All About Autism
nugget:
My boy's kindy teacher complained throughout his kindy years that he couldn't write! Lol. When u are at speech therapy with rehab, ask them to refer u to OT too to do handwriting. We did handwriting OT for a few yrs. not very effective but they do teach what u can do and u see how to improve the handwriting. Some things like handwriting can't rush coz their hand muscles are simply not well developed yet.
My son turning 5 this year. I never ask her why leh, but I guess mainstream school does a lot of writing and if he cant write, he cannot cope?Blokus:
Nugget
Did you ask the pd why she suggested Pathlight? How old is your son by the way? I lost track, pai say.
Feel like wasting time to visit her. I knew nothing good will come out of that session. THey just see us for 20 mins, how much will they know? I bet some NT kids also cannot add. I tested my son, 2+ 2 he say 4. Lolz
Well, some kids still couldn't even read at 6... And if they can go mainstream sch, why not our kids? My son has two classmates who go for learning support. They are NT kids, look perfectly fine, speak well but just couldn't spell. They also go mainstream, just some support... My boy took back a boy's spelling book, started off all zeros, then later improve slowly. I'm sure with some time, our kids can do it. -
nugget,
i have been postponing my son visit to kkh PD hor , they are all rubbish…
waste my $ & my time… lor… is like going pharmarcy… jus request what medicine u need & dispense to me. -
mummies,
what are your kids sleeping style now? heard from rainbow, some asd kids will have sleeping issues, is it true -
helplessmum3:
All asd kids are different.mummies,
what are your kids sleeping style now? heard from rainbow, some asd kids will have sleeping issues, is it true
And if u want to be able to ignore pd's advice, then u need to educate yourself so much till u know every aspect even better than the pD. If u are just going by gut feel, my gut feel is listen to your PD. Knowledge is power. Don't ignore just because u think u know better. Be able to substantiate your stand. -
mashy:
Hi mashy,
Karkar
Is it echololia? Like repeating phrases from tv, words immediately after u said it?
For games, I got from ELC and toys r us. They have lots of interactive games. I bought a game recently from ELC which is to tie a bumble bee on our forehead and we are supposed to fish out the balls with the bee. Quite hilarious and we had a good time playing it. There are also lots of other fun games to try out.
now i am pretty certain he is. for 23month old, he doesn't talk to you..he sings songs, hum the tune, or count 123 or abc if he does speak. or sometimes you said look that side and pointed, he didnt follow you and continue with his own playing at the same time repeat what you said 3-4 times..so guess it's considered echololia liao.. how to train him not to do that and encourage him to talk to people by ourselves?
[edit: found this, http://littlechildren.wordpress.com/2007/10/08/echolalia/ guess it's normal for his age now]
i realize my son doesn't point to something interesting and share with us like Nt kids do. i really wanna strong bonding with him but..
like this afternoon, i played him on blocks..he likes to throw things to floor, i stopped and hit his hands, but he still continued to do that as if i was transparent. i really dont know how to enter his world. i shall google \"how to share joint attention\". -
nugget:
Hahaha! Take it with a pinch of salt I say! Only you know his abilities well. Not bad wat, can add what!
My son turning 5 this year. I never ask her why leh, but I guess mainstream school does a lot of writing and if he cant write, he cannot cope?Blokus:
Nugget
Did you ask the pd why she suggested Pathlight? How old is your son by the way? I lost track, pai say.
Feel like wasting time to visit her. I knew nothing good will come out of that session. THey just see us for 20 mins, how much will they know? I bet some NT kids also cannot add. I tested my son, 2+ 2 he say 4. Lolz
Karkar:
Haha, my NT gal does the same to me. I tell her not to throw, she will purposedly throw. So I guess it may just be part of growing up.
Hi mashy,mashy:
Karkar
Is it echololia? Like repeating phrases from tv, words immediately after u said it?
For games, I got from ELC and toys r us. They have lots of interactive games. I bought a game recently from ELC which is to tie a bumble bee on our forehead and we are supposed to fish out the balls with the bee. Quite hilarious and we had a good time playing it. There are also lots of other fun games to try out.
now i am pretty certain he is. for 23month old, he doesn't talk to you..he sings songs, hum the tune, or count 123 or abc if he does speak. or sometimes you said look that side and pointed, he didnt follow you and continue with his own playing at the same time repeat what you said 3-4 times..so guess it's considered echololia liao.. how to train him not to do that and encourage him to talk to people by ourselves?
[edit: found this, http://littlechildren.wordpress.com/2007/10/08/echolalia/ guess it's normal for his age now]
i realize my son doesn't point to something interesting and share with us like Nt kids do. i really wanna strong bonding with him but..
like this afternoon, i played him on blocks..he likes to throw things to floor, i stopped and hit his hands, but he still continued to do that as if i was transparent. i really dont know how to enter his world. i shall google \"how to share joint attention\".
My boy also didn't point and show us anything until one day, he pointed out the moon to us! We pointed e moon to him before and told him look, the moon is round. There's the moon! He likes round stuff, so after a while, he started to point the moon and tell us that's e moon. Perhaps u can start with something he likes. Like if he likes car, point to cars. If he likes trains, point to trains when it goes by. Soon, he will get it that if he points to something, we look. -
Regarding echololia, I also dunno what u can do. My boy just quotes from books or from tv but not often enough to be considered that. We didn't have a proper conversation until he was quite old. it was a huge relief when my younger gal started talking and could have a conversation with me. Sometimes I think she's even better than him. It's a refreshing change. I think he started learning conversation skills bit by bit. We can now have a decent conversation. When he couldn't talk very well, we used a lot of yes/no questions. Even when he could talk more, he was more into reading his book aloud or telling me facts that he read. Not so much as a conversation. It just happened gradually after we started asking him questions about the things he like. Like what are e planets in the solar system, what is this and that.
I think my hb is really good at this. At night, before they sleep, my hb talks to him. Asked him about his day, what are his happy thoughts for the day, etc. my boy is able to tell him things that he won't tell me. They sing silly songs together and 'rewrite' songs with their made up lyrics.
Mummies
Would like to find out how you teach your kids about time concept. Not the time telling like 7 oclock or half past six, but more of just now/now/later, yesterday/today/tmr etc. I find that its difficult to coach cos such time concepts are intangible, and unlike time telling, I can’t find proper manipulatives to teach the concept.
Now I am only at the stage of just now and now, and even with this my daughter is not fully able to appteciate the concept. What are the strategies and tools that you use in this instance?
TIA for sharing.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.