At what age should you start to prepare for PSLE

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    67 Posts 17 Posters 82.0k Views 1 Watching
      verykiasumummy

At P5 especially, Science (everything taught from P3) is tested at CA1, SA1 and SA2.

Handling P5 work is tough enough at P5...it's really hard to teach ahead.
      absolutely agree.... only thing to do is to teach them during the holidays... so that they will not be tied down with hw...

Most kids/parents struggle in the dark tunnel at P5, what childhood is there to talk about? I do wish P5 wasn’t so tough, but it is. I am repeating this again, teach the level and test that level, not more than that.

BeContented

verykiasumummy:
          BeContented:

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]BeContented,

Does it mean, your dd's school, in P5 is already teaching P6 work?

I do not know if all subjects, cos my kids take care of their own studies. But it was in P4, I saw them doing some P5 EL & CL worksheet. So far, for Maths, verbally when I ask DD, she will 'aiyoh' me & tell me its P6 topic & they are not taught yet.

becontented, ur dd must be in some top sch.... they r really ks... i dun think neighbourhood sch will do that... p4 doing p6... :yikes: :yikes:[/quote]U read wrongly liao. 😉
          P4 do P5.

If do P6, think I will protest. 😄
          I am ok to let kids be stretched, cos my theory to my kids ---
          If you can't do in advance, I can understand & let go. No issue cos can do is bonus. BUT they better be able to handle what is expected at their current level. That I would think is a fair deal & my kids agree with me. So that's their committment 😄

SAHM_TAN

BeContended,

For Chinese in P4, were you required by school to buy P5 textbk?

BeContented

BeContended,

For Chinese in P4, were you required by school to buy P5 textbk?
              No. But I think some assessment books perhaps (can't remember which subject) but tend to be purchased in 2nd half. Also, think its selective - may not do everything. Dun know / yet to teach -- how to do worrrr....

I think our kids are stretched as it is, at their level…consistency is necessary on daily basis…to maintain and understand what is taught in class. I never teach ahead, preferring to be on back end…finding out what kids have been taught and then revise. This way, there is no conflict.

verykiasumummy

BeContented:
                  verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"BeContented\"]
                  I do not know if all subjects, cos my kids take care of their own studies. But it was in P4, I saw them doing some P5 EL & CL worksheet. So far, for Maths, verbally when I ask DD, she will 'aiyoh' me & tell me its P6 topic & they are not taught yet.

becontented, ur dd must be in some top sch.... they r really ks... i dun think neighbourhood sch will do that... p4 doing p6... :yikes: :yikes:

U read wrongly liao. 😉
                  P4 do P5.

If do P6, think I will protest. 😄
                  I am ok to let kids be stretched, cos my theory to my kids ---
                  If you can't do in advance, I can understand & let go. No issue cos can do is bonus. BUT they better be able to handle what is expected at their current level. That I would think is a fair deal & my kids agree with me. So that's their committment 😄[/quote]opps.... i thought ur sch so ks leh...

its always nice to hv kids that abide by ur theory... i'm fine with mine too... that is if ever the rebellious self will never appear... :xedfingers: :xedfingers:

verykiasumummy

I think our kids are stretched as it is, at their level...consistency is necessary on daily basis...to maintain and understand what is taught in class. I never teach ahead, preferring to be on back end...finding out what kids have been taught and then revise. This way, there is no conflict.

u handle ur kids well.... :rahrah: :rahrah:

I feel that my kids will be yaya payaya if they are taught in advance…so I don’t teach them before teacher does. This way, they have to listen.

Hubby and I out of touch…so better not teach them wrong thing or else hard to undo. He believes in algebra. But PSLE math is not so straightforward.

verykiasumummy

I feel that my kids will be yaya payaya if they are taught in advance...so I don't teach them before teacher does. This way, they have to listen.

Hubby and I out of touch...so better not teach them wrong thing or else hard to undo. He believes in algebra. But PSLE math is not so straightforward.
                        quite true though... there's always pros and cons to every solution...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 7

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring