All About Autism
Double E:
wow you boy love swing?!! plus sign for you...Mashy
My boy is also the under stimulated type. The therapist said he cannot get the stimulation in the correct way as NT kids, thats why he does visual stim to stimulate himself. I have read that for those who have visual stem, their visual is under stimulated.
Helplessmum
My boy likes to swing. He likes to sit in the swing and likes us to carry him and swing around but he prefers slow and steady, not too fast. -
Hello mummies,
I hv been MIA a while. Life been really busy with a newborn..
Lately I did my yearly review @ KKH, the doctor this time round bring up pathlight. Anyone enroll their kids in pathlight here? How is the school fee like? It is similar to mainstream school?
I am already volunteering as a parent volunteer in his future P1 school. How come she come and dampen my mood. She ask if my son can do simple maths like 5+1, I told her no. She ask my son to write his name, he wrote.
Then she ask my son to write A - Z. My son like \"sian ji bua\" cos writing to him takes a lot of effort. He only started to write like 5 months ago.. Then she ask him to recite A - Z he do so easily... SHe say see how again next May, do IQ test then maybe put him pathlight..
Sian man. I think if I choose to let my son go mainstream, he can right?
Lately my son surprise me, cos I bought him a angry bird water bottle, he say \"angry bird water bottle, same as ryan one in xxx preschool\". I was so shocked. He actually started to talk to me in a conversational manner and he started it. THen I continue, \"oh is it, Ryan has this too?\". He replied yes. Then I made a mistaken, I was so happy that I turned to my helper next to me and say \"he actually initiate conversation to me for the first time\". I think my son now older, he become more self aware we are discussing about him and he become quiet after that. When I ask him more, he just repeat what I say, like becoming more anxious. I shld have been more careful about his feelings. Nevertheless, is another step forward and I am happy
Blokus:
my daughter was afraid of the hairdresser for the longest time ... she would scream, struggle and cry at every haircut. But at the most recent haircut she was able to sit still for the first time while being preoccupied with handphone stories and let the hairdresser finish her work. Without us prepping her with extra efforts and at 5 years old.
I dare not bring my son to a dentist. He yells, kick & screams at the barber, I dare not imagine how at the dentist.
I have not tried dentist but I like to think that they could also outgrow certain things ... they just need more time. -
slmkhoo:
She's always said she wants to be a fiction writer. She loves writing stories, but I'm not sure how good they are and whether she can actually make a living that way! Her writing skills are pretty OK for her age, I think, but her lack of social understanding sometimes makes the stories seem a bit odd. I haven't actually read any of her stories for the last couple of years, so maybe it's improved, I'm not sure. Given her physical and social limitations, we think that some kind of writing/editing/proofreading job where she can work fairly independently on a computer will probably be suitable for her, or a backroom type job in a library/bookstore. We've told her that her fiction writing may be a way to earn a living eventually, but probably not initially, and is unlikely to be stable. She's in sec school now and we ask her to aim for a university or poly qualification since those jobs probably require that kind of qualification. She doesn't like Maths and is rather weak, but we have convinced her that she needs to pass, so she soldiers on. We are only aiming for H1 maths eventually, so she's only doing E Maths now. She can get exemption from MT, which will mean one less thing for her to handle. Besides school stuff, we encourage her to read widely (she tends to get stuck in a rut), socialise more, and we continually work on living skills like housework, time management etc, and I plan to teach her some simple sewing and cooking soon (tried earlier without success because of her poor motor skills). We are resigned that she will take longer to 'grow up' than her younger sister, but as long as we can see progress, we are OK with it.
slmkhoo, thanks for sharing alternatives besides vocational openings. My daughter loves books and reading too, so its good to keep such options open.
ImMeeMee:
my daughter was afraid of the hairdresser for the longest time ... she would scream, struggle and cry at every haircut. But at the most recent haircut she was able to sit still for the first time while being preoccupied with handphone stories and let the hairdresser finish her work. Without us prepping her with extra efforts and at 5 years old.
I have not tried dentist but I like to think that they could also outgrow certain things ... they just need more time.
Mine also okay with barber lately. *thank god*.. I havent try dentist too. I leave it to school to bring him
Sometimes he tend to act out lesser when he is with teachers than with parents. So far he brushes his teeth every day and seldom eat meat, hence his teeth still looks okay. Hope can tahan until his P1 checkup.
nugget:
Lucky I never see her earlier else mine will end up in pathlight. My son also couldn't and refused to write last time. He has difficulties in writing till recently then got better. And he could barely count, how to add? Now his acad is fine according to his teacher. Did fairly well for maths and English tests. So don't lose heart. Am sure given time, he will be able to catch up.Hello mummies,
I hv been MIA a while. Life been really busy with a newborn..
Lately I did my yearly review @ KKH, the doctor this time round bring up pathlight. Anyone enroll their kids in pathlight here? How is the school fee like? It is similar to mainstream school?
I am already volunteering as a parent volunteer in his future P1 school. How come she come and dampen my mood. She ask if my son can do simple maths like 5+1, I told her no. She ask my son to write his name, he wrote.
Then she ask my son to write A - Z. My son like \"sian ji bua\" cos writing to him takes a lot of effort. He only started to write like 5 months ago.. Then she ask him to recite A - Z he do so easily... SHe say see how again next May, do IQ test then maybe put him pathlight..
Sian man. I think if I choose to let my son go mainstream, he can right?
Lately my son surprise me, cos I bought him a angry bird water bottle, he say \"angry bird water bottle, same as ryan one in xxx preschool\". I was so shocked. He actually started to talk to me in a conversational manner and he started it. THen I continue, \"oh is it, Ryan has this too?\". He replied yes. Then I made a mistaken, I was so happy that I turned to my helper next to me and say \"he actually initiate conversation to me for the first time\". I think my son now older, he become more self aware we are discussing about him and he become quiet after that. When I ask him more, he just repeat what I say, like becoming more anxious. I shld have been more careful about his feelings. Nevertheless, is another step forward and I am happy
Nugget
Did you ask the pd why she suggested Pathlight? How old is your son by the way? I lost track, pai say. -
mashy:
Lucky I never see her earlier else mine will end up in pathlight. My son also couldn't and refused to write last time. He has difficulties in writing till recently then got better. And he could barely count, how to add? Now his acad is fine according to his teacher. Did fairly well for maths and English tests. So don't lose heart. Am sure given time, he will be able to catch up.
Thanks for the kind words and always being here for me Mashy. Yup I will not give up.. -
Blokus:
My son turning 5 this year. I never ask her why leh, but I guess mainstream school does a lot of writing and if he cant write, he cannot cope?Nugget
Did you ask the pd why she suggested Pathlight? How old is your son by the way? I lost track, pai say.
Feel like wasting time to visit her. I knew nothing good will come out of that session. THey just see us for 20 mins, how much will they know? I bet some NT kids also cannot add. I tested my son, 2+ 2 he say 4. Lolz
Whether vocational or otherwise, its too early to tell for my daughter cos she still too young. I wonโt exclude vocational openings if she becomes strong in that area. She does not have any savant skills so will need to know as many options as possible to explore into the future. At current stage, my daughterโs literacy is much stronger than her fine motor.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.