All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.1m Views 3 Watching
      ImMeeMee

helplessmum3:
      ImMeeMee,

Ok I try..

At timed after much efforts done n works out but later if he fall sick . That's when everything fall back . Is like Spider wet beIng blow aways & spider will rebuild gain...I will try to be like the spider n rebuild the wet again...

Thanks ImMerMee
      helplessmum, ASD children fluctuate in their behaviour and exhibition of autistic traits. It is important to understand that while intervention may help to manage the condition, the traits will stay with the child, and under stress, these traits may resurface again. That's why it is said that there is no cure for ASD, though there are effective means to manage the condition.

Being sick is one form of stress that the body undergoes, so this increases the probability of the child showing certain autistic traits that have seemingly disappeared. That is not to say that the efforts spent on intervention are lost forever once the child is sick or under stress. When the body goes back to healthy state, the child's base level will be back. You wont have to rebuild all over again.

I used to get frightened when my daughter exhibited certain traits that have disappeared when she became sick, cos I thought that she was regressing. But that's not true. So try not to look at the child on the day to day basis, there will be good and bad days. Instead look at the child on a periodic basis (3 months, 6 months) and see how the child has progressed.

Hope this helps.

Fizz

Hi

In the previous archives, there was mention of a social story book…is it called My Social Stories Book by Carol Gray? It was recommeded in the Psychologist’s Report as Social Stories by Carol Grey.

Thanks.

helplessmum3

ImMeeMee.

my son sick very often, can be every 1 or 2 monthly one... whenever he is sick will on antibiotic for 2 weeks then neurblizer then his rashes will turn bad at times he will scratch until its been... duno scratching of body consider stImming at times i can't help it but suspect that is stiming :(.... cuz he is ASD mah....

do you have any recommendation of good fish oil for 3 years old, because i heard that fish oil is good for skin problem & also help to calm down a child.. i feel tat my son is restless... Although he is restless he can on sit for on task kind of works for very long , like 2hrs.. example, art works... story telling only 15mins...

but he can't watch tv still for few hrs, he totally not interested in TV...

now i currently quite stress over his graduation concert that coming.....all his peers will follow dancing at stay at their position to dance, but my son will run around & trying to play with the kids while they are dancing.. as the outcome, teacher will just force him to sit one corner to watch only.!!! how sadden... my son wan to join in so much, just duno how..hiaz...

• G Offline
            Gifts from Heaven

Fizz:
            Hi

In the previous archives, there was mention of a social story book...is it called My Social Stories Book by Carol Gray? It was recommeded in the Psychologist's Report as Social Stories by Carol Grey.

Thanks.

Hi Fizz,

It's called \"The New Social Stories Book\" by Carol Grey. Personally, I find the Jed Baker's one better 'cos more pictures and less words, so more suitable for young kids. But Carol Grey's one will tell you her technique on how to go abt developing your own social stories. Hope that helps.

Btw, I read earlier on that you met up with the AED of your kid's primary school to enquire abt the support that would be given for AS kids. Can share info on the kind of support the school will give here? Thanks!

• G Offline
              Gifts from Heaven

helplessmum3:
              ImMeeMee.

my son sick very often, can be every 1 or 2 monthly one... whenever he is sick will on antibiotic for 2 weeks then neurblizer then his rashes will turn bad at times he will scratch until its been... duno scratching of body consider stImming at times i can't help it but suspect that is stiming :(.... cuz he is ASD mah....

do you have any recommendation of good fish oil for 3 years old, because i heard that fish oil is good for skin problem & also help to calm down a child.. i feel tat my son is restless... Although he is restless he can on sit for on task kind of works for very long , like 2hrs.. example, art works... story telling only 15mins...

now i currently quite stress over his graduation concert that coming.....all his peers will follow dancing at stay at their position to dance, but my son will run around & trying to play with the kids while they are dancing.. as the outcome, teacher will just force him to sit one corner to watch only.!!! how sadden... my son wan to join in so much, just duno how..hiaz...
              Helplessmum3,
              Young kid at 3 and in childcare...it is common to be sick frequently. My kids will fall sick every month when they were at that age. I see doctor until can give VIP card liao at that time.
              Dun think the scratching in your case is stimming. it's due to his rashes lah. You need to find out why rashes appear. If it is 'cos of the antibiotic, shld feedback to doctor...maybe allergic to that antibiotic.

Good fish oil - the Nordic Natural one. It's one of the purer form, listed on the newspapers before.

Watch TV - why do you want your kid to watch TV for a few hours when there are reports out there that suggest restricting the amount of TV time for children. It's bad for eyesight, you know.

Graduation dance - how do you know he wans to join in? Did he tell you? Maybe he is not interested, that's why he is running around and disturbing other kids. If he is really interested, then discuss with teacher. Give him a role that can let him run around...can cheorograph inside the dance.

mashy

helplessmum3:
                ImMeeMee.

Oh pls...scratching is simply becoz it's itchy! Not stimming. Use moisturizer. Plenty of it. Try dermaveen or physiogel. Moisturize every hr until it gets better.

I gave my boy fish oil from nordic naturals. U can order from iherb.com.

Mine didn't like tv when he was young. Only watched commercials. Now he loves tv ESP science documentaries.

If it helps in anyway, mine sat down during his first concert performance. Everyone were dancing away and he just sat down and refused to budge. So we ended up taking just photos of him sitting down. Sigh. It's just a concert, there will be more to come. If the teacher don't allow him to participate, don't attend. Then he won't know and won't feel it.

• G Offline
                  Gifts from Heaven

mashy:

If it helps in anyway, mine sat down during his first concert performance. Everyone were dancing away and he just sat down and refused to budge. So we ended up taking just photos of him sitting down. Sigh. It's just a concert, there will be more to come. If the teacher don't allow him to participate, don't attend. Then he won't know and won't feel it.

Hehehe 😂 ...mine (at 4 yrs old then) din even go up the stage. He refused cos the camera flashlights scared him. Both my husband and I took leave to watch his performance in school only to find him sitting amongst the audience with his head bent down. We dun even have a chance to take photo of him on the stage.

mashy

Gifts from Heaven:
                    mashy:

Hehehe 😂 ...mine (at 4 yrs old then) din even go up the stage. He refused cos the camera flashlights scared him. Both my husband and I took leave to watch his performance in school only to find him sitting amongst the audience with his head bent down. We dun even have a chance to take photo of him on the stage.

Hahaha, I think anyone will have stage fright. Performing is actually not for everyone. Can u imagine our PM going up the stage to do a gangnam style? Anyway, my boy took part in more concerts as he grew older and he got better each time. 🙂

Like I said earlier, don't compare. Each kid have different strengths. I don't expect my boy to excel in everything. That would have been too much to ask for. Just find their niche and they will do wonderfully. At 3 yrs old, my boy just started talking for not too long. We were so delighted when he could read, never mind that others don't understand what he's reading becoz of his poor articulation. Had such a good laugh recently playing back his old videos.
                    Actually,I don't think my NT gal is as brilliant as him. Lol. She is good in other things, just not in the intelligence department. But it's fine. As she grows older, I will be able to find out more about her strengths. Right now it's just waiting.

Fizz

Gifts from Heaven:
                      Fizz:

Hi

In the previous archives, there was mention of a social story book...is it called My Social Stories Book by Carol Gray? It was recommeded in the Psychologist's Report as Social Stories by Carol Grey.

Thanks.

Hi Fizz,

It's called \"The New Social Stories Book\" by Carol Grey. Personally, I find the Jed Baker's one better 'cos more pictures and less words, so more suitable for young kids. But Carol Grey's one will tell you her technique on how to go abt developing your own social stories. Hope that helps.

Btw, I read earlier on that you met up with the AED of your kid's primary school to enquire abt the support that would be given for AS kids. Can share info on the kind of support the school will give here? Thanks!

Gifts from Heaven

Thanks. I looked through Book Depository...it costs about $40+? :shock: I shall consider the Jed Baker book too.

I did not meet up with the AED. She called me after the admin conveyed my call to her. Briefly based on what she told me over the phone, the school will have educator counsellors or something to that name, over on a monthly basis to assess the special needs kids. I suspect this may be a MOE initiative as I know another school has this too. The AED will also organise opportunities for the ASD kids to come together and practise social skills with one another. On the day of the orientation, the AED will already know the class of the special needs kids and ready to help on hand if needed. We passed the report to the admin and the AED said the VP will call us regarding the allocation of class.

Fizz

helplessmum3:
                        ImMeeMee.

My kids take Nodiac Naturals from iherb.com too. In Sg, you can get them from Vitakids at a much inflated rate. But some kids may still not like the strawberry masked fishy taste. For immunity booster, you can try Ceelin (a pure Vit C syrup aka absorbic acid) from Guardian and / or Probiotic from Kinder Clinic (I do not know where else carry this though).

For a 3yo, to sit for 2hrs doing an activity or 15min listening to a story is very good! 2hrs!!!

Today, my son's Art teacher commented that his tee looked very nice and she liked it. Immediately, we noticed that he lowered his face and kept quiet. Other kids would prolly chatter about the tee. His in-apt in social communication is pretty obvious :sad:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 199 / 794