All About Grooming & Encouraging Good Reading Habits

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    847 Posts 178 Posters 419.3k Views 1 Watching
      Blobbi

Wah, I just spotted the bookpeople website that has been recommended here. So cheap, but I bought from various sources oredi. 😢

Wanted to recommend this series that my son loves called Astrosaurs.
      http://www.thebookpeople.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10001_10051_175173_100_500020__category_

Kino has it, so you can test it out there for 5-10mins with your kids :lol:. The titles sound alarming but according to my son, the books are just hilarious. I also like the UK style writing. My son loves a lot of the books mentioned by the parents here, like Roald Dahl and Geronimo Stilton, so your kids may like this one too. The author has two other series that sound equally good and you can check them out below.

http://www.stevecolebooks.co.uk/

Have fun!!

• chuaeilC Offline
        chuaeil

Yes! Cheap as heck boy!

So i grabbed it shamelessly
        and without much thought!! :lol:

Atrium open sale for 2nd hand
        books. I love it! They will go plc
        to plc.... malls.... neighbourhood
        shopping centres.... and like the
        big atrium areas outside Jurong
        East Entertainment Centre.

I bought twice from Bukit Panjang
        Plaza, once at Jurong East, once
        at Yew Tee.

Wah lau, $50.00 can get a LOT of
        books. And good ones at that too!
        Good things come to people who
        wait i suppose... hehee... 😉

Shipping? Only feeder bus service. :lol:
        Hi buds,
        where is it? Over already?

Thanks for sharing
        Eileen

Yap, it’s over. Next time got some more

i share lobang with you. Where d’ya stay?
          Your profile isn’t updated yet, can’t see any
          details about you and i oso din recall any intro
          upon your coming to KSP.

hquek

back from penguin booksale (at expo, not chief’s house). overall verdict: Not cheap, but there are still finds.

Ladybird books galore - but it’s at $3 each, and it’s more of fairytales/newby types of ladybird books. Some Roald Dahl, lotsa non-fiction (think DK) books going at $8. Bought a few sticker books (pokemon, barbie) at $3 each. Assessment books (saw lotsa Longman for Sec schools) also.

Plenty of travel guides (about $5) - rough guide, DK guides. A fair amount of adult literature (I didn’t spend much time there).

Very crowded though their cashiers were more efficient than the ones at last booksale.

• chuaeilC Offline
              chuaeil

Yap, it's over. Next time got some more

i share lobang with you. Where d'ya stay?
              Your profile isn't updated yet, can't see any
              details about you and i oso din recall any intro
              upon your coming to KSP.
              Hi buds,
              sorry i just saw your reply post.
              erm... i cant remember did i intro myself. hehehe..... Do i need to intro in this case?

I am staying in the East. I try to update but din work leh.

Actually i was wordering, why my post got no respone one, trying to get some feedback on certain things but no respone one.

I go and update my profile again.

sleepy

i3mum:
                The Roald Dahl box set was selling for about $159 in popular. With 20% off it's still $127.20. if we get it from overseas, its about $60-$70 in all. So much worth it.
                Already bought from popular :stupid:

tamarind

Anyone wants to order the Mr Men complete collection ?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1405240474/ref=ord_cart_shr?_encoding=UTF8&m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

I am looking for people to share shipping charges. Total including shipping to your address is SGD 152.30. Please PM me if you are interested.

Starling

Hi…Back from the Penguin warehouse sale at Expo. Lotsa of books & quite crowded. Bought some Sails Literacy range of books. Colourful & bright pictures, only 5 for $10.

There are also assessment books for primary school children.

I have also seen Ladybird series but can’t find any ‘Peter & Jane’ series.

foreverj

wow, never keep up with this thread earlier, didn't know so many parents shared about where they get cheap books!

anyway, just to share i bought the peter rabbit series (entire collection of 23 books) from amazon cos i can't find it in spore. exp man! meant it to be dd's xmas present, and something for her to treasure and keep for her own children as well for generations to come 🙂

i started with the peter rabbit book and oh what a lovely children's classic! :love:

in the meantime, i dun dare to spend more on books already. damn poor after this just go library and children's section of book stores and let her sit there and keep herself occupied. so far, she has no prob sitting there herself for one to two hours but of course in full view of our sight..

• E Offline
                        en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]I read quite a few series of them & \"The Witches\" was my Literature textbook in my sec school days too. I like them.. and remembered the 1st book I read was Charlie & teh Chocolate factory. I was mesmerized by the book & could imagine how the chocolate factory look like & how tasty the chocolate were! [/quote]
                        My kids like those too :love:

Anyway, seeking advise from fellow parents what other books that I can introduce to ds (next year he will be 9). He's done with Geronimo, Roald Dahl & Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Any great fictional author that I should look out for?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 85