Club 2002 Kids
CNS:
I kinda agree with you about the 'breezing thru'. As a student, I kinda 'breeze thru' my CL through to O levels, leaving me with more time to tackle other subjects. Unfortunately, I can't say the same of my dd's Chinese. However, I am mindful of her thoughts and does not want to come across as unsupportive. Whether she goes to a SAP school or not is not important to me. Am I 'depriving' her of opportunities if I dun support her?I would like to share my thoughts to this.
PSLE is based on the 4 core subjects. IMHO, HCL should only be considered if your child is currently breezing thru Chinese. I would not think is logical or good bet to \"insist\" on HCL if the child is already not too strong in Chinese now as time should be allocate to the 4 core which is making up the T-score. The next question is, how would you consider breezing thru ? Again, you need to ask yourself if your child needs preparation in order to do well in Chinese now ? If, without preparation, she is still scoring well, i would deem as she has a natural flair for language, and would encourage you to go ahead.
To my knowledge, P5 HCL has more compre open-ended than the normal. This is a section which most kids are struggling now. We would really have to think hard though..
Now, how do I 'discourage' her diplomatically :scratchhead: -
For my ds sch, you need to have a high B2 but they did not specify how high lol.
Btw what are the marks for merit and distinction? For my ds, he will be happy to know there is no oral but the compo & compre are enough to kill him liao lol. -
next year P5 CL has 2x compre OE. :faint:[/quote] :nailbite: :nailbite: :nailbite:
Good morning to Club 2002 and CNS,711mum:
[quote=\"CNS\"]
To my knowledge, P5 HCL has more compre open-ended than the normal. This is a section which most kids are struggling now. We would really have to think hard though..
:shock: with more compre open-ended than the normal, think DD will :siam: -
bebebub:
Sorry, I can't figure this one out. I am under the impression that PSLE HCL paper only consist of 2 OE compre, 1 compo n 1 short story/letter/memo sort of writing. No oral or other components. Or hv I misunderstood? :oops:[/quote]i mean HCL has no oral. students who did not as well in CL than HCL may be those reserved/introvet type and got their CL performance dragged down by CL's oral component while still doing very well in HCL that does not have Oral component.
yes. i read from last year right here too...students getting A only for CL but Distinction for HMT. maybe it is the ORal component?jedamum:
[quote=\"j.a.m.\"]
Anyway, I hear of many cases of students doing better in HMT than CL for their PSLE, so go figure. -
i mean HCL has no oral. students who did not as well in CL than HCL may be those reserved/introvet type and got their CL performance dragged down by CL's oral component while still doing very well in HCL that does not have Oral component.[/quote]Oh, I see. Sorry that I misunderstood u. Thanks.
Sorry, I can't figure this one out. I am under the impression that PSLE HCL paper only consist of 2 OE compre, 1 compo n 1 short story/letter/memo sort of writing. No oral or other components. Or hv I misunderstood? :oops:bebebub:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]
yes. i read from last year right here too...students getting A only for CL but Distinction for HMT. maybe it is the ORal component? -
lol. i remembered during my ds1's P1 PTM meeting, there was this mum reprimanding her dd (seated, waiting for her turn) - her dd's exam papers, last blank page has a fully drawn underwater castle, mermaids etc, very creative. the mummy scolded her girl why she spent the time drawing instead of checking her work.j.a.m.:
Ha ha ha, quite true... then hor, it depends on who is the previous owner. My dd also has some hand-me-downs from a boy 1 year older. His books have scrawling scribblings in the first few pages and then totally blank except for occasional doodlings for the rest of the book, so still pretty 'new'
. When I happen to glance through them in term 3, my dd had added her own doodlings. I see this cloud-like creature with circular hands and feet skipping rope, leaping gleefully across the pages or moping sadly at a corner... :gloomy:
I wonder whether she was listening while the teachers were talking... :slapshead:
i think my ds2 next time may also be like that. 
Would love to have a peek at that underwater world!
Anyway, my dd doesn't just constrain her doodling to her textbooks, she peppers her test papers with her cloud creature too. They would be looking happy, sad, excited, sleepy, reading, eating... Luckily her teachers just take it into their stride. I would duly admire them and then told her, I admire her good grades more
As for ds2... :scared:
:nailbite:
i mean HCL has no oral. students who did not as well in CL than HCL may be those reserved/introvet type and got their CL performance dragged down by CL's oral component while still doing very well in HCL that does not have Oral component.[/quote]My sentiments exactly :hi5:
Sorry, I can't figure this one out. I am under the impression that PSLE HCL paper only consist of 2 OE compre, 1 compo n 1 short story/letter/memo sort of writing. No oral or other components. Or hv I misunderstood? :oops:bebebub:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]
yes. i read from last year right here too...students getting A only for CL but Distinction for HMT. maybe it is the ORal component?
Why I know? Cos my dd's orals bombs big time!
DD told me her teacher told the class today that in order to qualify for HCL, all subjects must be Band 1 as the school does not want the students to focus too much on Chinese and end up neglecting the other subjects.
Just my two cents worth of thought on HCL:-
1. HCL testing format is different from CL. No oral, one compo, 40% and main paper 60%
2. The HCL’s tests student’s ability to differentiate 多音字和像形字;that requires student to have wider vocab and deeper understanding.
3. The comprehension in HCL is much harder comparing to CL. The lift-up from passage is discouraged, instead, the student is encouraged to use own language. There are normally have two 你认为,如果你是… such questions.
Having said above difference, learning of HCL will definitely boost the learning of CL. If a child is okay with normal Chinese, learning HCL will expose him/her more usage of language, which I always feel our children are lack of.
The only thing, to prepare HCL and CL for PSLE, a child has to be taught using different answering methods. The whole emphasis are totally different. That is why a child may get A* for CL, not not easy to get distinction for HCL.
In P5, if your child is offered to take up HCL, I would suggest you to take up, you can always decide later whether or not take HCL for PSLE. But you certainly will learn more in HCL than in CL. -
ruohoo97:
:goodpost:Just my two cents worth of thought on HCL:-
1. HCL testing format is different from CL. No oral, one compo, 40% and main paper 60%
2. The HCL's tests student's ability to differentiate 多音字和像形字;that requires student to have wider vocab and deeper understanding.
3. The comprehension in HCL is much harder comparing to CL. The lift-up from passage is discouraged, instead, the student is encouraged to use own language. There are normally have two 你认为,如果你是.... such questions.
Having said above difference, learning of HCL will definitely boost the learning of CL. If a child is okay with normal Chinese, learning HCL will expose him/her more usage of language, which I always feel our children are lack of.
The only thing, to prepare HCL and CL for PSLE, a child has to be taught using different answering methods. The whole emphasis are totally different. That is why a child may get A* for CL, not not easy to get distinction for HCL.
In P5, if your child is offered to take up HCL, I would suggest you to take up, you can always decide later whether or not take HCL for PSLE. But you certainly will learn more in HCL than in CL.
:thankyou: for sharing, ruohoo97.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.