Teaching early --- am I too kiasu?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Brain Training & Thinking Skills
    27 Posts 10 Posters 20.6k Views 1 Watching
      auntieM

Interesting thread.. .. 😉

I started my DS on flashcards only when he was 14 months, he was quite interested..
      Then I got this crazy idea and started exposing him to different 'styles' of the mandarin language..
      :siao: But we are still at it and having fun..
      He is now able to differentiate mandarin from different countries.. I want to introduce him to reading Cantonese now .. a bit tough de.. 😄
      😉

• iggyI Offline
        iggy

Different styles of mandarin? I cant even get mine interested in one. If i flashed chinese cards she will look away or pick up the english ones.

BeContented

Wow. You mommies are serious. :rahrah:

I dun remember trying much flash cards with my 2 kids.
          If ever accident happen & I have #3, will definitely try harder. 😂

auntieM

iggy:
            Different styles of mandarin? I cant even get mine interested in one. If i flashed chinese cards she will look away or pick up the english ones.

I mean those from China, Taiwan and HK mainly.. 😂
            So far so good, at least he finds it fun..
            My DH has deals with these people, and his mandarin ... :oops: ,
            so I hope DS can handle with ease when his turn comes...kiasu hor :siao:

SarChar

SofiaWee:
              SarChar:

There are really many fun ways to teach our little ones and Flashcard is just 1 way.

I am very pro on flashcards. I do know some parents are not but I AM.

DD2 is 6 now. DD2 was 16 months when we started flashcards. Over the years, I made more than 2000 flashcards. I spent 4-5 hrs every Fri day for years to make those cards.

I didnt do the flashcards to impact knowledge and I flash the A5 size cards really FAST so that she can remember the images and to focus (on what I was showing her). I flashed 2X 200-300 cards each day. Each topic set 8-10 cards.

I did topics like Things in Pink, Let's go for Holidays (so I had pictures of luggage, Airport, Aeroplane, Australia Map, Koala, etc), DD2's Family (we have pictures of Grandparents, Uncles and cousins...finally a baby picture of her). Many topics but nothing too difficult.

It came 1 point that she would remember the next card because I only flash the cards in 1 order.

Today....she is very focused on whatever she is doing and has mega memory. Because it was easy for her to remember what her teachers had taught her, she learns Hanyu Pinyin and can read around 5yrs old. She also enjoys school very much and teachers have commented on her progress positively.

We were not as experienced with DD1 pri4/10 yrs old. It takes a lot of my energy to coach DD1 now on her schoolwork.

So you are not Kiasu to start early. You are only making her life easier later in her early school life.

Have fun !

SarChar:

You are simply amazing! 2x200-300 flash cards per day??!! I could hardly get my daughter to sit through a set of 5 cards. Like you, I'm pro flash cards, but like what autumnbronze mentioned above, my baby may not be quite as pro flash cards like me. I've a few questions:

(1)May I ask if you only flashed pictures? Or do you include written words as well?
              (2) How long does a set of 200-300 cards take you? Did you have to train your daughter gradually to sit through so many cards? How many cards did you start with for your initial sessions?
              (3) How did you get your daughter to focus on the cards? That means not looking anywhere else, not going anywhere else.

I think that the training (fast flashing of flash cards) you gave your younger daughter since young has made a big impact on her brain development --- and accounts for her ease of learning in school now. I'm definitely heartened to know that I'm not starting too early with my baby.

@autumnbronze thanks 🙂
              @SofiaWeeHeehee Amazing you said! I am amazed myself too. All my Friday nights for years after my girls went to bed were spent doing the cards! This was my passion!

(1)
              I used only picture cards. No words at all unless it is a word set. I google to find the pictures or cut them out from books/posters/magazine.
              I will paste photos of animals we took on zoo trip, for shapes, I cut shapes from different color papers and stick on the cards. I also pasted pictures on the card to tell stories etc.

Topics I have done before includes:
              a)\tDifferent types of shapes
              b)\tAnimals in the zoo
              c)\tA-Z, a-z
              d)\tTypes of Vegetables
              e)\tMummy’s favorite dresses
              f)\tGuess Who…..I cut pictures of her favorite characters like Barney, the 1st picture maybe the purple tail, 2nd picture, the word “Guess Who”, the 3rd picture, with a barney picture, we screamed “Barney” together….for this, I did a few common characters likely Micky, Minnie, Hello Kitty etc
              g)\tEarly Morning…I pasted pictures of sun, waking up from bed, brushing teeth, breakfast, school bus, school, study etc
              h)\tThings you can find in a mall…
              i)\tThings you can find in kitchen…
              j)\tEverything RED, Everything BLUE
              k)\tCountries in Asia/Europe – for this you can do the flags/map (shape of country). Or just the flags or just the countries.
              l)\tOpposite – long/short, far (a small Tree pic)/near (a big Tree pic) etc

(2) How long does a set of 200-300 cards take you? Did you have to train your daughter gradually to sit through so many cards? How many cards did you start with for your initial sessions?
              Remember we flash the cards to the kids for them to to capture the images, NOT to impact knowledge. You have to do very fast, so you must knows your cards well. Always flash in 1 order only. We usually do each session in 20-30min. I just did it all at 1 time regardless whether if she was attentive or not. Sometimes we would have a lousy night when she did not want to listen, its ok.

For the day, I trained my helper to do it. For the night, usually around 8pm…I would do it. Try to do the flashcards at the same timings every day. You need to have many cards in order to be effective. Otherwise it will be very boring for them. A5 size is the best size to use. Don’t get too thin cards because it will difficult to flash/hold.

(3) How did you get your daughter to focus on the cards? That means not looking anywhere else, not going anywhere else.
              Haha I was lucky. She was very focused after a few months. We did it every night from 16 months till 4 yrs 7 months. I told my hubby 1 night “I quit” …I was truly tired! By then she can read already so we move on to books and other activities.

Please dont do difficult cards. Pls use proper cards in the same size and a good crafty glue to stick the pictures. I had seen cards of flowers done by another mother but I cant even pronounce the words of these flowers! How to make it interesting for our kids!

Enjoy your friday nights! :rahrah:

SofiaWee

auntieM:
                Interesting thread.. .. 😉

I started my DS on flashcards only when he was 14 months, he was quite interested..
                Then I got this crazy idea and started exposing him to different 'styles' of the mandarin language..
                :siao: But we are still at it and having fun..
                He is now able to differentiate mandarin from different countries.. I want to introduce him to reading Cantonese now .. a bit tough de.. 😄
                😉
                auntieM: So you flashed both english and chinese cards? Generally chinese words come in twos, like ba ba (father), tai yang (sun). How do you ensure your child reads it in the right order? And how long did your DS take to pick up these Chinese phrases?

SofiaWee

SofiaWee:

[quote=\"autumnbronze\"]Hi SofiaWee,

5 cards is good enough. Take the cue from your kiddo. You can break up your teaching into segments of 5 mins everytime.

I have a 16 month old DS. My second child. He has his moods too. There are days he enjoys his picture word book or his flashcards. But most days he will just throw them on the floor whenever I take them out.

However, I discovered by chance that he likes sensorial and tactile type of learning. At the moment, he likes stacking. So I am teaching him the concept of small medium large and open and close cuz he likes to open and close the boxes.

For alphabets, I have a set of letters that comes in a box that I bought from
                  Ikea. Again, because he likes dumping things, I give him each letter and invite him to throw the letter into the box, which he will happily do so.

For numbers, I will start from the bottom if my block and walk up counting the stairs as I do so. When we arrive at each floor, I will point at the number plate indicating the floor and say the number eg 1,2,3 etc ... I do this even when we are in the lift.

As for colours, I let him hold the colour pencil, and as he scribbles some
                  stuff on the paper, I take the opportunity to teach him colours. You can use the traffic lights as a teaching tool too when you take your kiddo for a walk.

There are so many stuff you can teach in real time. For instance, without fail, every time we go out, my DS will check my ears to see if I am wearing my earrings and my watch. Same goes for my flip-flops. He cannot speak properly yet, but he indicates via pointing and making his own sounds. That
                  is more than enough for me.

Most times we start off with a fixed idea of how we want our kiddos to learn, perhaps via recommendation, based on experience with our other kiddos etc, but sometimes, the result may not be to our expectation. Or we reach a stalemate due to a myriad of reasons. Anyway, what I am trying to
                  say is that we need to observe what kind of learning methods our kiddos
                  enjoy and work around them. Don't get too bothered about how short their attention span is. The fundamental rule is to make learning fun for them.

Enjoy your motherhood journey :hugs:

Hope this helps 😄

Autumnbronze: Hmmm... you've set me thinking. I haven't yet discovered if
                  my daughter prefers a different mode of learning to flash cards (which I'm
                  thinking is a more passive form of learning and more visual-dependent). If I should try a more sensory method, my challenge would be to find a way
                  to incorporate the written form of language (like words). I might just start sticking huge stickers (with numbers and words written on them) on the stairs and things at home. 🙂

Hi SofiaWee,

Hey, that's what this forum is all about, sharing and learning from one another. If you do succeed in the use of flash cards, please share.

The younger one would focus intently when I started flashing at about 6 months. He picked up most of the alphabets from there. However, at around 9 months or so, he just started throwing them on the floor. Perhaps he was going through a phase, but I didn't want to wait around, so started observing and realized that he was a pretty curious child and was very keen in touching and feeling. Hence, the adjustment in his learning process.

My elder one, on the other hand, was totally averse to flashcards. So I stuck the word flashcards as labels all over the flat. And I had to improvise the other stuff. But he was very into puzzles and started on that at 1 and a half, doing puzzles that were meant for three years. At 2 and a half, I enrolled him for art class, which I believe allowed him to visualize concepts/ideas pretty well. He has a photographic memory too and is able to focus relatively well for a 5 year old boy.

My 2 cents here - if you treat the learning journey as not a chore but a fun activity, your kiddo will pick up the positive vibes and enjoy the process. Get them to participate in your everyday routine. For instance, the younger one actually directs me how to make my coffee using the Nespresso machine by pointing out the items I need (he cannot speak as yet). This is only cuz my DH, every morning, without fail, would carry him and go through the steps with him while making his own coffee 😄 we allow
                  him to slot the capsule into the machine, thus working on his fine motor skills and press the button too.

To many, this (real time) may not be a systematic method of learning, ie not according to themes/ categories etc .... but children being children, in their own way, will somehow work out the connections. Don't underestimate their abilities :love:

😄 😄[/quote]Autumnbronze:

Oh, I do almost the same thing with my DD, when it comes to making morning coffee. I let her smell the coffee bag, place it in my cup, stir the coffee, and even taste the condensed milk that I add in my coffee. She loves the entire process.

Can you share how you discovered that your elder son has photographic memory? Did the art lessons for your elder boy actually help him in developing a photographc memory, you think?

SofiaWee

SarChar:
                    SofiaWee:

[quote=\"SarChar\"]There are really many fun ways to teach our little ones and Flashcard is just 1 way.

I am very pro on flashcards. I do know some parents are not but I AM.

DD2 is 6 now. DD2 was 16 months when we started flashcards. Over the years, I made more than 2000 flashcards. I spent 4-5 hrs every Fri day for years to make those cards.

I didnt do the flashcards to impact knowledge and I flash the A5 size cards really FAST so that she can remember the images and to focus (on what I was showing her). I flashed 2X 200-300 cards each day. Each topic set 8-10 cards.

I did topics like Things in Pink, Let's go for Holidays (so I had pictures of luggage, Airport, Aeroplane, Australia Map, Koala, etc), DD2's Family (we have pictures of Grandparents, Uncles and cousins...finally a baby picture of her). Many topics but nothing too difficult.

It came 1 point that she would remember the next card because I only flash the cards in 1 order.

Today....she is very focused on whatever she is doing and has mega memory. Because it was easy for her to remember what her teachers had taught her, she learns Hanyu Pinyin and can read around 5yrs old. She also enjoys school very much and teachers have commented on her progress positively.

We were not as experienced with DD1 pri4/10 yrs old. It takes a lot of my energy to coach DD1 now on her schoolwork.

So you are not Kiasu to start early. You are only making her life easier later in her early school life.

Have fun !

SarChar:

You are simply amazing! 2x200-300 flash cards per day??!! I could hardly get my daughter to sit through a set of 5 cards. Like you, I'm pro flash cards, but like what autumnbronze mentioned above, my baby may not be quite as pro flash cards like me. I've a few questions:

(1)May I ask if you only flashed pictures? Or do you include written words as well?

I think that the training (fast flashing of flash cards) you gave your younger daughter since young has made a big impact on her brain development --- and accounts for her ease of learning in school now. I'm definitely heartened to know that I'm not starting too early with my baby.

@autumnbronze thanks 🙂
                    @SofiaWeeHeehee Amazing you said! I am amazed myself too. All my Friday nights for years after my girls went to bed were spent doing the cards! This was my passion!

(1)
                    I used only picture cards. No words at all unless it is a word set. I google to find the pictures or cut them out from books/posters/magazine.
                    I will paste photos of animals we took on zoo trip, for shapes, I cut shapes from different color papers and stick on the cards. I also pasted pictures on the card to tell stories etc.

Topics I have done before includes:
                    a)\tDifferent types of shapes
                    b)\tAnimals in the zoo
                    c)\tA-Z, a-z
                    d)\tTypes of Vegetables
                    e)\tMummy’s favorite dresses
                    f)\tGuess Who…..I cut pictures of her favorite characters like Barney, the 1st picture maybe the purple tail, 2nd picture, the word “Guess Who”, the 3rd picture, with a barney picture, we screamed “Barney” together….for this, I did a few common characters likely Micky, Minnie, Hello Kitty etc
                    g)\tEarly Morning…I pasted pictures of sun, waking up from bed, brushing teeth, breakfast, school bus, school, study etc
                    h)\tThings you can find in a mall…
                    i)\tThings you can find in kitchen…
                    j)\tEverything RED, Everything BLUE
                    k)\tCountries in Asia/Europe – for this you can do the flags/map (shape of country). Or just the flags or just the countries.
                    l)\tOpposite – long/short, far (a small Tree pic)/near (a big Tree pic) etc

Remember we flash the cards to the kids for them to to capture the images, NOT to impact knowledge. You have to do very fast, so you must knows your cards well. Always flash in 1 order only. We usually do each session in 20-30min. I just did it all at 1 time regardless whether if she was attentive or not. Sometimes we would have a lousy night when she did not want to listen, its ok.

For the day, I trained my helper to do it. For the night, usually around 8pm…I would do it. Try to do the flashcards at the same timings every day. You need to have many cards in order to be effective. Otherwise it will be very boring for them. A5 size is the best size to use. Don’t get too thin cards because it will difficult to flash/hold.

Haha I was lucky. She was very focused after a few months. We did it every night from 16 months till 4 yrs 7 months. I told my hubby 1 night “I quit” …I was truly tired! By then she can read already so we move on to books and other activities.

Please dont do difficult cards. Pls use proper cards in the same size and a good crafty glue to stick the pictures. I had seen cards of flowers done by another mother but I cant even pronounce the words of these flowers! How to make it interesting for our kids!

Enjoy your friday nights! :rahrah:[/quote]Sarchar:
                    You make me feel ashamed of the way I spend my Friday nights: I usually just go shopping with DD :). It relaxes me and she enjoys the sights.

I truly take my heart off to you for your dedication and persistence. I believe children's ealy years are a crucial time period. When consistently stimulated, children will be able to achieve their maximum potential, and this advantage will carry over to their later schooling years. That's why I'm exploring many different ways to teach her.

Thank you so much for sharing your method. You've given me ideas on how else I can prepare my flash cards. I only hope that my DD's attention span will increase with the passing months.

auntieM

Hi SofiaWee,

We didn't do much Chinese Flashcards at all.. ...
                      I use all the exposure I can get from daily lives.. .. 😄

autumnbronze

Hi SofiaWee,

Just saw your question to me. Let me gather my thoughts and I will reply to you. I believe it's a combination of various factors 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3

SmartlabEducationCentreS
                        SmartlabEducationCentre
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo