Secondary School Selection 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    770 Posts 168 Posters 194.9k Views 1 Watching
    • Coolkidsrock2C Offline
      Coolkidsrock2

mummy so kiasu:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Kids applying for DSA have to go for interview or sit for selection test, not just base on their P5 & P6 SA1 results. School standards may vary. I have a friend whose son was in the top 10% of his neighbourhood primary school & his PSLE T score was only 22+. Whereas, NYPS top 30% (including GEP) is national top 10%.

This is very true and sometimes the stress in neighbourhood schools is even higher as the percentage of students in the national top 10% can be single digit. There is a lot of pressure to be the top few students there whereas the top 30%-40% in a brand name school is national top 10% so being average is fine. There is still plenty of buffer. The last student in a brand name school can still be scoring higher than the top student in a neighbourhood school.

Thankfully for exam papers being made commercially available, otherwise it is very difficult to even know how high the bar is.

Chenonceau

mummy so kiasu:

Kids applying for DSA have to go for interview or sit for selection test, not just base on their P5 & P6 SA1 results. School standards may vary. I have a friend whose son was in the top 10% of his neighbourhood primary school & his PSLE T score was only 22+. Whereas, NYPS top 30% (including GEP) is national top 10%.
        Oh dear!! Really?

Chenonceau

Coolkidsrock2:
          Thankfully for exam papers being made commercially available, otherwise it is very difficult to even know how high the bar is.

:goodpost:

anneshirleygilbert

Hi everyone,

My daughter brought home the Choosing Sec Sch Book yesterday. It’s the grey one. I think most of you would probably have seen your children’s.

I have a question as I’m not familiar with the system here. Would she stand a good chance of getting her second choice if she doesn’t get her first choice? I mean, would all the first choice applicants get preference over those who put the same school as their second choice? even if her score is higher than those who had chosen that school as their first choice?

I realize there must be some strategy even in the choosing of schools… I’ve heard of cases where students, even relatively good students end up with Choice 6, simply because they were ill-informed. Any advice would be appreciated.

TIA
            Anne

• MMMM Offline
              MMM

mummy so kiasu:
              Don't be too stress. Just try your best & no harm trying even you miss by a little. Just submit your application & hope for the best. You can apply for a few schools to increase your chance. All the best to your child's DSA next year!

Thanks for the encouragement and comforting words.

hshs:

Collected the 2013 sec schools listing yest.

Hubby used Excel to map out the schools starting from the lowest. We striked out all girls' schools and schools which are too far. Son is :nailbite: when he saw the COP of the entry levels of schools he is aiming for. Then I explained to him why his father & I were so stressed back then...but didn't want to add more pressure earlier.

Hi Janet, wd u b able to share the excel spreadsheet here so that it will benefit others as well. Thank u.

Could you PM me your email add again? Sorry, deleted by mistake.

Janet,

Can you share why you opt for sji over your son’s preferred acs? Thanks. Can pm me if not convenient to share here.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

Son hoping for ACS I...I am looking at SJI.
                    Wah, acsi...so yr son is not as jailat as u portray hor.

BeContented

mummy so kiasu:

Kids applying for DSA have to go for interview or sit for selection test, not just base on their P5 & P6 SA1 results. School standards may vary. I have a friend whose son was in the top 10% of his neighbourhood primary school & his PSLE T score was only 22+. Whereas, NYPS top 30% (including GEP) is national top 10%.

Oh dear!! Really?

Thot your DS also in neighborhood school? Isn't this typical of the neighborhood school? I guess just like not all good schools are the same, some neighborhood schools are not as neighborhood.

For those who are not aware, dun get shocked.
                      In DS school, >50% DO NOt get to express stream. Less than 10 students in whole P6 cohort score >250 ie. only top 3% vs good school 30-40%. So it's true, top 10% in real neighborhood school is 22x -25x (usually only 1-3 students above 26x). Top/first class range is 21x onwards....... :sad: sad but that's the reality.

Chenonceau

anneshirleygilbert:
                        Hi everyone,

My daughter brought home the Choosing Sec Sch Book yesterday. It's the grey one. I think most of you would probably have seen your children's.

I have a question as I'm not familiar with the system here. Would she stand a good chance of getting her second choice if she doesn't get her first choice? I mean, would all the first choice applicants get preference over those who put the same school as their second choice? even if her score is higher than those who had chosen that school as their first choice?

I realize there must be some strategy even in the choosing of schools... I've heard of cases where students, even relatively good students end up with Choice 6, simply because they were ill-informed. Any advice would be appreciated.

TIA
                        Anne
                        Hi Anne... I have not had time to look at the book yet, but when I do and have a strategy, I''ll share here. Wait a bit.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 31 / 77