Choose Secondary school for 2010
mrswongtuition:
Noted but 3 days should be enough for the schools to key in the data into the system on behalf of the parents, right ?
Firstly, they also need some time to manually key in the data that were submitted on paper. Not all parents are IT savvy or have the resources to submit their options online.
[quote]And with so much data to handle, sometimes the computer will also need time to generate the results. And at the end of it, the computer isn't perfect and there'll be some 'manual work' to be done to complete the whole allocation.[/quote]From what I understand, once all data are in, the software should be able to allocate all students based on the algorithm. With supercomputers these days, this task will only take a couple of hours to run.
[quote]After that initial allocation is done, MOE will need to inform the respective school principals of the possible enrolment for each school and if the school is in real shortage of resources/staff (sudden massive transfers/resignations) and unable to take so many classes, the principals will need to alert MOE and MOE will need to 'reallocate' again. [/quote]Shouldn't the variable like number of places in every schools be obtained much earlier from the principals before the software runs ?
[quote]Once all these is done, MOE will need to double check again to make sure there's no error (imagine if they posted wrongly & parents will go through alot of trouble). Then there's the printing of the results to be posted out. [/quote]Agreed
[quote]And they also need to give a list to the respective secondary schools to prepare for registration and other admin work to be done.[/quote]That means by now, the sec schools should have the list already, right ?
[quote]It's not an easy process. Imagine in 1 school we already take 1 whole day to allocate S2 students for the streaming exercise, what more the entire SG's P6 population?[/quote]Agreed it is an enormous task but then again MOE is also a huge Dept with enormous resources & high tech softwares
[quote]I understand your anxiety but all things take time. It's better to explain to our children the virtue of being patient for the results as others need time to 'do their work' rather than be impatient about it. I'm a very impatient person but I try my best to be patient, especially for my boy.[/quote]Sound logical, that is why all of have been waiting
We don’t need a supercomputer to do the posting. 50k students with 6 choices each-an ordinary pentium PC can handle this kind of data already.And the algorithm is very simple. NUSH’s sec 1 students can write such as programme already provided he/she is taught a computer language.
But I do suspect…since everybody are kiasu, the MOE also kiasu…they just want to keep more time for themselves so that nothing goes wrong and reflect badly on them. But that is just my guess. -
WeiHan:
Yes, the algorithm is not complex. Should be able to come out with a list within minutes. All variable like number of places in each schools are pre-determined & feed into the computer before it is being run.We don't need a supercomputer to do the posting. 50k students with 6 choices each-an ordinary pentium PC can handle this kind of data already.And the algorithm is very simple. NUSH's sec 1 students can write such as programme already provided he/she is taught a computer language.
[quote]But I do suspect...since everybody are kiasu, the MOE also kiasu...they just want to keep more time for themselves so that nothing goes wrong and reflect badly on them. But that is just my guess.[/quote]kiasu until need 20 days meh ? -
kiasu until need 20 days meh ?[/quote]in my previous designation in a top Singapore corporation, I come across an approval process in the SAP system that needs to be approved by many responsible levels or approving authorities; creator, verifying officer/Supervisor, approving officer/AO, higher approving officer/Manager, Vice president, Senior vice president, finally CEO.
Yes, the algorithm is not complex. Should be able to come out with a list within minutes. All variable like number of places in each schools are pre-determined & feed into the computer before it is being run.WeiHan:
We don't need a supercomputer to do the posting. 50k students with 6 choices each-an ordinary pentium PC can handle this kind of data already.And the algorithm is very simple. NUSH's sec 1 students can write such as programme already provided he/she is taught a computer language.
[quote]But I do suspect...since everybody are kiasu, the MOE also kiasu...they just want to keep more time for themselves so that nothing goes wrong and reflect badly on them. But that is just my guess.
I can only guess that for the results to be foolproof, all approving authorities in the ministry must check carefully before they click on \"Approve\" on SAP or other equivalent ERP system. -
mrswongtuition:
Hi Mrs Wong,Firstly, they also need some time to manually key in the data that were submitted on paper. Not all parents are IT savvy or have the resources to submit their options online.
Forgot to add:
Some parents actually do not submit by the deadline and MOE needs to call them up personally to check if they've submitted but the documents got lost or they forget to submit. It's not fair if they've submitted but the documents got lost right?
And with so much data to handle, sometimes the computer will also need time to generate the results. And at the end of it, the computer isn't perfect and there'll be some 'manual work' to be done to complete the whole allocation.
After that initial allocation is done, MOE will need to inform the respective school principals of the possible enrolment for each school and if the school is in real shortage of resources/staff (sudden massive transfers/resignations) and unable to take so many classes, the principals will need to alert MOE and MOE will need to 'reallocate' again.
Once all these is done, MOE will need to double check again to make sure there's no error (imagine if they posted wrongly & parents will go through alot of trouble). Then there's the printing of the results to be posted out. And they also need to give a list to the respective secondary schools to prepare for registration and other admin work to be done.
It's not an easy process. Imagine in 1 school we already take 1 whole day to allocate S2 students for the streaming exercise, what more the entire SG's P6 population?
I understand your anxiety but all things take time. It's better to explain to our children the virtue of being patient for the results as others need time to 'do their work' rather than be impatient about it. I'm a very impatient person but I try my best to be patient, especially for my boy.
These are really words of wisdom. Thanks for the information. Do agree with all you have said except for the computer part. This guy is fast! very fast.
Anyway, thanks again... :celebrate: -
ycpang:
I have this feeling that this year's COP for RI/RGS will drop whereas those for HCI/NYGH will be higher.My estimation and forecast as below:
Top 3 % - above 261 since this is the EESIS COP this year. If you calculate the total number of IP school, estimate their intakes, take 30% of them (according to MOE), divided by the cohort this year, you will find out that it is about top 3%.
We also know that 248 is the top 10% as this is the COP for 3rd Lang. (French, Japanese, German) this year.
So we can estimate the rests as below:
Top 3%: 261 and above
259 - 260: Top 4%
257 - 258: Top 5%
255 - 256: Top 6%
253 - 254: Top 7%
251 - 252: Top 8%
249 - 250: Top 9%
248: Top 10%
The total intake of all the IP schools is estimated to be around 5% ~ 6% of the cohort (take 400 x No. of IP school, divided by total no. of PSLE cohort).
I think this year the cohort in overall didn't do well. You can see from the drop of EESIS COP and the top 10% is now at COP 248!!
Also, you will notice that RI COP over the past few years was about 1 point below the EESIS while RGS and NYGH COPs were 1 ~ 2 points above RI or on the EESIS COP.
Therefore, we can estimate the RI COP this year is about 260, while RGS and NYGH will be around 261.
I also estimated that the COP for RVH will be either maintain or up due to their new campus and they are now \"truely\" at the west to attrach those live in the west.
HCI, DHS, ACSI COPs should go down as well. Boys' schools school such as HCI and ACSI may be affected most as their \"customers base\" is very limited and boys generally do not do as well as girls.
Anyway, we will find out on 22nd Dec. Good luck to all !! Cheers
Already aware that some boys & girls with T-score above 280 are opting for HCI & NYGH instead of RI/RGS. -
Fairy:
Next year is a much easier year to get into good school. Because next year is the year of tiger and birth rate drop drastically. Last round of tiger year, there was a drop of 8% in the number of students taking PSLE. So for next year, there is an estimation of 4K student less to compete for the good school. :!:I have this feeling that this year's COP for RI/RGS will drop whereas those for HCI/NYGH will be higher.
Already aware that some boys & girls with T-score above 280 are opting for HCI & NYGH instead of RI/RGS. -
Fairy:
I have this feeling that this year's COP for RI/RGS will drop whereas those for HCI/NYGH will be higher.My estimation and forecast as below:
Top 3 % - above 261 since this is the EESIS COP this year. If you calculate the total number of IP school, estimate their intakes, take 30% of them (according to MOE), divided by the cohort this year, you will find out that it is about top 3%.
We also know that 248 is the top 10% as this is the COP for 3rd Lang. (French, Japanese, German) this year.
So we can estimate the rests as below:
Top 3%: 261 and above
259 - 260: Top 4%
257 - 258: Top 5%
255 - 256: Top 6%
253 - 254: Top 7%
251 - 252: Top 8%
249 - 250: Top 9%
248: Top 10%
The total intake of all the IP schools is estimated to be around 5% ~ 6% of the cohort (take 400 x No. of IP school, divided by total no. of PSLE cohort).
I think this year the cohort in overall didn't do well. You can see from the drop of EESIS COP and the top 10% is now at COP 248!!
Also, you will notice that RI COP over the past few years was about 1 point below the EESIS while RGS and NYGH COPs were 1 ~ 2 points above RI or on the EESIS COP.
Therefore, we can estimate the RI COP this year is about 260, while RGS and NYGH will be around 261.
I also estimated that the COP for RVH will be either maintain or up due to their new campus and they are now \"truely\" at the west to attrach those live in the west.
HCI, DHS, ACSI COPs should go down as well. Boys' schools school such as HCI and ACSI may be affected most as their \"customers base\" is very limited and boys generally do not do as well as girls.
Anyway, we will find out on 22nd Dec. Good luck to all !! Cheers
Already aware that some boys & girls with T-score above 280 are opting for HCI & NYGH instead of RI/RGS.[/quote]
This is the new trend that student prefer HCI/NYGH over the Rs?
:? -
CrazyDad:
Don't think so lah.This is the new trend that student prefer HCI/NYGH over the Rs?
:?
Every year there will be students prefer HCI/NYGH over Rs & vice-versa. -
Fairy:
I don't think so. How many of them scored 280 and above? The total intake for both HCI and NYGH should be around 700 ~ 800.I have this feeling that this year's COP for RI/RGS will drop whereas those for HCI/NYGH will be higher.
Already aware that some boys & girls with T-score above 280 are opting for HCI & NYGH instead of RI/RGS.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.