NUS law prof in CPIB probe over exchanging grades for sex
Snow Crystal:
You are absolutely right !!!
Values are taught at home.
We have seen kids being polite and not mouthing bad words amid an ah Beng school environment.
Vice versa -so called branded primary schools and secondary schools where most come from good families, there are some kids mouthing vulgarity etc.
Difference is what their families taught them from young...
studying in AH BENG school doesn't mean kids will turn out to be ah beng or ah lian. :rotflmao:
Branded schools may churn out kids to be like their parents...cocky.
Our kids spend long hours in school...attend ethics lesson or CME (civics moral education)...hopefully they pick up a thing or 2 about human values. -
You are absolutely right !!!Snow Crystal:
We have seen kids being polite and not mouthing bad words amid an ah Beng school environment.
Vice versa -so called branded primary schools and secondary schools where most come from good families, there are some kids mouthing vulgarity etc.
studying in AH BENG school doesn't mean kids will turn out to be ah beng or ah lian. :rotflmao:
Our kids spend long hours in school...attend ethics lesson or CME (civics moral education)...hopefully they pick up a thing or 2 about human values.
I object to that. :stompfeet:
Who says parents who send their kids to branded schools are cocky?
but :offtopic: Liao -
How we behave as a society is largely influenced by govt policies and our education. We are the product of past policies..... Innately, a lot of us desire a more caring and compassionate society as revealed during the National Conversation, but do these qualities manifest in our behaviour?
You are absolutely right !!!Snow Crystal:
Our kids spend long hours in school...attend ethics lesson or CME (civics moral education)...hopefully they pick up a thing or 2 about human values.
I support re-focusing on moral education and character building in schools in a big way. It is the right direction and it will strengthen that compass within every child so he/she is equipped with the right bearing come what may be in the future. -
MR06:
With MP's children sprouting words like \"Get out of my ELITE uncaring face\"....
How we behave as a society is largely influenced by govt policies and our education. We are the product of past policies..... Innately, a lot of us desire a more caring and compassionate society as revealed during the National Conversation, but do these qualities manifest in our behaviour?
What kind of values can we expect from such leaders or the policies of such leaders.. -
:faint: Remember HSK mentioned we are partners in education? You can always voice out if you disagree with what is taught. If they aren't receptive, post it here for all to see, http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=45513&start=40 provided your demands are reasonable. :evil:
With MP's children sprouting words like \"Get out of my ELITE uncaring face\"....MR06:
What kind of values can we expect from such leaders or the policies of such leaders.. -
Hi Funz,
I am NOT referring to all.
I am saying kids who attend ah beng schools do not turn out ah beng…kids in branded schools do have humble and gracious parents too…but I have seen some kids and parents from popular schools who spout F words while some are arrogant and think the world of themselves. -
Human beings are not perfect mah.
octoberbaby:
Human beings are not perfect mah.
Nobody is perfect...this I understand. -
MR06:
It is good MOE's priority in the years ahead will be to teach students about values and character so as to better prepare them for the 21st century. Hopefully this would change some schools' culture. Although calling a school \"creating competitive atas girls lacking finesse in social grace\" is a sweeping statement, the gereralisation would not be born without an iota of truth.[/quote]A Star for English Creative Writing :congrats:janet_lee88:
[quote=\"mdmlow\"]now news say she was pregnant before
It was a Mr Bay from CPIB who said she was pregnant...that was last Apr.
Hmmm, did that bb belong to Tey ?
These people are so intelligent...former district judge and law professor...another one from top girls' school and college. Couldn't they put their IQ to better use ? -
Not taught to be so, but rather through keen observation at adults behavior around them, they first just copy innocently, then learn to master it and practice it on their little friends and so on.
Should be the opposite right..? If kid is lead astray.. they are taught to be so..janet_lee88:
proverb has it that when a child is born, that ill-mannered child doesn't have a mother who teaches.
As the saying goes.. 人之初,性本善。
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.