Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 414.5k Views 1 Watching
      Lilac66

pirate:
      Told you all this talk about LLL not interested and WP may send in an NCMP is all smoke. Actually, don't forget hor. You first read about it in KSP. 😆

Kiasu parents got read Sun Zhi's Art of War one, you know. Otherwise, how to deal with all those too clever by half kiddos?
      Yala, I kenna smoked until cao da...next time must read more Sun Zhi instead of Lao Fu Zi liao ... :rotflmao:

Anyway, Zesty Ah Lian go go go... fight the Boh Koon tua loh goon... oops... :siam:

• 3 Offline
        3Boys

raysusan:
        lol...funny

http://i.qkme.me/3sk3i6.jpg\">

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

WP's Lee Li Lian at Workers' Party Rally, May 1 2011

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKp1NXysxB8][/youtube]

WP's Lee Li Lian at Punggol East SMC Rally, May 3 2011

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7bXbUkEMN8][/youtube]

raysusan

http://therealsingapore.com/content/dr-koh-if-you-choose-opposition-don%E2%80%99t-hope-pap-will-get-work-done-you

[quote]During his “walkabout” at the Rivervale Plaza in Punggol East yesterday (13 Jan), Dr Koh Poh Koon, the PAP’s candidate for Punggol East SMC, told the media that he has identified day-to-day issues like cost of living and adequacy of infrastructure as among top concerns.

However, he said, “The residents have to be practical and realistic – that you must choose to vote the person who can do the work for you. I think it’s a fallacy to believe that you can have the best of both worlds – choose the person to make a statement but hope that the other person who’s voted out is going to be having all the resources, all the authority, to get the work done for you.”

In other words, he is telling the residents that they can’t expect PAP to get work done for them if they vote an opposition MP into Parliament.

Technically, campaigning can only officially start on Nomination Day. However, Dr Koh has already started “walking about”, talking to the residents of Punggol East.

He also responded to criticisms that he is trying to gain public sympathy by talking about his growing up in a poor family and being poor in his earlier years.

In one of his poor anecdotes, he said, “I remember when I finally got my HDB flat in 1988, just after I ORD from the army, my wife and I had to borrow money from my uncle to do renovations. You’d be surprised to know that at the end of the thing, before we moved into our house, in the combined accounts of our banks, in the pockets together, we had $11.50.”

“We were scratching our heads thinking how to even have our first meal in the house when we had no money to buy chopsticks? We went down to Toyogo at Lorong 8 Toa Payoh and we had to count the number of pieces of chopsticks we can buy with $11.50 to equip our home.”

It’s not known what he ate for his first meal in his new flat, since after spending $11.50 for chopsticks, he had no money left to buy food.

In any case, responding to the criticisms of trying to gain public sympathy, Dr Koh said, “It is not about garnering sympathy votes. At the end of the day, if the residents feel that I am not the best person. Please do not give me any sympathy votes. I do not need sympathy. I have never been ashamed of my past. Not that it’s something that you need to be proud of – this is me.”

Dr Koh stressed that he is running his own race. He said he feels comfortable on his own without the presence of PAP heavyweights around.

He also clarified that other than his HDB flat, his family owns no property, including private property. However, he acknowledged owning two cars.[/quote] got his HDB flat in 1988, just after he ORD from the army??

so young?? :scared: 16 yo right??

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

Actually I don’t mind if the WP wins, they are acting more and more like the PAP anyway, and their supporters, in shouting down SDP, and behaving more and more like the MIW supporters (or worse).

It’s funny, people talk about a multi-party system, but in the end it’s all about opposing the PAP.

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

Just saw on the news that reporters asked if LLL is pregnant. She didn’t get the question and Sylvia reminded her… She said that she is not though she might look pregnant. Their actions and responses sounded so cute and real. Not so posh posh like the LIWs… maybe that is what make them more endearing.

Strparent

raysusan:

[quote]In one of his poor anecdotes, he said, “I remember when I finally got my HDB flat in 1988, just after I ORD from the army, my wife and I had to borrow money from my uncle to do renovations. You’d be surprised to know that at the end of the thing, before we moved into our house, in the combined accounts of our banks, in the pockets together, we had $11.50.”

“We were scratching our heads thinking how to even have our first meal in the house when we had no money to buy chopsticks? We went down to Toyogo at Lorong 8 Toa Payoh and we had to count the number of pieces of chopsticks we can buy with $11.50 to equip our home.”

It’s not known what he ate for his first meal in his new flat, since after spending $11.50 for chopsticks, he had no money left to buy food. === > \" :rotflmao: 😆 \"
                  got his HDB flat in 1988, just after he ORD from the army??

so young?? :scared: 16 yo right??[/quote]Raysusan,
                  that's why he is a top surgeon.. and not a top banker :evil: ..... 算 数 like not so good leh 😆

Strparent

Don't make tactical sense to field GG.
                    He will be better off cultivating his chiku trees in East Coast GRC ready for harvest in GE 2016.

Fielding LLL wld be a great counterpoint to Dr. KPK's candidacy, don't u think?
                    She is more of a ground person who has worked d PE ground n resonates well with d ground.
                    Looking at Dr. KPK's CV, he wears so many hats dat either he is superman or some of those appointments don't require much time or work. With 2 young children in tow, where wld he find d time to effectively take care of his residents if elected?
                    Wld he resign fr his regular job? LLL prolly wld at no great loss.
                    If KPK did, SG wld lose a 'top' surgeon in his prime.
                    spot on W2G :salute: :salute:

....and I think u meant.... ANOTHER 'top' surgeon ? :imanangel:

CayennePepper

raysusan:
                      got his HDB flat in 1988, just after he ORD from the army??

so young?? :scared: 16 yo right??
                      Not wrong lah. He would have gone through med sch and housemanship first before completing NS. So would be a lot older than 16...

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

Strparent:

Don't make tactical sense to field GG.
                        He will be better off cultivating his chiku trees in East Coast GRC ready for harvest in GE 2016.

Fielding LLL wld be a great counterpoint to Dr. KPK's candidacy, don't u think?
                        She is more of a ground person who has worked d PE ground n resonates well with d ground.
                        Looking at Dr. KPK's CV, he wears so many hats dat either he is superman or some of those appointments don't require much time or work. With 2 young children in tow, where wld he find d time to effectively take care of his residents if elected?
                        Wld he resign fr his regular job? LLL prolly wld at no great loss.
                        If KPK did, SG wld lose a 'top' surgeon in his prime.

spot on W2G :salute: :salute:

....and I think u meant.... ANOTHER 'top' surgeon ? :imanangel:

An irony that as KS parents we drive our kids towards achievement and qualification so that they may be useful to society, just so that other people can rip into them and tear them down and declare them unfit for public office.

Dr KPK's parents must be wondering how they raised their child so poorly to the extent he is the object of scorn and ridicule.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 34 / 198