MOE to stop publishing names of top students?

852 Posts 79 Posters 184.6k Views 1 Watching
      Daddy D

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]I think Mr Brown read this forum too. His latest podcast on this subject hilarious :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Yes it is. Mr Kwok Kok Gai, Essence of Chicken Company. :rotflmao: Essence of Hainan Chicken for higher chinese. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Yes, yes, yes :rotflmao:

Dun play play leh, his PSLE score 282.[/quote] 😆 :rotflmao:
      Funny indeed!

• Z Offline
        znzyzyzx

Fairy:
        I fail to understand why some parents feel stressed just because the names and scores of a handful of top students out of a cohort of say 50,000 students are made known to the public. :? 🤷 :skeptical:

Trying to be ostrich ?

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]I think Mr Brown read this forum too. His latest podcast on this subject hilarious :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Yes it is. Mr Kwok Kok Gai, Essence of Chicken Company. :rotflmao: Essence of Hainan Chicken for higher chinese. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Yes, yes, yes :rotflmao:

Dun play play leh, his PSLE score 282.[/quote]
          Yeh boi! Don't just lay the eggs leh, got show working! :rotflmao: And now no choice, cos the fully-invested-hoping-to-be-top-scorer-daddy can oni brag on superkiasuparents.com! :rotflmao:

Daddy 😧
          😆 :rotflmao:
          Funny indeed!
          Wah leow.. You mean.. http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/facebook-smileys.html right? :rotflmao:

MR06

I’m quite neutral on this as identifying top PSLE scorers and schools has its pros and cons. I feel MOE is addressing the unhealthy level of stress pupils and parents face at PSLE in a big way. It is leaving no stones unturned and more announcements may be in the pipeline. The doing away with naming of top scorers is but one of the sacrificial lambs in its effort to neutralize over-emphasis on and obsession with academic results.

I think it is New Moon which uses top students to advertise for chicken essence right? Gotta find new targets Liao…

Melodies

Why there is such unhealthy stress level for both parents and students in the first place? Has anyone thinks hard about it? Kiausuism in nature? Or inequitable education system only benefits certain group of children? If singaporean is kiasu by nature, shouldnt we have the education system that works out well for this nature of singaporean? MOE can change the education system but we can’t change Singaporean.

Melodies:
                  Why there is such unhealthy stress level for both parents and students in the first place? Has anyone thinks hard about it? Kiausuism in nature? Or inequitable education system only benefits certain group of children? If singaporean is kiasu by nature, shouldnt we have the education system that works out well for this nature of singaporean? MOE can change the education system but we can't change Singaporean.

there is an unhealthy stress because some parents want their children to be in elite schools, take IP or DSA. some parents only have eyes for HCI, RI, RGS, NYG for eg...no matter how MOE changes the education system, singaporeans will not change.

happy to be mum

It's the parents creating the stress, not the system.
                    How absoultely true! If parents are more relaxed and stop going all the way out to sign up for branded tuition centres TLL, MS, LP, etc... But people are doing it cause it is a vicious cycle. It is like all parents signed up their kids for it, why should my kid be the odd one out!

I have a friend whose kid is only in K2, you named it, the kid has it. TLL, Berries, CMA, ICR, Schinda.. She is only in K2! Madness! Sometimes I will be affected by it and wonder should I start my kid in all these classes. Am I short changing my kid if I don't let them attend? No, I am not!

So parents, be more relaxed lah!

As for MOE not naming the top PSLE scorers, it is not giving recognition to the hard work to the top scorer. Seriously, I don't think parents or kids will be stress knowing who is the top scorer cause their concern is their kid's score and the COP.

winchester

znzyzyzx:
                      Fairy:

I fail to understand why some parents feel stressed just because the names and scores of a handful of top students out of a cohort of say 50,000 students are made known to the public. :? 🤷 :skeptical:

Trying to be ostrich ?

a simple but sharp observation!

winchester

happy to be mum:

It's the parents creating the stress, not the system.

How absoultely true! If parents are more relaxed and stop going all the way out to sign up for branded tuition centres TLL, MS, LP, etc... But people are doing it cause it is a vicious cycle. It is like all parents signed up their kids for it, why should my kid be the odd one out!

I have a friend whose kid is only in K2, you named it, the kid has it. TLL, Berries, CMA, ICR, Schinda.. She is only in K2! Madness! Sometimes I will be affected by it and wonder should I start my kid in all these classes. Am I short changing my kid if I don't let them attend? No, I am not!

So parents, be more relaxed lah!

As for MOE not naming the top PSLE scorers, it is not giving recognition to the hard work to the top scorer. Seriously, I don't think parents or kids will be stress knowing who is the top scorer cause their concern is their kid's score and the COP.

totally agree! it's self imposed. the reason such parents give is that it is competitive out there and everyone is doing it. i can't dispute that, but success in adult life is more than about psle scores.

yes, moe is knee-jerk in blackout on success stories. missing the forest for the trees.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 86