PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?

525 Posts 50 Posters 114.0k Views 1 Watching
      verykiasumummy

I suppose we have to constantly remind ourselves to post responsibly in our sharing. Then we should be fine.

that'll be so boring....

Everyone says everything that is politically correct..

true to a certain extent..

pirate

Imami:
        3Boys, or anyone for the matter, do you know if personal blogs are considered \"public\"?

i re-read your post and I believe I didn’t catch what you are saying earlier. Your point is “FB” is public but most people think that FB is their private life. So I am wondering how about personal blog which is available for all to view?
        If people can read it, it is :rahrah: public :rahrah: .

Where's my flashing neon sign tag?

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

If we cannot tolerate what that Sun fella posted we should not tolerate what she posted too right?

verykiasumummy

Imami:
            But erm…. I believe we should be responsible for what we post on the internet even though it is a faceless society. Some may even describe that as a anonymous society. I want to be the same person as I truly am, on the street, at home or in the cyberspace.

u are still who u are... many of us here are... just that being responsible can be a little different in terms of individual perspective...

some find that they are being responsible if whatever they say is the truth, so long as didnt reveal names.. some find that u must only say what u experience, not to quote friends' experiences.. some find that it is ok to publicly make announcements that are just hearsay...

whether who is right, it depends... but i'm just particularly disturbed about reading some posts that say that we can be tracked down by ppl, by all those info that we share in forum... like what sch our dc, how old, live which area... i mean.. i dunno why they want to know??

Daddy D

Hope our future is not going to be zero tolerance to everything...

:yikes: :faint:

limlim

Imami:
                3Boys, or anyone for the matter, do you know if personal blogs are considered \"public\"?

i re-read your post and I believe I didn’t catch what you are saying earlier. Your point is “FB” is public but most people think that FB is their private life. My point was she is a public officer so she needs to adhere to the prescribed code of conduct, doesnt matter where/what. So I am wondering how about personal blog which is available for all to view?
                Public means publicly accessible.

The fact the one makes it public and one posts something \"for all to see\", means one wants to be heard.

She wants to be heard. Pple heard it.. and some pple do not like what they heard (or read).. as simple as that.

Whether she shd be made responsible for what she said.. that's another issue.

I believe the company expects her to conduct herself in a way that is not detrimental to the public image of the company she works it, even if it is in private capacity during non-working hours (i.e. private activities, like FB)..

So.. the company is justified to take action if they deem fit to do so.

limlim

Imami:
                  But erm…. I believe we should be responsible for what we post on the internet even though it is a faceless society. Some may even describe that as a anonymous society. I want to be the same person as I truly am, on the street, at home or in the cyberspace.

ya lor..

IRL sometimes need to put on a mask.. (e.g. don't like the person but pretend to like him very much)..

In cyberspace also need to put on a mask??????

That is so sick rite... just be yourself (one self) online lah..

verykiasumummy

Imami:

i re-read your post and I believe I didn’t catch what you are saying earlier. Your point is “FB” is public but most people think that FB is their private life. My point was she is a public officer so she needs to adhere to the prescribed code of conduct, doesnt matter where/what. So I am wondering how about personal blog which is available for all to view?

Public means publicly accessible.

The fact the one makes it public and one posts something \"for all to see\", means one wants to be heard.

She wants to be heard. Pple heard it.. and some pple do not like what they heard (or read).. as simple as that.

Whether she shd be made responsible for what she said.. that's another issue.

I believe the company expects her to conduct herself in a way that is not detrimental to the public image of the company she works it, even if it is in private capacity during non-working hours (i.e. private activities, like FB)..

So.. the company is justified to take action if they deem fit to do so.

most cases, or maybe all, of those that were taken actions against due to some fb postings, whether negative or not, is because what they have posted was soooo trueee...

that's why they dun want ppl to know... if what they post is not true, they wun even bother to take action...

Lilac66

This lady is doing exactly what I’m teaching my 11 year old not to do… posting racist comments. Whether it’s on fb or whatever, it’s still public. Did she just come back from another planet? Hasn’t she seen all the barrage of criticisms and the resentment towards such posters?

If she had shared that post behind a nick, it probably would not generate so much heat.But on her facebook, where people know her identity? What’s gone to her mind?. Firing her is to convince people that NTUC has never subscribed to such a notion.

mamago

Sorry, people, :offtopic: pardon me for asking, is NTUC a part of the government body? :?

(Huh? I am confused, thought NTUC is an workers' union and co-op, no? :scratchhead: )

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 41 / 53

BabyParisB
                        BabyParis