All About Life Without Maids
I am not sure which is worse - leaving old folks unattended or leaving young children unattended. In terms of safety, maybe leaving young children unattended is worse.
I was on my way home one day when I saw a maid chatting on the phone. Then I saw a toddler (I know this kid, he shd be around 2yo then) on his little tikes tricycle and he was paddling towards the car park! As I only knew the kid but not the maid or the mom, I was not sure if I shd just shout at the maid to get her attention. So I rushed to the toddler instead to stop him.
I brought the boy back to the void deck and was half deciding if I shd bring the boy up to his unit or if I shd wait and see if the maid was the boy's guardian.
:stupid: :stupid: aiyo.... Yes lor - the maid was his maid. If I didn't pass by at that time and stop the boy, I believed he would have continued into the car park! :nailbite:
The maid took over the kid from me and I asked her,\"which floor you stay?\" to make sure she was indeed with the kid. I didn't say anything else to her and made sure I raised this matter up the next I saw the father of the kid. -
I knew some of these maids and their employers as well. but I darenot even tell the employer. Some employers may say us ‘kay poh’ , ’ i don’t mind my maid chatts or picnic with her friends.'
I can’t let that matter go. It is just too dangerous. And it never occurred to me that the employers might find me too nosy.
The father was understanding. He thanked me for the feedback. A few days later, that family had a new helper. -
YEs… Most of the times i just stared at them to get message across… Like most of u… i m afraid some of the employers might deem us being too kaypoh… sigh… such a headache…
thus… better do without one… only problem is when i have night gatherings for wrk… n dh not avail… who to look after kids… -
Yup, that’s the down part lor… Usually I will try to bring my kid along. I am very thankful for friends who are understanding towards this and are able to interact with my kid.
Otherwise, I try to arrange outings during office hours (my friends and I would take leave from work to go out and have some happy hour) or during the time when my kid is having classes. -
Hi all, i am in a dilenma in sending my maid of 5 months back vto the agency. The mental stress she is causing me makes me more exhausted than working as a teacher.
Hubby did not object, but he doesn’t fancy doing housework, however he will help if need to.
Problem is my mum (who doesn’t stay with me but help to look after my kids when they come back from childcare) told me to think carefully, that if i really send her away, i will have to worry about housework n etc after work and weekends.
I am not fantastic in household chores, really afraid i am not disciplined to do housework. -
Well, worried_mum08, so many of us went maid less. Some of us like you, ftwm + 2 or more kids. Don’t worry too much but of cos, u need to plan. How did u cope before this maid came along?
Hi Imami, I coped with dirty house for first 5 yrs of marriage, until 2nd kid came along, i moved to a bigger house near my parents, and employed part time cleaner, until my husband feels that toilet is clean only 2 days… haizzz so we got a maid again
does anyone knows if there is maid for hire on weekdays from like 1.30pm to 5.30pm (prepare lunch for primary school children, clean the house, cook dinner)?
33mama:
does anyone knows if there is maid for hire on weekdays from like 1.30pm to 5.30pm (prepare lunch for primary school children, clean the house, cook dinner)?
I heard from one of the ksp here. There are some pinoy 陪读妈妈 who are PR and will do this. Bcos it fits into their schedule and they can earn a little. But I got no lobang la.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.