All About Life Without Maids
Prob w dh is… he still lazes ard, watch tv n play his PC games…
he will hang the clothes when every one goes to slp… or sometimes he dun even remember… haiz… can’t hang the clothes out coz no one at home to keep in case it rains… usually will hang on the racks n put in kids room where there’s fan or aircon to dry it… -
We’ve never had domestic help so everyone does something. My kids are old enough to vacuum and mop their rooms. They are also in charge of dusting the study cos they use it the most. Occasionally I collect eraser dust etc and deposit them in their rooms as a reminder, if they’ve been slack. It’s easier and more effective than yelling my head off.
For laundry, they sort clothes into the appropriate laundry baskets upon changing so I don’t have to separate whites etc when I wash. I do laundry daily, usually in the morning, and can’t live without the dryer. I leave clean clothes on my bed and the kids collect, fold and keep. If I find what I call orphan clothes at a certain hour, I don’t return them to the owner; they get donated. After a few scares, everyone remembers to collect their clothes.
I detest ironing so my dh deals with his business wear. And… we usually don’t iron school uniforms! No one can tell hahahahahaha. I hang the uniforms up immediately after laundering, and have found that without the final spin, they don’t get creased.
For meals we tend to use a multi-layer steamer to save cooking time. Rice, meat and veg get cooked simultaneously. Recently we acquired a dishwasher and it’s fun for the kids to load their dishes in when they’re done eating. I run a cycle when the dishwasher’s full; it’s great not to have to stand at the sink for ages. We require the kids to clean the dining table as well.
They scrub the bathroom floors when they shower. I figure there’s soap on the floor anyway so might as well clean it! -
Morning mummies! I survived my 1st week without maid.
My dh still stick on his games, with or w/o maid. At times he does help to look after them. Lucky most of the time both kids can entertain themselves while I do housework. Now, my mum cook dinner for us and fetch kids from CC so that I don't have to rush home daily, thanks god I have her!
I realised my 7kg front load is too small for 2A2C. Need to use daily. Should have got a dryer too. I find hanging the clothes is the most troublesome work, I spend 30min to use hangers to hang the clothes before I place them over the pole
Though tired, I am happy that I have my privacy back. -
It is almost close to a year since we went without maids (and no part time maid either).
Initially, I washed the school shoes for my children (this year 10/12/14 years old). But after I realised that they were lazing around and not making effective use of their time to do their homework or revision, I made them wash their own shoes. They also have to vacuum (there is a very portable one which I highly recommend) and mop their own floor weekly, made their own bed and washed their own plates daily. Sometimes, their plates are not washed properly, so I call them back to re-wash again.
For laundry, I sorted them into the children’s piles and put on their bed. They are expected to fold themselves. No. 2 is quite untidy and sometimes she stuff her clothes into her drawer (I close my eyes and don’t see what is inside. See no evil, hear no evil).
For bedsheets, I changed fortnightly alternating between 5 beds, so each bedsheet is changed once in 4 weeks. For daily cleaning of the floor, the iRoomba is a life-saver. We only mop our floor once a week.
On Sat, while hubby send the children for classes and do the marketing, I will clean the toilets, pop the clothes into the washing maching and wash their socks.
My mum helps me iron the clothes and cook lunch/dinner for the children during weekdays. Steam fish and eggs are done with microwave in about 5 minutes, while the air-fryer takes care of nuggets/pop corn chicken/fried fish cake/fries (less the oil, so it’s a healthier version).
Weekday/Sat evenings are spent on supervising or revision with the children if they need help with their school work (while hubby takes care of mopping floor on Sat afternoon/Sun morning).
Of course there are still many nooks and corner that probably needs cleaning (window grill/wall fan), but we only clean them when there is time. Can’t be too perfect or we tire ourselves out. -
Dd is 5yo, ds is 3yo. Mostly kids clothes. My dh and me are about 4 set, the kids have about 8 sets. Plus towels…
I have a 8 kg machine.
Wash bed sheets weekly as I like to sleep on fresh smelling bed. Towels wash weekly for hygiene purpose and also block sun. Kids change 3 sets of clothes every day. Clothes must wash daily or else I will feel awkward. -
:rotflmao: yes yes! It happens! Mine also like that. He would say he would do it but he gives priority to the tv, cutting his nails, shower, newspaper, pod cast and then..... :snooze: forgot about the laundry!Prob w dh is.. he still lazes ard, watch tv n play his PC games..
he will hang the clothes when every one goes to slp.. or sometimes he dun even remember.. haiz.. can't hang the clothes out coz no one at home to keep in case it rains.. usually will hang on the racks n put in kids room where there's fan or aircon to dry it..
Then I wake up the next morning with the laundry still in the washing machine :stompfeet: :frustrated: in the end, I give up, I do myself. -
coccomie:
Mine is a 8kg and I wash about 3 days per week. Each time about 2-4loads. I launder by colour/function, so there are many loads. When there's bedsheets, soft toys, cushion covers, there will be more loads.Morning mummies! I survived my 1st week without maid.
My dh still stick on his games, with or w/o maid. At times he does help to look after them. Lucky most of the time both kids can entertain themselves while I do housework. Now, my mum cook dinner for us and fetch kids from CC so that I don't have to rush home daily, thanks god I have her!
I realised my 7kg front load is too small for 2A2C. Need to use daily. Should have got a dryer too. I find hanging the clothes is the most troublesome work, I spend 30min to use hangers to hang the clothes before I place them over the pole
Though tired, I am happy that I have my privacy back.
I usually hang the laundry while watching tv. Kid will hang his underwear and pants. I will do the rest. You will get faster as you do.
I am relieved not having a maid…my brother and his wife will be bringing bb and maid home after confinement. After 2 months plus, the maid is still not able to hold the fort and communication with her is still quite chicken-and-duck. Without my mum beside her, maid is not confident to cook.
Imami:
Ya manz.. sometimes i wait wif him till bed time to hang the clothes.. so tat HE WILL REMEMBER.. :rotflmao: Tis men.. really buay tahan them at times.. :stupid:
:rotflmao: yes yes! It happens! Mine also like that. He would say he would do it but he gives priority to the tv, cutting his nails, shower, newspaper, pod cast and then..... :snooze: forgot about the laundry!MintyMin:
Prob w dh is.. he still lazes ard, watch tv n play his PC games..
he will hang the clothes when every one goes to slp.. or sometimes he dun even remember.. haiz.. can't hang the clothes out coz no one at home to keep in case it rains.. usually will hang on the racks n put in kids room where there's fan or aircon to dry it..
Then I wake up the next morning with the laundry still in the washing machine :stompfeet: :frustrated: in the end, I give up, I do myself.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.