Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 413.8k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

Strparent:

Bear in mind that Png EH ( again, no offence :oops: ) was the best they could do in Hougang By-Elections.
      😆 Mr. Low tao tiah now..

So coincidental, all affected ones in constituents last contested by WP. How many 'best' can they field? Surely PAP have more 'best' than WP? As for giving other parties 'chance', I wonder if they will like WP to step a foot in if it happens to their constituencies...which could be any time after all these precedents 🦆 Ok, got any more, quickly own up now, 要来就一次过,don't waste tax payers' money anymore hor!!

concern2

octoberbaby:
        longmao.irene:

??? Chanced upon tis thread... Errrr bt y 3kingdoms n 西游记....

3 kingdoms are a good example for politic issue.
        such as back stabbing, 2-headed snake, betrayal, power, women
        The best don't trust people easily.

More like knowing who can be trusted - That's what sets good leaders apart from the rest - a good judge of people's / individual's character - which is a difficult thing to do - seen in our recent political scene.

limlim

More like knowing who can be trusted - That's what sets good leaders apart from the rest - a good judge of people's / individual's character - which is a difficult thing to do - seen in our recent political scene.
          How do you know if the leaders are a good judge?

How do you know what they're looking for? One who can be trusted to serve the people's best interest or one who can be trusted to be obedient?

Look at some examples of good white MPs in the past.. Those who speak up for the pple.. what happened to them?

Are they still serving the pple?

Once example of a quote by an MP for the pple.. \"Why cripple his leg and then give him a crutch?\"

Imami

Imami:

That's sima yi?

Yup.
            He wouldn't look right if portrayed in d role of Zhuge Liang, tio-bo?

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: dont make me puke my kopi lah!

Liang gege is always the dashing one, regardless of which version we are talking about. :love:

pirate

Strparent:

Bear in mind that Png EH ( again, no offence :oops: ) was the best they could do in Hougang By-Elections.
              Png EH is a WP grassroots man. Underestimate the grassroots people at your own peril. TCB was a PAP grassroots man.

concern2

Wow, suddenly so many parties interested to go for by-election. Can also understand - since Punggol East had never been under any opposition parties, unlike case of Hougang.

Now not just 5 but 6 interested parties! What a number! \"S_X\" 😆 Talk about coincidence!

So are ALL the political parties vying for Punggol East? Now I really feel like Journey to the West - with all the parties vying for a piece of us! :nailbite:

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

Look at some examples of good white MPs in the past.. Those who speak up for the pple.. what happened to them?
                  Please give some examples 'coz I have no clue what you are talking about.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

There are many folk viewing the past with rose-tinted glasses, forgetting that our founding fathers were far more hard-nosed and tin-eared than the current generation of leaders. Who initiated the GRC system? Who used the ISA with greater frequency?

Strparent

Waa 3Boys,

u like machiam stalk Uncle LL and then rebut your points from opposite penalty area leh - but a bit :offtopic: again ? paiseh paiseh :oops:

pirate:
                      Strparent:

Png EH is a WP grassroots man. Underestimate the grassroots people at your own peril. TCB was a PAP grassroots man.

Pirate,

pardon my choice of words, as I said, no offence. I do not mean to under-estimate anyone, I am very sure PEH is a dedicated hardworking MP who strives his best to serve his constituency... BUT I am talking about a voice, a personality,who can make a positive impact in Parliament.

PEH speaks okay during the GE/BE, but not as gripping and wholeheartedly for the people, as NS and VW, imho.

pirate

Strparent:
                        Pirate,

pardon my choice of words, as I said, no offence. I do not mean to under-estimate anyone, I am very sure PEH is a dedicated hardworking MP who strives his best to serve his constituency... BUT I am talking about a voice, a personality,who can make a positive impact in Parliament.

PEH speaks okay during the GE/BE, but not as gripping and wholeheartedly for the people, as NS and VW, imho.
                        I don't take offence. I am neither a PEH or WP supporter. I was just pointing out my take on the terrain of the electoral battlefield.

I think even the PAP underestimated the strength of their own grassroots backbenchers relative to their technocratic highfliers.

I would have thought that the various other opposition parties should have learnt from the 2011 GE that personality and nice speeches are not enough to win elections. I predict that if there is a six-cornered fight, 4 candidates will lose their deposits.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 27 / 198

Liew Nga WingL
                        Liew Nga Wing
                        MandyLibM
                        MandyLib