All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      helplessmum3

Lik FIzz, i oso dun wan to have the hassle to go thru Polyclinic & etc to go into KKH Rehab Dept. and also i call for the the course conducted by Rehab they say they do not cater for ASD!!!

helplessmum3

mashy:
        Here's a blog from a mummy that i just read. I wonder if she is among us here. She's really one hardworking mom. She has recorded her son's progress over the years.

http://myspecialrayyan.blogspot.sg/search?updated-min=2012-01-01T00:00:00%2B08:00&updated-max=2013-01-01T00:00:00%2B08:00&max-results=33
        what happen, her son seems perfectly normal , know how to say go watch movie . understand after brain gym go where..

btw, what is brain gym?

helplessmum3

Double E:
          Something new that I have noticed in my boy

Imaginary play
          - he finally displays some of them. Now he will take two figurines (we pass it to him) and pretend them to be the characters in a book he read. Then he will narrate \"Ben and bella are waiting for the bus\", \"The bus is here\", \"Ben and Bella are taking the bus\", it may be just echoing what he read, but at least, he will move the figurines like make them walk and take bus. He was never able to do that last time

Negotiation
          Previously, when we asked him to stop playing and go to bed, he will protest and throw tantrums and we will tell him he has another 5mins. Now when we ask him to stop playing, he will say \"mommy, give me 5 more mins\". Though he will still throw a bit of tantrum when we eventually ask him to stop after 5mins, but am just glad that he can contextualise what we do to him and use it on us.

His OT just asked us today if we want to start music therapy on him at home which I have been procrastinating. Cos I am a FTWM, I worry that I can't find the time to do it consistently at home. Has anyone of you try music therapy at home?

my son also surprise me recently, ask him to keep toys, he say \"cannot\".. because i been telling him cannot this cannot tat...

he iso learn how to be bossy this days.. ask me open door, ask me come here. ask me on the light, ask me off the light, ask me come down.. i sooo bz

for Imaginary play, i never read books to my son at all.
          so he only know how to see real life example & pretend play :(.. example, he will take a figurer to put on the motorcycle or car and place a tree beside it a move along just like at road side..

hiaz. how i wish my son is at your son level now..

about drawing & coloring.. does your son like Coloring & drawing? my son draw & color a lot...

helplessmum3

Fizz:
            helplessmum3:

Mashy, you mean MMI?

800++/mth i can't afford. šŸ˜ž

The ST gave me a list of schools including childcares which may consider kids with special needs. They include the following among the rest:

- TOUCH Childcare (Hougang/Clementi);
            - Mother Goose (Jalan Halijah in Bedok);
            - Presbyterian Community Services (various locations)

The above ones looks more affordable than Eton, which is also in the list :evil:

thanks Fizz i will check them out.

helplessmum3

Ran1977:
              hi helplessmum3

can you please give details of the WeeCare..10weeks term. 1.5hr on Sat. for social skills?What time and when starting
              Is it just for Autism kids or also for ADHD?
              i jus enquiry for ASD, its morning session during sat or sun. S$500++ for 10weeks term, pay deposit, s$300.. it is for social skill only.. all kids together. this one i worry might be like leo megan.

with 1.5hrs. duno how they focus with so many kids at one time..

helplessmum3

mashy:
                helplessmum3:

Mashy, you mean MMI?

800++/mth i can't afford. šŸ˜ž

When u add up all the therapists also a lot leh. For myself, I rather see lesser therapists and better sch environment. Reason being that he is exposed to it everyday. That's where he learns to behave like any other kid and it's much more important than therapies. I rather see less freq therapies and apply what I learned from them at home.

oh manz, this is tough.. i still very confuse... with my limited resources...

i have stopped all CDU (kKh) therapist already.. they are just SUCKS!! waste my time taking leave & to & fro...then see my son barely one hr, not works with him but jus assess him.!!

mashy

helplessmum3:
                  mashy,

i have no choice, when my son attend cc, they P already ask me to get proof to say my son is NT kid. :(.. so get go KKH CDU. SUCKS place!!! we pay subsidize amount but the workers there get pay specialist amount u know, waste our GOVT money for sub price.!!!
                  Why did they ask for proof? My boy's sch never asked for it.

nugget

mashy:

I wonder if like that discharge, next time for insurance, by right we can declare he's been discharged already right? Then they can treat him as 'normal' case?
                    you mean you hv problem getting inssurance now?

nugget

i think maybe why kkh-cdu keep records separately cos they want to maintain the confidentiality of the patients. as long as we choose not to delcare it, the rest of the kkh doctors in the other dept, other hospital, insurance company etc wont be able to get hold of it.

helplessmum3

mashy:
                        helplessmum3:

mashy,

i have no choice, when my son attend cc, they P already ask me to get proof to say my son is NT kid. :(.. so get go KKH CDU. SUCKS place!!! we pay subsidize amount but the workers there get pay specialist amount u know, waste our GOVT money for sub price.!!!

Why did they ask for proof? My boy's sch never asked for it.

At that time, my son sensory problem is sound, whenever he hears kid crying he feel very angry & annoyed. things like tat...

then he was under a very no experience teacher keep complaining she can't cope, then P was pressure worry the teacher might resign & etc...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 210 / 794