MP echoes calls for PSLE to be scrapped

560 Posts 72 Posters 123.3k Views 1 Watching

verykiasumummy:
      vlim:

[quote=\"Lilac66\"]

Really?How ,when? You mean all the changes are in the guise of wanting to let parents have the option of international schools in pri level?

Lidat .. Parents who cannot afford to let their kids go private pri and sec schools will be bery bery stressss .... I definitely no agree ..

nobody agrees at all... see la... all parents kee qiu all dun want...[/quote]no la...they never kee qiu for alternative to allow parents to be their own MOE... I did... because I don't care about policies, I only care what suits my child. They only kee qiu to no removal of PSLE which is still correct and I don't think it will be removed for the majority. However, if they pass the local private schools ok for primary, then this group may not need to take PSLE which would be the minority.

vlim

As far as I know in Perth, they have private and gov primary and secondary schools… The later ones of course more expensive and their academic results better … Not only that some students of the gov schools are the problematic ones like taking drugs etc etc … So u see … Scared or not … I not only kee Chiu but also kee kar!

• X Offline
          xfx

Not in favour to scrapping of psle..... No to private schools for the rich.

This only advantage the rich as they have more \"options\". If private schools proved to be better than the government school then only the rich could afford to send their kids there. The gap between the poor/avg will be wider in future. If government school is better then the rich
          will send to government school. Nothing to lose for the rich or in fact it is better for them. JMO

Hmm.... mayb private school for the PR only :siam:

Problem now is ONE size cannot fit all leh…and so much pain projected.

vlim

Problem now is ONE size cannot fit all leh....and so much pain projected.

But going private doesn't solve the problem for all .. It only solve problem for the rich ..

vlim:

Problem now is ONE size cannot fit all leh....and so much pain projected.

But going private doesn't solve the problem for all .. It only solve problem for the rich ..

or may not be rich but people who are willing to pay for an alternative since they do not like PSLE?

vlim

vlim:

[quote=\"ksi\"]Problem now is ONE size cannot fit all leh....and so much pain projected.

or may not be rich but people who are willing to pay for an alternative since they do not like PSLE?[/quote]Very luan.. :faint:

A parent mentioned earlier that even if there is no PSLE, there is going to be O levels, A levels too…if kids are spared PSLE, they will not know the urgency of exams, or perhaps what an exam signifies when they eventually need to take one. This scrapping of PSLE is a topic which should not have started bcos the idea will not work.

I am only asking if stakes for PSLE can be lowered. Then, perhaps kids will not be overly stressed. Yes, the children today are more intelligent than us…but this doesn’t mean they should be stretched to the max.

vlim:

[quote=\"vlim\"]

or may not be rich but people who are willing to pay for an alternative since they do not like PSLE?

Very luan.. :faint:[/quote]Ya lor... 🤷

BeContented

Interesting.

B4 this, we see lotsa complains about the cons of having PSLE, people wishing there's no PSLE.
                        Now we seem to see more on the the cons without PSLE.
                        😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 56