Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 414.5k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      octoberbaby

Aiya, I slow by one step.. 😆

They're so fast? This time ahead of the PAP? Wonder what they have up their sleeves...PAP supporters quite fixed in their mindsets..will be a tough one to rock.

They are going to talk about Town Council issue.

looking4Tutor

Just as they introduce FT to make our lives better, we should also introdue some OP to make their jobs easier.

raysusan

I am wondering why aim saga is not mentioned during the rally?

With more opp I believe more cans of worms will be open up

lim72

looking4Tutor:
            Just as they introduce FT to make our lives better, we should also introdue some OP to make their jobs easier.

:goodpost: Agreed!

raysusan

[quote]How should you vote in this by-election? If there is an authority on by-elections in Singapore, it is Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean. He said on Wednesday, “when the voters decide, they should decide on the basis of who will be the best person to represent them in Parliament, look after their future and make sure that Punggol East will be a better place to live in”.

So let’s look at these three things.

One. Represent you in parliament. Which candidate do you feel better able to relate to, feel you can talk to, understands your concerns to best represent you. Is it Dr Koh? Is it Mr Lim? Mr Jeyaretnam? Or Li Lian?

Two. Look after your future. Who do you send to Parliament to give yourself the best chance of having government policies that will look after YOUR future and your children’s future.

Consider this.

Since GE2011, the government has told you often that it will listen to you.
              I read from today’s newspapers: At last night’s PAP rally, speakers reminded voters of the party’s record since the 2011 General Elections, with major policies announced in housing, transport, education and healthcare. Yesterday, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said there will be as many as 200,000 new homes by 2016. n Thursday, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said the Government intends to double the rail network by 2030.
              So many changes since the 2011 General Elections!
              I believe the government will listen closely to what you have to say in this by-election. Do you wish to tell the Government to keep at the changes since GE2011. Or do you say, “OK, that’s enough listening to me.” No, you need to do more for your future and your children’s future with your vote.

Three. Make Punggol East a better place to live.
              The Workers’ Party takes a rational and responsible approach in town council management, with the interests of the residents high on our minds. When the new Aljunied-Hougang Town Council set its service and conservancy charges in October 2011, we did not increase the rates, but instead reduced them in many cases, depending on flat types. That was our decision after taking into account the interests of stakeholders, as well as its impact on town council operations. We said then that “With increasing operating costs, we are constantly exploring ways to keep expenses low. Nevertheless, steps would be taken to ensure that service standards are maintained at a high level.”

These are part of our efforts to make our constituencies a better place to live.
              You live right next to Aljunied GRC. You be the judge.

My fellow Singaporeans: To build a functioning multi-party parliamentary system takes time. IT WILL TAKE TIME for an opposition political party in Singapore to grow, gain experience, grow, overcome obstacles and grow into its role as a credible alternative government. But just because the task is challenging, it does not mean we do not take it on. Precisely because it will take time, so we should start NOW. Starting with your vote.

Voters of Punggol East: Think for yourselves. You know, there is another authority on how to use your vote to secure a bright future. David Marshall, the founder of the Workers’ Party. He once said “Don’t let anyone deaden your passion or courage: you are Singapore.”

Thank you.[/quote]what you guys think? :xedfingers:

concern2

Anyway, you have just proven the point, it took 3 pages of posts and 5 hours for someone to dig up anything of substance.

The opposition or the supporters, which to be feared? You tell me.
                3Boys, :spank: you think we are all campaigning for WP ah? We bother to share here \"tao chio \" liao. Most people just think it is a waste of time, \"tan luii\" is more important - and I bet you will say that is the right thing to do. :roll:

For those who say WP don't voice up about certain issues, do they actually follow what goes on in parliament? Most probably not. They see what is in the paper, papers never mention leh..

I was going to re-log in to my computer last night to bring up the manifestos but had to attend to the kids for school today. Anyway, I am glad someone else did. For many who question, who actually bother to read the manifestos? That's why I said before, and I say it now - it always starts with whether one is willing to give oppositions a thought. If not, nothing that is said will go in. I don't question so much of opposition supporters - at least at this point in time - because many had been PAP supporters in the past too, meaning they have been on the other side before.

There are PAP supporters who still think it is the PAP who is spending money to build our bridges and mending the entire country. :slapshead: Don't question me on this - I got it first hand from an aunty who has this mentality. And when I told her it is tax payers-the people who are paying for all these, her eye opened wide wide :scared: like it never occurred to her before :faint: So, 3Boys, all PAP supporters all very smart and well-informed hor :evil:

pirate

Generalities that my MIL can cook up in the kitchen, or the Ah Pek in the coffee shop.

\"More research on improving the success rate and lowering the cost of assisted reproduction...\"

So WP is now a biomed incubator? Dun make me laugh...

Talk is cheap.

Anyway, you have just proven the point, it took 3 pages of posts and 5 hours for someone to dig up anything of substance.

It is interesting that of the few things I reproduced, you zoomed in on the one most general item, and overlooked the specific proposals that now appear in one form or another in Baby Bonus 2013. These proposals were published waaaaaay back in 2011 by WP before the GE. But, I suppose that's how some segment of the electorate will react.

The PAP manifesto is even thinner on specifics. Specifics on implementation are drawn up by civil servants. I don't elect somebody to be a civil servant. I leave that to the civil service. I elect somebody for vision and concepts. Lately, the PAP is getting a bit thin in this department. Not for nothing is the lament that the PAP does not appear to have another Goh Keng Swee.

Recent measures by the PAP government appear to me to be firefighting measures. Does it even have a vision anymore?

Even the idea to give HDB priority to families with children has to come from online forums. I know, because I was the first one to plant that seed at Yahoo! before anybody else mentioned it.

It used to be that given a choice between a PAP and an opposition candidate, the choice was a no brainer because the PAP candidate is far superior. Now? In some cases, there is nothing between the two. In a few other cases, the non-PAP candidate is actually stronger. In fact, some of the candidates (who shall remain nameless) they have put forth in the last GE leaves one with the impression that they are really scraping the bottom of the barrel. The SAF, NTUC, civil service, doctors, and relatives of the above. Is the PAP recruitment circle becoming so small? Something is seriously wrong somewhere.

Even PAP stalwarts have gotten fed up enough to come forward. One even ran against their preferred presidential candidate. I suspect if he does that again in the next presidential elections, he will win.

I am not firmly in the opposition camp. Heck, I voted PAP the last time. If this continues, I may not do so come next GE. And my constituency has an NCMP...

concern2

raysusan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPh_IkKjzVo

SDA Punggol East By-Elections Online Rally

His campaign is turning farcical.
                    If he cannot articulate his points in a close setting of his choosing, how can he deliver in parliament under more trying conditions?
                    Ah Singh can possibly be a promising infomercial salesman.

:faint: Sorry, Mr Lim, I couldn't bear to continue after the first few seconds.. That said, I respect you as a person for your willingness and determination to take part despite all odds. :salute:

This is also an option that other candidates could consider doing in the future - with improvements, and would be an advantage to candidates who are photogenic (appears better on camera than in real 😆 ) Some more, this kind can edit and re-take if not done well the first time. BTW, are there any rules on this yet?

Rational_Parent

pirate:

Generalities that my MIL can cook up in the kitchen, or the Ah Pek in the coffee shop.

\"More research on improving the success rate and lowering the cost of assisted reproduction...\"

So WP is now a biomed incubator? Dun make me laugh...

Talk is cheap.

It is interesting that of the few things I reproduced, you zoomed in on the one most general item, and overlooked the specific proposals that now appear in one form or another in Baby Bonus 2013. These proposals were published waaaaaay back in 2011 by WP before the GE. But, I suppose that's how some segment of the electorate will react.

The PAP manifesto is even thinner on specifics. Specifics on implementation are drawn up by civil servants. I don't elect somebody to be a civil servant. I leave that to the civil service. I elect somebody for vision and concepts. Lately, the PAP is getting a bit thin in this department. Not for nothing is the lament that the PAP does not appear to have another Goh Keng Swee.

Recent measures by the PAP government appear to me to be firefighting measures. Does it even have a vision anymore?

Even the idea to give HDB priority to families with children has to come from online forums. I know, because I was the first one to plant that seed at Yahoo! before anybody else mentioned it.

It used to be that given a choice between a PAP and an opposition candidate, the choice was a no brainer because the PAP candidate is far superior. Now? In some cases, there is nothing between the two. In a few other cases, the non-PAP candidate is actually stronger. In fact, some of the candidates (who shall remain nameless) they have put forth in the last GE leaves one with the impression that they are really scraping the bottom of the barrel. The SAF, NTUC, civil service, doctors, and relatives of the above. Is the PAP recruitment circle becoming so small? Something is seriously wrong somewhere.

Even PAP stalwarts have gotten fed up enough to come forward. One even ran against their preferred presidential candidate.

I am not firmly in the opposition camp. Heck, I voted PAP the last time. If this continues, I may not do so come next GE. And my constituency has an NCMP...

Some call it entrenched position. Others suggest tunnel vision and yet some said \"ranker\" and anti-opposition. You decide or perhaps have new ones?

You know what - if any Ah Peh can produce that Manifesto then we don't need education in Singapore. Or is it there's only one educated forumer?

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

3Boys, :spank: you think we are all campaigning for WP ah? We bother to share here \"tao chio \" liao. Most people just think it is a waste of time, \"tan luii\" is more important - and I bet you will say that is the right thing to do. :roll:

For those who say WP don't voice up about certain issues, do they actually follow what goes on in parliament? Most probably not. They see what is in the paper, papers never mention leh..

I was going to re-log in to my computer last night to bring up the manifestos but had to attend to the kids for school today. Anyway, I am glad someone else did. For many who question, who actually bother to read the manifestos? That's why I said before, and I say it now - it always starts with whether one is willing to give oppositions a thought. If not, nothing that is said will go in. I don't question so much of opposition supporters - at least at this point in time - because many had been PAP supporters in the past too, meaning they have been on the other side before.

There are PAP supporters who still think it is the PAP who is spending money to build our bridges and mending the entire country. :slapshead: Don't question me on this - I got it first hand from an aunty who has this mentality. And when I told her it is tax payers-the people who are paying for all these, her eye opened wide wide :scared: like it never occurred to her before :faint: So, 3Boys, all PAP supporters all very smart and well-informed hor :evil:

So the policies that WP are proposing do not require taxpayers money? If they come to power they will spend WP money and not taxpayers money on programs?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 79 / 198