Science Guide Books

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    2.4k Posts 179 Posters 902.7k Views 1 Watching
    • PiggyLalalaP Offline
      PiggyLalala

Contrary to the comments given in the forum, I find that the questions in ' nail those MCQs ' too straight forward. It tests you on basic concept and definition, not much on applications and thinking sums leh... :?

Champion

PiggyLalala:
        Contrary to the comments given in the forum, I find that the questions in ' nail those MCQs ' too straight forward. It tests you on basic concept and definition, not much on applications and thinking sums leh... :?

Hi!PiggyLalala,
        Care to share - You referring to the Lower Block or the Upper Block?
        http://i46.tinypic.com/v48fmu.jpg\">
        http://i48.tinypic.com/2vjdd7n.jpg\">

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
          PiggyLalala

I have both. Just now, ds and i were going through the questions in the upper block. Found that the questions are rather simple. I still prefer Janet sim chellenging science.

Champion

PiggyLalala:
            I have both. Just now, ds and i were going through the questions in the upper block. Found that the questions are rather simple. I still prefer Janet sim chellenging science.

:thankyou: piggylala for your sharing; appreciates.

So, you prefer the following:-
            http://i48.tinypic.com/denvx2.jpg\">

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
              PiggyLalala

Using the lower block for the challenging science. Have not bought the upper block. Maybe others can share their views on these 2 books too πŸ™‚

• bestwishesB Offline
                bestwishes

PiggyLalala:
                Using the lower block for the challenging science. Have not bought the upper block. Maybe others can share their views on these 2 books too πŸ™‚

Qns in Challenging exam papers are more challenging than those in Challenging sc. Both series are written by Janet. Good to do challenging sc bef proceed to Challenging Exam Papers.

• bestwishesB Offline
                  bestwishes

Do note that most answers in school exam papers (those photostat copies) selling outside are not reliable.

Thanks happy h, I will take a closer look at this book then.

Yes, you wont regret for this book. Cheers.

FYI: The upper block Challenging Exam Papers by Janet is very worth buying too.[/quote]
                  thanks!
                  need to contemplate if i should get this or Past year papers as son is definitely not going to have time to do both. πŸ˜“[/quote]

BeContented

Just to share my experience.

DS has all along been pretty independent in his studies so I hardly check his work. His Science from 80s (P3) >> 70s (P4), so I started him with Sci tuition in P5....he maintained 80s (P5&P6). Tho I gave him assessment & top sch exam papers, I haven't been diligently marking them. :oops:
                    I was blissfully ignorant until Prelim #1&2, DS shocked me with 19/40 & ~22/40 in his OE. I looked thru' & realised he gave horrible answers. As I dun know the proper OE answering technique....I was lost!! Most of the time it was guesswork on my part based on whatever concept I can still remember, & we only do it verbally. Top sch exam papers answer keys were not helpful. It didn't help when DS would argue with me that his answers were sufficient.

Desperate, I bought Janet Sim's Upper Block Challenging Exam Papers just ~1 week b4 PSLE 2012 Sci paper. :oops: Based on the BOLD keywords and the marks allocation, got DS to try out the OE and explained to him based on the answer key. With that book, DS was more receptive. πŸ˜“ We tried a few top sch papers and he seemed to fare better as he started to elaborate/give reason on his answers. (I hope lah)

It was last minute on my part :oops: :stupid: :gloomy: but I guess, can't be helped liao. Just hope for the best for his PSLE.

If you can teach, by all means go by whichever method/book/papers.
                    For me, actually I had some other guide books but they were without the bold keywords and marks allocation, so I was still lost. However, with Janet's answer key, I believed it helped me. At least now I think I can tackle & interpret the various answer-key better πŸ™‚

nanogirl

BeContented:
                      Just to share my experience.

DS has all along been pretty independent in his studies so I hardly check his work. His Science from 80s (P3) >> 70s (P4), so I started him with Sci tuition in P5....he maintained 80s (P5&P6). Tho I gave him assessment & top sch exam papers, I haven't been diligently marking them. :oops:
                      I was blissfully ignorant until Prelim #1&2, DS shocked me with 19/40 & ~22/40 in his OE. I looked thru' & realised he gave horrible answers. As I dun know the proper OE answering technique....I was lost!! Most of the time it was guesswork on my part based on whatever concept I can still remember, & we only do it verbally. Top sch exam papers answer keys were not helpful. It didn't help when DS would argue with me that his answers were sufficient.

Desperate, I bought Janet Sim's Upper Block Challenging Exam Papers just ~1 week b4 PSLE 2012 Sci paper. :oops: Based on the BOLD keywords and the marks allocation, got DS to try out the OE and explained to him based on the answer key. With that book, DS was more receptive. πŸ˜“ We tried a few top sch papers and he seemed to fare better as he started to elaborate/give reason on his answers. (I hope lah)

It was last minute on my part :oops: :stupid: :gloomy: but I guess, can't be helped liao. Just hope for the best for his PSLE.

If you can teach, by all means go by whichever method/book/papers.
                      For me, actually I had some other guide books but they were without the bold keywords and marks allocation, so I was still lost. However, with Janet's answer key, I believed it helped me. At least now I think I can tackle & interpret the various answer-key better πŸ™‚
                      wow :yikes: seems like this is a η₯žε₯‡δΉ¦!!! Must get for PSLE science

verykiasumummy

pardon me for saying this… i also have full set of upper and lower sci by janet. i find her answers for hypothesis questions doesnt sound right… anyone has the same thought?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 224 / 236