There goes McDonalds and KFC
verykiasumummy:
You mean to say \"effective marketing\" ?
discipline is just 1 of the factors...noahgoh:
I don't think we should put the blame on advertising but rather on parents' monitoring. Your child can cry, wail and throw tantrums because they want to buy that Happy Meal. But at the end of the day, it really boils down to how often the parents give in to such requests.
It's all about discipline.
if less or no \"seductive\" ads, kids will not be so tempted...
Or rather, \"affective marketing\"
I like to tell the kids - \"Your happy meal is making mummy very unhappy!\" -
discipline is just 1 of the factors...verykiasumummy:
[quote=\"noahgoh\"]I don't think we should put the blame on advertising but rather on parents' monitoring. Your child can cry, wail and throw tantrums because they want to buy that Happy Meal. But at the end of the day, it really boils down to how often the parents give in to such requests.
It's all about discipline.
[/quote]both... :evil: :evil: :evil:
kids being kids, they can be easily persuaded by those ads... -
verykiasumummy:
discipline is just 1 of the factors...
[/quote]verykiasumummy:
Actually hor, I don't think my kids have been influenced by those ads. It is the toys... :roll:both... :evil: :evil: :evil:
kids being kids, they can be easily persuaded by those ads... -
You mean to say \"effective marketing\" ?verykiasumummy:
discipline is just 1 of the factors...
verykiasumummy:
Actually hor, I don't think my kids have been influenced by those ads. It is the toys... :roll:[/quote]both... :evil: :evil: :evil:
kids being kids, they can be easily persuaded by those ads...
having toys is another way of marketing though... -
pirated:
阿二靓汤mamago:
Thanks for sharing, VKmummy. Look at all the 靚湯!
I have something to share, HK obasan boil soups a bit different from the SG mummies.
The different step is called 出水. All meat, poultries and fishes for making soup are to go thru the 出水 step, to \"wash off\" the filthy blood remaining and oil/fats, 肉腥味 and rid of any dirtiness of the sellers' handling.
Boil a pot of water, bring to full boil, drop in the meat/poultries, off the stove, let it steep for 3-5mins depends on the amount of the meat. Discard the water and drain, the meat is now ready for boiling soup.
Take note that this step is almost like blanching, bigger pot of boiling water is better for ridding the filth.
PS. Don't feel \"sayang\" that the meat taste/nutrient will be wasted, (like my MIL claimed) it's this 出水 step that will make your clear soup tastier.
Hello, I ain't no 阿二 ok?! :spank:
(Btw, 阿二靚湯 refers to 小老婆煲的靚湯!! :heresmyfish: ) -
mamago:
阿二靓汤pirated:
[quote=\"mamago\"]Thanks for sharing, VKmummy. Look at all the 靚湯!
I have something to share, HK obasan boil soups a bit different from the SG mummies.
The different step is called 出水. All meat, poultries and fishes for making soup are to go thru the 出水 step, to \"wash off\" the filthy blood remaining and oil/fats, 肉腥味 and rid of any dirtiness of the sellers' handling.
Boil a pot of water, bring to full boil, drop in the meat/poultries, off the stove, let it steep for 3-5mins depends on the amount of the meat. Discard the water and drain, the meat is now ready for boiling soup.
Take note that this step is almost like blanching, bigger pot of boiling water is better for ridding the filth.
PS. Don't feel \"sayang\" that the meat taste/nutrient will be wasted, (like my MIL claimed) it's this 出水 step that will make your clear soup tastier.
Hello, I ain't no 阿二 ok?! :spank:
(Btw, 阿二靚湯 refers to 小老婆煲的靚湯!! :heresmyfish: )[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
omg... i never thought it that way just now...
cant stop laughing mamago...
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
That's 'cos McDonald's and KFC aren't worth talking about whilst How To Make Nutritious Soup is so much more worth our Mommy time.Funz:
We are wwaaaaayyyyyyy off topic. lol
LOL! Funz, we aren't way off topic - with more mummies being more kiasu about cooking healthy food, \"There goes McDonalds and KFC!!!\"
I did this for DD... because I wanted to make sure she developed healthy reproductive organs (because I want grandkids). When the school gave too much homework, I marched to school and told the Principal that too much homework is bad for DD's reproductive organ growth, jeopardizing my future lineage.
And if you want to get the max growth, pump in nutrition once the menses starts. The body will adsorb/react most during those years.
Milk, eggs, meat, bird nest whatever.. eat well during those years does more towards growth than any other times..
The Principal was quite polite but I think she thought I was :siao: . -
:slapshead: :slapshead:
I did this for DD... because I wanted to make sure she developed healthy reproductive organs (because I want grandkids). When the school gave too much homework, I marched to school and told the Principal that too much homework is bad for DD's reproductive organ growth, jeopardizing my future lineage.limlim:
And if you want to get the max growth, pump in nutrition once the menses starts. The body will adsorb/react most during those years.
Milk, eggs, meat, bird nest whatever.. eat well during those years does more towards growth than any other times..
The Principal was quite polite but I think she thought I was :siao: .
i can imagine the principal bang his/her head... hahaha...
but u r right, the most suitable time for nutrition is when menses start... -
mommylow:
Hmm....maybe verykiasumummy can start a thread and teach us how to make great soups! She will be our 煲汤师父! :idea:[/quote]two hands two legs agree!
I second this... VKSMum... thanks for sharing. I've copied and pasted into a Word file. Ummm... maybe will need your help with specific recipes later!!Chenonceau:
[quote=\"Mawar\"]Verykiasumummy, I am super impressed!! Thanks for compiling and sharing. I will sticky note the list.
Can just imagine, if many follow your list, on certain days old cucumber sold out, on other days shark melon sold out. :rotflmao: Ntuc, SS, Cold Storage & wet market better take note of demand on those days.
first post should be the list of soups. :drool:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.