ST 23/8 Teacher cuts pupil's hair, mum files police report
mamemo:
absolutely!!! she should stitch her mouth... my fire came up again after reading the newpaper... they actually interviewed some other parents who had similar experience and all said they were angry with teacher...tutormum:
....Unless she's not educated, I'm sure she knows that first impression counts. I can even remember how my form teacher kept reminding the class to create a good impression during our PSLE oral.
Didn't she take PSLE also? Grooming is very important for such occasions. I would constantly remind my sons to get their haircut before the teachers considered it long. If they ignore my reminders and get a warning or free haircut from their teachers, they know that they deserve it. Complaining to me would have me rubbing salt to their wounds. :evil:
Somemore, she is from Sales...
Actually I think she should keep quiet...don't add oil to fire anymore... -
Teachers cheered by call to be firm with pushy parents
Minister's remarks seen as 'moral support' in face of growing demands
Published on Sep 17, 2012
By Kezia Toh
SOME parents expect one-on-one tutoring for their children after school. Others want a guarantee that teachers will not raise their voices or scold them in front of their classmates.
Principals and teachers say they were cheered by the Education Minister's call last week to handle parents' unreasonable demands with a firm hand.
Many say they have already begun to do it, as they encounter more such demands in the course of their work.
Such demands do not faze principal Jenny Yeo of South View Primary - not any more.
\"More parents are trying to assert their 'rights'... Some parents treat the teachers as though they only have one child to teach, which is a little self-centred.\"
Worst is when parents threaten to go to the Education Ministry if they do not get their way, said the principal of almost 20 years.
When that happens, \"we tell them nicely that you can go ahead, and the school will explain our side of the story\".
At Ang Mo Kio Secondary, principal Abdul Mannan says parents usually complain when their children are taught by relief teachers - which sometimes happens when a form teacher has to go on maternity leave, for example.
He said the situation has not reached the point \"where parents come to bang on the table\", but they will insist that the relief teacher be rotated across all classes - so that their children are not at a disadvantage.
In a speech during the ministry's Work Plan Seminar last week, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat called for \"a firm stand against unreasonable demands\".
Citing the recent case of a mother who complained to the police about a teacher cutting her son's hair, he said such incidents are the reason teachers \"often feel anxious about dealing with demanding parents\".
Teachers The Straits Times spoke to said that when they encounter such unreasonable parents, they generally avoid notifying the principal in case it is seen as a sign of weakness.
\"They may think we cannot handle problems and put the blame on us,\" said a primary school teacher of more than 20 years, who asked not to be named as she was not authorised by her school to speak to the press.
Instead, she tries to cultivate good relations with parents by calling them to introduce herself when the school term starts. \"I have to win them over, then I can start to teach properly... Teachers must also do networking.\"
Educators cheered Mr Heng's remarks as \"moral support\". They said it was a cue for schools to stand their ground against parents' unreasonable demands.
Parents interviewed, however, countered that it was not that they did not want to engage the teacher or the school, but that sometimes, the schools do not respond quickly enough to their needs.
Lodging a police report is not a ploy to threaten the school, but a reminder that \"every situation is not to be taken lightly\", said housewife Saliza Ramilan, 45.
Her son, who is in Primary 6 at Park View Primary, made the news in July after he was electrocuted at school while plugging in a laptop.
Ms Saliza said she did not call the police, but a report was made at the hospital where her son was warded.
She added: \"I would not bypass the school to go to the police, unless the school did not take action.\"
Mr Mohamed Ariffin, 53, filed a police report in May when a teacher told his seven-year-old daughter: \"I don't want to see your face.\" He, too, disagreed with the minister's remarks.
\"It is not that parents are too fussy. Mr Heng should look at the steps to take when employing and training every teacher,\" said Mr Ariffin. \"They are dealing with young minds, and should be mindful not to abuse them.\"
These cases may happen as parents are now more concerned about their child's emotional well-being, said senior executive Annie Sng, 39, who has two children in primary school.
She said she appreciates schools' efforts in engaging parents, such as when they hold meet-the-parents sessions and holiday workshops on parenting.
It is then that she gets to meet the teachers of her two children in Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary.
\"I would probe my child first before jumping to any conclusions to accuse teachers or anything - There must be mutual respect,\" Ms Sng said.
[email protected] -
mamago,
i must file the report to show to my kids… thks…!! -
Wah liao eh! File police report over "I don’t want to see your face"! He think the police got nothing better to do?
Lilac66:
if the minister criticise her over the internet should be fined :evil: :evil:verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
Question: Why does one find it acceptable to be criticized by netizen and not by a minister?
:rotflmao: Lilac catching on fast!
But can’t the police "reject" the case. Do they even bother about "verbal abuse" like that? Wah if every case also take, of course very busy lah!
I understand you cannot file a missing person report unless it’s at least 24 hrs, and they can entertain a parent’s complaint about "I don’t want to see your face"?
The media got add salt add vinegar or not? -
Lilac66:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
if the minister criticise her over the internet should be fined :evil: :evil:
:rotflmao: Lilac catching on fast![/quote]
Eh You like my cher in school...she also commented I learn fast
being parents, our kids are the most impt… that made them do things that they probably didnt think they will at all…
i can only say they are still in their little world… not wake up yet… -
1. You have never lost temper on your child before.
2. Your child has never misbehaved before.
3. None of the above.
If your answer is either 1 or 2, then you can criticize the school/teachers.
If your answer is 3, then you cannot criticize the school/teachers Liao.
My answer is 3 :imcool: -
Imami:
If she is among us, she won't have gone on and on. Still haven't woke up... :snooze: Meh? 牛皮灯笼啊?Daddy

Is the mother among us, since she knows what the netizens are saying?
Dun think any other forums talk so much about this...
:siam: :itwasntme:
Very chim. What is 牛皮灯笼?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.