GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.3k Posts 191 Posters 377.8k Views 1 Watching
      jershejos

Freshmint:

Thanks for making me feel young.
      :rahrah:

Lilac66

If life revolved around being a top student and studies and tuition, wouldn't that be really sad and uni-dimensional?

my sentiments totally!! What kind of fond childhood memories will the kids have when they reach adulthood. Will it be one that is filled only with tight schedules of tuition and non-stop mugging?
        I'm thankful for a childhood that was colourful, filled with lots of fun and laughter. ๐Ÿ•บ

Chopchop

I guess we r all here in this forum for the same purpose! Especially for me, GEP is new to me n my whole family! We have the slightest knowledge of what it entails until my DD got thru the round one...only now did I try to find out more jus in case she got selected.

I hv learnt so much these few days that my DH sees me as a GEP expert now...haha. Thanks to all for sharing your candid views. :lovesite:

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

Lock:

[quote=\"Lock\"]So, what wld be the choice?

To go to GEP (if selected) but hv to fall back on tuition to remain in 85-90% std or remain in mainstream where there's no need to hv tuition and still can achieve 85-90% in mainstream.

I think this is a false choice.

Would like to hear you opinion. Pls elaborate :)[/quote]You've made sound like its black and white, GEP means tuition to remain at 85%, mainstream dun need tuition to be at 85%. If GEP with tuition will only maintain at 70%, then how? If mainstream can maintain at 95% in P4, then how?

How do you know this will be anything resembling reality? Your child will be different from any other child, the teachers will be different, the approach will be different, P4-P6 is different from P3. Which is why I say if you are making a decision on this basis, then it is a false choice, 'coz you have no means of knowing if this is even anything resembling reality.

There is such a thing called 'overplanning'.

Anyhow, GEP holds little significance for me, so I ain't gonna fan flames in this thread anymore.

keroppi

Freshmint:
              jershejos:

GEP in Singapore is an academic program, from my point of view, is a program that throw the kids into reality much earlier as they needs to do things at high ability, high speed, independently as well as cohesively as a group.

I would think a kid with very strong character will be able to survive better than the norm kids nowadays that depends a lot on parents/tutors.

I do share you view on the first para.

However, I have yet to hear of a high performing GEPper who has no enrichments/tuitions or parental help. Can anyone shed some light?

My DS has little parental help (actually he doesn't want our involvement at all) but he has Chinese tuition throughout his 3 years in GEP (started from P1). He loves SS, so it was great he could study that subject indepth.

My DS is not a high performing GEPer (otherwise you will see him in the newspapers for PSLE), but he continued to score 90s to full marks for both maths & science (from P4-6). No tuition in these 2 subjects, not even parental guidance coz he knows much more & is more well-read in those subjects than I do. If the teacher marks him wrong for questions he thinks is ambiguously phrased, he can go and argue his case and get back his lost marks :slapshead: .

His languages are not stellar. It was obvious that he is not a language person. Too expect him to do well in all subjects is unrealistic so I cut him some slack. Chinese tuition, he has always had (I kiasu lah, this tuition is to ensure Chinese does not pull down his aggregate score). For English, he was on his own. He reads a lot but the results do not always reflect that. But I saw his English improved by leaps and bounds over the years - I think I saw the most dramatic improvement in P6, when he got a super duper English teacher. It was through this that I realised getting a dedicated teacher makes a whole world of difference to a child.

My DS is fiercely independent and knows that he wants to take up the challenge at P3 though at the time I was still doubtful if he is of GE calibre (he does not rank among the top in cohort and also not the hardworking type). So to me, 9 yo isn't too young to make a decision, esp if they are mature (that's why they have to sign that MOE paper to show their commitment). In retrospect, I think that if they can make the cut, we parents don't have to worry too much. I would say my DS' GEP journey was a smooth sailing one.

janice_0950

Oh finally GEP had over!

DS was told that Maths paper was tough and GA II as easy as GAI. DS was felt so upset and telling me that his wish seemed gone.........:( Hmmm
                I was telling him that he is the best, least he went thru 1st round. Isn't? Let's us give our little ones a \"Thumbs Up\". Yeah!

\"Kids, you are the best\"!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

In the earlier thread someone have mentioned GEP more in \"High IQ Test\". Yes, I really agreed.

Oh regarding prep GEP. My personal think not so healthy to prepare not mean tt my DS are super good. Why need to drill, studies and stress? If really kid been select as GEP mean in the furture kids have to keep drill and tuition in the future? Well, unless he or she is a genius? Sorry, to said is not apply on my DS. LOL!

I believed our kids had alrdy done their best. Why not, we just let this tough task hang over to God's. And now, is god's duties to headache. hahaha!
                It is easy to said. LOL!

our littles ones are gifted by God's. God's may have plan and always the best for them. No one knows what will be in the future.

today, 1st day school reopened and last day of the school as well. hahaha!
                Weekends soon! Prepartion for SA2. Isn't?
                Oh maybe some schools their SA2 alrdy over but unfortunately not apply on my DS. hahaha!

pokemon

Fresco:
                  I think the word 'gifted' is not an appropriate word to use for this so-called GEP. This word has definitely been blown out of proportions by most people since this programme has been implemented. Throughout the years it has added on unnecessary stress and anxieties to parents and students alike. If the child has much higher abilities in learning compared to the regular students, then he/she will make the cut for the programme and should be able to cope given his/her capabilities. MOE will not put them through what they cannot attain or endure. If that is so, then what's the purpose of the GEP programme. Those who struggle are the ones who do not really have the cut for GEP but somehow get selected due to various reasons like going for GEP prep classes whereby you are given a headstart to advance learning or the child has done unexpectedly well for the selection test by mere guess works.

Anyway only 500 children will be selected, so the remaining 2500 children or so may be spared the 'agony' and 'uncertainties' of going through the GEP, and taking the route less travelled in the course of their education.

If your child has the cut for the GEP, by all means accept it as he /she will be a much happier child because they are created uniquely with special talents and will certainly rise up to the challenges of the GEP. It is simply because they have the capacity for greater things in life.
                  Im not sure what are being taught or at what level they are teaching to the gep kids n etc...oni know they are very busy with project, alot of work, standard are high and other general scary info :yikes: . So, its like stepping into an unknown dark world...base on what to judge if my kid is suitable for gep pgm? To me, he is like a normal kid to me. :? It will be a dilemma for me if he gt selected.

Flowermonaster

I would say go for GEP if selected provided your child is willing to take up the challenge. Donโ€™t worry about tuition, he/she might not need it to achieve 80%.

pokemon

Lock:
                      So, what wld be the choice?

To go to GEP (if selected) but hv to fall back on tuition to remain in 85-90% std or remain in mainstream where there's no need to hv tuition and still can achieve 85-90% in mainstream.
                      Dats my sentiment too!

Lilac66

FireflyMom:
                        Lilac66:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]If life revolved around being a top student and studies and tuition, wouldn't that be really sad and uni-dimensional?

my sentiments totally!! What kind of fond childhood memories will the kids have when they reach adulthood. Will it be one that is filled only with tight schedules of tuition and non-stop mugging?
                        I'm thankful for a childhood that was colourful, filled with lots of fun and laughter. ๐Ÿ•บ

What if my kid enjoyed having enrichment? Do I then force her to play so that IMO and in my own terms, she can have a fun childhood?
                        [/quote]No. In everything there are exceptions... If your child enjoys enrichment, then why not? In this case,her idea of fun childhood memories will be when she gets to learn much more in-depth things that interest her. Stuff that she probably will not get to learn in school.
                        I'm sure there are children like that. Their parents will probably need to do less when they're older as these kids already have that innate interest for acquiring more knowledge.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 57 / 129