• dyhD Offline
      dyh

Mrsbongz:
      My ds1 gets abt 9hrs of sleep.. N wakes up crying every morning.. The younger sleeps the same amt w no issues though..

Want to ask if anyone has tips on how to learn mo xie πŸ™‚ i know we r lucky to only start in p3 πŸ˜› but learning chinese is quite torturous for my boy.. Any tips? Thank u in advance!!
      for moxie, i get my kids to:
      - break long sentences into parts, add pauses in between
      - read aloud when memorizing
      - form an image of the description or scene in the mind
      - study at least 2 rounds (on different days)
      - read again just before the test

May not be the best way but it seems to work well for my kids.

Mrsbongz

FQW:

wow, very difficult to come across such a helpful
        person....

Bro, how come never offer to pass me some books?

Aiyah firstly, last time many pple (like E3, Jennifer) helped me, now it's my turn to return the favour mah. πŸ˜‚

Secondly, Mrsbongz's ds and mine are best-of-buddies, confidants, soul mates, of course I'm helpful to her lah.

As to why I never offered to lend those books to you? :idea: Oh I know, it's bcos my dc's CL std compared to yours is like Bukit Timah Hill trying to teach Mount Kinabula how to grow taller. :rotflmao:

Haha! Thank u, but i hav alot of chinese bks at hme. 1 ofour relatives teaches Chinese n passed us some bks supposed to b ard his level for practice. Problem is getting him to read! At least ur boy influeanced him to read english books! πŸ™‚ so thankful!

Thank u everyone for your tips, shall apply n see if i hit jackpot πŸ˜› my boy isnt strong academically.. So no choice have to try n help him manage his work. I m quite dreading the moxie aredy, preparing myself to see alot of tears n 'red' marks πŸ˜›

• dyhD Offline
          dyh

FQW:
          dyh:

So not signing up your son for Boys Brigade? It is a good ground to learn independence. They also have overnight camps.

I'm pleasantly surprised you remembered what I posted a few years back. πŸ˜„ My bro was from Scout and till this day, he swears the life skills he learned in Scout prepared him well for adulthood.

Unfortunately for us, BB being on a Sat morning and all, it's tough as it clashes with some other regular events we planned.

i see. note that BB is only open to p3 in PH. so to p3 parents out there, this is the only opportunity.

on the pragmatic side, it is also a cca which is well valued by some sec schools, if u know what i mean.

There are also opportunities to be squad leader, hv compulsory community service each yr; so it adds to the list of achievements in the child's yr end report book.

just doing my part to promote the BB here. πŸ˜‚

Doins

Hi, my ds bring back his p1 time table.

I was puzzle :? about the Tues-Hall HE, Wed-Hall (E) and Thu-Hall CME.

Can some1 pls advise the meaning of Hall HE, Hall(E) and Hall CME.

• iRabbitI Offline
              iRabbit

dolphin:

Do I sounded like complaining ? My post anxiety on the CCA registration may hv got into me.

Fortunately we don't hv to do PV thingy to get into PHPPS. Still thankful for that.

Maybe my \"England\" is not powerful that's why you may have misinterpreted my posting?
              The mistake was mine. You're fine. My impression [of your earlier post] must have been mired by some other posts I read elsewhere. πŸ˜„

• iRabbitI Offline
                iRabbit

Mrsbongz:

At least ur boy influeanced him to read english books! πŸ™‚ so thankful!
                So what ds told me is correct (I frequently discount 30% of what he says). πŸ˜‚ Yours is really into Artemis Fowl series now, hehe.

Like what you alluded, I also find the jump from P2 to 3 substantial. Hopefully ds can cope.

• iRabbitI Offline
                  iRabbit

Doins:

You can refer to Jennifer's post below:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4407&start=18000

Mrsbongz

dyh:

i see. note that BB is only open to p3 in PH. so to p3 parents out there, this is the only opportunity.

on the pragmatic side, it is also a cca which is well valued by some sec schools, if u know what i mean.

There are also opportunities to be squad leader, hv compulsory community service each yr; so it adds to the list of achievements in the child's yr end report book.

just doing my part to promote the BB here. πŸ˜‚
                    we had initially planned for bb too, but sat is the only day free for revision, so ds had to drop it. Was a tough decision for us

Mrsbongz

FQW:

So what ds told me is correct (I frequently discount 30% of what he says). πŸ˜‚ Yours is really into Artemis Fowl series now, hehe.

Like what you alluded, I also find the jump from P2 to 3 substantial. Hopefully ds can cope.
                      yes, those r really heavy!!

P3 seems to b more stressful mentally for my boy. He is alot more concerned abt rules n such. He told me he shouldn't wear PE tshirt everyday now that he is older liao! 🀷 so poor daddy has to iron more clothes now πŸ˜›

Doins

FQW:
                        Doins:

You can refer to Jennifer's post below:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4407&start=18000

Oh thanks for the info.... cheers

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1807 / 2049