All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      mashy

nugget:
      mashy:

[quote=\"nugget\"]Mashy,

tell you frankly, I am super duper worry!!! I worry about him standing up in the classroom and walk about, I worry about him get missing in school, I worry about he go toilet already dun never go back to class, I worry about he dunno how to buy food and go hungry during recess time. I worry about him losing his pencils, books and even school bag, I worry about him being bullied by other students... Think I super kan cheong! *I must remind myself to breathe*

Yup But I do agree with you about the \"building foundation\" part. I just hope it will pan out well for him. Now must start practicing with him.

My son like yours doesn't know how to express himself. What we do is we usually ask the question then we answer it ourselves. Then through there, he will try to follow. Like we asked, \"why the evil troll hide under the bridge?\", then we answer \"because he is waiting for the billy goat to cross the bridge\"... Soon he will learn to answer as well.

Don't worry don't worry. I had the same worries before but it was resolved easily. The teacher will send another kid in with my boy when he went toilet. Think now he can go by himself and return back to class already. He also walked around for a while, but now better. He once ran out of the classroom and the teacher had to chase after him to get him back. lots of embarrassing moments but they were resolved one by one. Apparently, it's not just our kids who walk around. Even NT kids walk around in class! I pack food for him so he doesn't need to rush to queue. Anyway, school canteen food is horrible. I rather he don't eat those food there. Yup, my son has lost a lot of stationary, books and shoes! Didn't lose his school bag though. Just remember to label everything so that even if they are lost, there's a chance of getting them back.

So don't worry. You will find a solution when you meet the problem.

Thanks for the assurance. Oh my, lost his shoes?! 😛
      My son wore glasses, so far he has not lose them *cross fingers*. Yup I guess you hv come a long way. Thanks for sharing with me.[/quote]Ya lor. Lost his shoes. Good thing we found it back.

Don't worry, it will get better day by day. 🙂

nugget

ImMeeMee:

The EIPIC school recommends IQ assessment at about 5 and half years old. I think its also about the right time, so that we have an outcome to make decisions on next steps.

Chances are that we will defer her for one year. Her EIPIC school is able to accomodate her for another year.

Ya I see. Yes mine turns 5.5 years in May/June. I guessed our timing are the same.

For me, I know my KKH doctor will definitely recommend me delay 1 more year. But I dun think I will. My hb and I have already decided to brave us through. Hope our decision is right..

ImMeeMee

A quote that I read somewhere:

‘If a man from Mars landed here and met two people - one with autism who speaks frankly… and one without autism who might say what he does not mean - the man from Mars would say the autistic person was normal.’

specialboymum

Hello mummies,

It has been a while since I last posted.
            I would like to wish everybody a happy new year, hope we keep this online support group going and may our special kids be better than yesterday.

For mummies at the cross road…don’t worry about if the decision you make is right or not. Whether to defer, to go on to P1, be it mainstream or special…just tell yourselves, whatever decision you make is the best decision at the point of time.

----

Not sure if you recall our earlier discussion on discharge from KKH CDU. I have managed to get CDU to refer my boy to IMH CGC. After talking to few people, we think it may be good to continue follow up by CGC, even we don’t need any of their service now. As our kids grow up, we will be facing with different set of problems, particularly socially… at least there is somewhere to go to get help or at least they can provide recommendation

mashy

specialboymum:
              Hello mummies,

It has been a while since I last posted.
              I would like to wish everybody a happy new year, hope we keep this online support group going and may our special kids be better than yesterday.

For mummies at the cross road..don't worry about if the decision you make is right or not. Whether to defer, to go on to P1, be it mainstream or special..just tell yourselves, whatever decision you make is the best decision at the point of time.

----

Not sure if you recall our earlier discussion on discharge from KKH CDU. I have managed to get CDU to refer my boy to IMH CGC. After talking to few people, we think it may be good to continue follow up by CGC, even we don't need any of their service now. As our kids grow up, we will be facing with different set of problems, particularly socially... at least there is somewhere to go to get help or at least they can provide recommendation

My boy still not discharged from CDU leh. So funny hor. We are meeting the dr in Nov again end of this year. We will just do an annual review every year.

ImMeeMee

Am wondering, what are the differences in the services and support programs between KKH Rehab and IMH CGU for kids beyond 7 yo.

mashy

ImMeeMee:
                  Am wondering, what are the differences in the services and support programs between KKH Rehab and IMH CGU for kids beyond 7 yo.

I've no idea what IMH CGU provides. For rehab, they have speech therapy, occupational therapy. Speech therapy will also touch on social skills. We had a combined OT and ST for social skills. Last year, they had a social skills group during the hols (unfortunately, we couldn't attend). For OT, we did handwriting and focusing in class but think it will differ from kid to kid? What's the difference between the programs for preschoolers and those above 7?

Each therapist have their specialty, so will be moved around whenever needs changes. Only stayed with the same OT so far (just 1 change).

mashy

Oh, looks like IMH can provide meds. Guess that is more for ADHD kids? kKH rehab are just therapists, so they don’t give meds.

nugget

mashy:
                      ImMeeMee:

I've no idea what IMH CGU provides. For rehab, they have speech therapy, occupational therapy. Speech therapy will also touch on social skills. We had a combined OT and ST for social skills. Last year, they had a social skills group during the hols (unfortunately, we couldn't attend). For OT, we did handwriting and focusing in class but think it will differ from kid to kid? What's the difference between the programs for preschoolers and those above 7?

Each therapist have their specialty, so will be moved around whenever needs changes. Only stayed with the same OT so far (just 1 change).

mashy,

can share what OT do to improve handwriting and focusing?

it's strange why some kids discharge and go imh cgu and some remain at kkh.

helplessmum3

Rainbow teacher say , I did not see ur son stimming or flapping hands…

Ahhhh… Feel so strange to hear such question …

I say my son don’t do these …

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 330 / 794