MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
CayennePepper:
Yes.....I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
If I am from the mainstream and have obtained a CO from a top IP school via the academc domain (smops/olympiads etc), is that considered an unfair advantage?
If all one is interested in is whether one's child gets ahead in choosing a secondary school.
No.....
If what one is interested in is life outcomes. -
CayennePepper:
Hello, this is not Simple LOT, I think it is HOT question horI have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
If I am from the mainstream and have obtained a CO from a top IP school via the academc domain (smops/olympiads etc), is that considered an unfair advantage?
The answer is it DEPENDS!
If it is my DC, then it is NOT considered an unfair advantage.
If it is anyone else's DC, then it is DEFINITELY an unfair advantage, regardless how high is his/her actual T-score. Isn't this one of the reasons why govt doesn't dare to publish the top scorers' names? in case we find out all the top scorers have had such unfair advantage.
Your post is a little self-contradictory, but nonetheless, I agree with the thrust of it.
Believe it or not, many parents do not want to accept the fact that children's abilities differ. They believe they can do something about it - although it can be true too - many believe that if the kids have the best teachers, the best books, the best this and that, there is no reason why they can't be the best. And the younger they start having the best of everything, the farther they will get ahead of their peers. This may be true, but it is not always the case.
We all differ in our abilities to play football, our abilities to play the piano, our abilities to paint etc.
There is SOME element of genetic determism in all that we do.
Why would it be different for academic ability?
That is not to say that this is the end with regards to living a successful and fulfilling life. That is the rub of it. -
CayennePepper:
Aiyoyo! I hate HOT questions disguised as a LOT question. Sure trip up all the square people like me... :imdrowning:I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
Ooops. Pirates dun know difference between plural and singular... -
CayennePepper:
Careful, careful. Lest you get :wrongmove:
I can try to answer thisBeContented:
[quote=\"CayennePepper\"]I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
Yes. Cos you have & I dun have.
Yes. ESP if your score did not make it to the COP & I deserve the seat more if my score higher than yours.
I suspect, in this thread, if one voices a non-populist opinion, one's POV may be considered INvalid.
Suspect only hor.[/quote]Oops. :shock: thanks for the reminder.
Next time I won't be so candid. I will learn from experts how to mask my answers & put it across using paragraphs. That should make my sharing more popular I hope. :rotflmao: -
pirate:
Aiyoyo! I hate HOT questions disguised as a LOT question. Sure trip up all the square people like me... :imdrowning:CayennePepper:
I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
Ooops. Pirates dun know difference between plural and singular...
Can't tell you are square or round, but you surely have HOT ability - you are able to piece together information from different posts into a single short sentence! -
Totally agree!
Believe it or not, many parents do not want to accept the fact that children's abilities differ. They believe they can do something about it - although it can be true too - many believe that if the kids have the best teachers, the best books, the best this and that, there is no reason why they can't be the best.
I also think that because we EXPECT that hard work should be rewarded, it is easy to feel cheated and cry foul when others get the goodies instead. And seemingly without effort. -
wonderm:
Yes, and that is why his DD is also HOT inclined.
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:pirate:
Aiyoyo! I hate HOT questions disguised as a LOT question. Sure trip up all the square people like me... :imdrowning:
Ooops. Pirates dun know difference between plural and singular...
Can't tell you are square or round, but you surely have HOT ability - you are able to piece together information from different posts into a single short sentence! -
wonderm:
I am from Simple LOT era lah. Had to do O levels, you know. :razz:
Hello, this is not Simple LOT, I think it is HOT question horCayennePepper:
I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.
The answer is it DEPENDS!
If it is my DC, then it is NOT considered an unfair advantage.
If it is anyone else's DC, then it is DEFINITELY an unfair advantage, regardless how high is his/her actual T-score. Isn't this one of the reasons why govt doesn't dare to publish the top scorers' names? in case we find out all the top scorers have had such unfair advantage.
And didn't get straight As in A levels! -
Since you guys are at it…how about a compensating multipler factor for kids who are born in the later part of the year.
Eg, kids born in Dec shall have a multipler of 1.1 x the T-score. That will compensate for the disparity between the Dec kids and the Jan kids. The rest of the month shall be reduced proportionally. Yeah?
Surely this is a fair proposal for the disadvantaged younger kids taking the PSLE.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.