MP echoes calls for PSLE to be scrapped

560 Posts 72 Posters 122.9k Views 1 Watching
      MR06

Lilac66:

my children are sensible

congrats!

Kekeke

I think you miss the pun by vks..... you know he is a notti boy...... πŸ˜†

I swung high and this is what I saw hanging in the someone's kitchen.
      http://i47.tinypic.com/tarpti.jpg\">

Lilac66

MR06:
        Lilac66:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]

my children are sensible

congrats!

Kekeke

I swung high and this is what I saw hanging in the someone's kitchen.[/quote]
        haha, I've been here long enough to know his pattern... just playing along. I not stupid you know?

MR06, you have been away for too long…this cat is no longer like the ex-mouse… kekeke

Picolo

Lynn2010:

Hi Picolo,

the time given is actually 1hr 10min to do a compo and a situational writing. Teachers usually advise students to take 50 min to write the compo, 5 min to check. 10min to write the situational writing, 5min to check.
            I do know that EL Paper 1 has 2 components (compo and situational writing) and total time given is 1 hr 10min. My son's teacher has advised the whole class to set aside 25 mins for the situational writing to secure those marks, and leaving 50 - 55 min for compo. Any time you can squeeze from the situational writing is a bonus.
            Lynn2010:
            Given enough practise, yes, it is do-able. Unfortunately, as far as i know, children are given very little compo practise in sch. I know of a kid who did one compo in the first semester. While i understand the teacher has to mark almost 40 compos for every one compo given, still i think one compo per semester is too pathetic. How to get enough practise?? Perhaps then this is why parents have to resort to tuition - creative writing classes whereby kids get to write at least one compo a week.
            Of course, given enough practice anything should be more or less do-able, no? But at what cost?! You seem to be suggesting that every student should have at least one compo practice a week from your post, then it is do-able. The GEP classes have about 25 students a class. 25 compos weekly to mark weekly. So, is it justifiable for the GEP teacher to give her students 1 compo a week? How many of them does it? I know of many GEP and HA students who go for such weekly writing classes. In fact, it's the smart kids dominating those branded writing classes because they can withstand the drilling and high standards. Even for them to finish a well-written compo in 30 min is possible.

Actually, giving more time for PSLE Compo will help to change the mindset of the kiasu parents. Currently it's just a lot of over-preparation. You see parents sign their kids for writing classes as early as P1s. :siao:

MR06

MR06:
              Lilac66:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]

my children are sensible

congrats!

Kekeke

I swung high and this is what I saw hanging in the someone's kitchen.[/quote]
              haha, I've been here long enough to know his pattern... just playing along. I not stupid you know?[/quote]

πŸ˜‰ :hi5:

Lilac66

MR06, you have been away for too long...this cat is no longer like the ex-mouse... kekeke

:evil: That's why if you observe this cat carefully, no more the innocent look like the mouse.

MR06

MR06, you have been away for too long...this cat is no longer like the ex-mouse... kekeke

Agree.... upgraded to Garfield in yr clinic, no longer little Jerry. πŸ˜‚

MR06

Lilac66:

:evil: That's why if you observe this cat carefully, no more the innocent look like the mouse.

Now, my swing cannot take your weight liao, but I'll take photos and share with you. πŸ˜‰

Lilac66

MR06:
                      Lilac66:

[quote=\"ksi\"]MR06, you have been away for too long...this cat is no longer like the ex-mouse... kekeke

Now, my swing cannot take your weight liao, but I'll take photos and share with you. πŸ˜‰[/quote]I take that as quite an insult, but nebbermind lah..

Mychildren

Hi, all your words are undecodable to me. Maybe I'm still new. Never mind, I've my lady friend advisor here.

Sorry, :offtopic: .
                        All of u back to topic.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 56