky? My boy is getting cheekier now.
She talked through with me about how to help my son. And as I've promised her, I've to declare here all the grouses were all misunderstanding that went out of hand. Apparently we all had different expectations that went disarrayed. Anyway, at least I've gotten some of her thoughts on my son's condition. That's all important to me, I don't really care about the rest.
Yes, my son thinks it's funny to give me wrong or funny answers. For me, if I have a drastic reaction he would think it's funny and may do it again and again. You are right, they may not know when is the appropriate time to play or answer properly. I always have to juggle with this. -
Blokus:
I think it's the same? It's either you go private (cut short the waiting time & pay more) or public (but wait). I do need to caution you though. You might not get a definite answer on your first visit at kkh. Most likely the dr won't say whether he's on the spectrum or not, might even say he's too young to test. The dr will most likely get him to see a speech & occupational therapists. Both will test him to see if he has met his developmental milestones. And if he fall short, they will recommend follow up therapy. It might take many months before they give any definite assessment. My friend took almost a year to get the diagnosis- started around 2 plus also. I hope I've helped you manage your expectations? When I first went to see the dr at NUh- when son was around 2.5years old, I thought i would get a straight answer. But no. I was still in a limbo.[/quote]I asked the dr about the diagnosis and her take is that a diagnosis is just giving it a name. But it doesn't mean that it stops there just by knowing the diagnosis. U still need therapies.Karkar:
[quote=\"Double E\"]Kar kar, u need to go to the polyclinic to get referral in order to get a subsidize rate
then is the same as i got the referral to KKH and now waiting for assessment. Maybe i should be more patient, rather than going to private and get assessment done. although we know it earlier, but it's not too much earlier..since assessment in KK is in Nov. -
That’s true. Denise also say the diagnosis only helps as a documentation like if need to go special school or get exemption etc. coz I asked her if I should wait for the diagnosis or proceed with the therapy.
Hi Blokus,
So did Denise recommend their social skills playgroup or their individual therapy?
I’m curious to know 'cos I’ve also some encounters with the centre and got quite ‘confused’. Appreciate if you could share. -
Gifts from Heaven:
Hi Gifts from heaven, no problem, I'm happy to share. She said I could do concurrently. Honestly, I'm unsure if it's service recovery or based on her observation leh. I think it's the latter. But like Dr Kelvin, she highly recommends that I back the social skills playgroup with individual therapy. Because the individual therapy is like erm, a tuition. They will teach the kid social skills. The social group is for the child to apply what he learnt from the private 'tuition'. That's why they prefer the kids to have 1-1 therapy first so that the child acquires the necessary know-how's in order to apply in the social group. I hope I've made it clearer?Hi Blokus,
So did Denise recommend their social skills playgroup or their individual therapy?
I'm curious to know 'cos I've also some encounters with the centre and got quite 'confused'. Appreciate if you could share.
Double E
Did you skip the 1-1 therapy? You mentioned you went straight for the social class? -
Hi Karkar, yes, HPB = Health Promotion Board. For subsidised, you need to get referral from polyclinic. But that means longer waiting time. But I agree getting the diagnosis is just a label, what’s more important is the ongoing therapy that will help the child improve his skills.
Moms
Would there be any implications if we get our kids diagnosis via NuH/kkh? Like would there be a permanent record with MOE, or other ministries? Maybe it may become a hurdle to them entering school or getting insurance etc? -
Blukos
Yes my skipped the 1:1 cos at that time he is also on ST and OT, financially will be tight if we do do social group and 1:1 concurrently. And on top of that he is also on EIPIC. Right now he is doing 1:1 with leapfrog and making some progress in the question asking and we are trying to train him to say "I dun know".
As for assessment, yes I m also thinking of going private as I do not wish his records to be filed in the central system to be accessed. I also heard from a fren that private is more lenient and may give a better score to help our kids to at least get into Pathlight if necessary. But private assessment cost abt $1800-$2000. -
Blokus:
Double E
Did you skip the 1-1 therapy? You mentioned you went straight for the social class?
Thanks, Blokus. So it is still individual therapy lah....looks like they are selling the individual therapy more than the group class
Double E,
I'm also curious to know if your child went to individual therapy before the group class. It seems like it wasn't an option for us to go to the group class directly without the individual therapy. Can share?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.