All About Preparing For Secondary One
read widely, it really helps
Yes I agree, reading widely will really help.
Lowest point is 2 points if your child can get all A1 (which is 6 points). If your child has HMT, then can minus 2 points. If affiliated, can minus another 2 points. For CCA, can minus 1 to 2 point depends on the performance.Lowest point for 6 subjects for JC entrance.
Language 1 subject, otheRs 5 subjects. Thus, L1R5
In order to get into RI and HCI, 2 points is the COP
then come VJC which has 3 point COP...
The highest COP is 20 points (4 B3 and 2 B4, still OK)
So it is not difficult to go to JC.
The issue is the chance to go University...
And University is still not it... Is there JOBs available?.. -
Vikaesh:
1/2. I don't know, I rarely use assesment books because IP has a slightly different syllabus. Try and lobang from other schools; NYGH compiles all our exam papers but it's only available to students towards the end of the year. Your teachers should be giving enough practices and as long as you do your homework + questions in the textbook, it should be okay.1. What guide books/ assessment book do you recommend for sec 1s ?
2. What website can we visit for free past year sec 1 exam papers for top schools ? [excluding: http://www.wendykoh.com and http://www.misskoh.com]
3. Any tips on how to study for various subjects ?
4. What factors should we take into consideration before commiting for a CCA?
5. For good quality bags, shoes and stationery to be used in sec 1, where can we go to purchase them?
6. Any word of advice for those embarking on the seconday life journey in 2010?
3. Check the individual threads ba! I would say study consistently and don't wait until the final days to revise. Pay attention in class and ask your teachers/ friends for help. Go borrow good essays from your classmates. Don't be lazy; do your homework and make notes!
4. Timing (read: try not to clash with existing commitments like music or dance class), Frequency of practice/ meetings (Performing Arts and Sports practice nealry every day during competition season), Nature of Activities and if you're kiasu, Portfolio/ Opportunities to shine.
5. I wore white Bata shoes and carried a Converse schoolbag during my Sec school years I think. Stationery, anything would do lah! Your school booklist should list any additional notebooks/ school diary etc if you need, most of which can probably be bought from the school bookshop.
6. Just enjoy yourself. Take advantage of all the opportunities offered. You only go through Sec school once, so give it your best shot!
Anyway, L1R5 COP for JCs: http://sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/html/JCAggregateRange.htm
Technically, you only need 3 to get into HCI/ RJC. The problem is not all 3 pointers will get admitted.
CLEP and MLEP also have bonus 2 points deduction I think. -
mathsparks:
The learning lab is highly recommended for English. Go check it out.poohandtigger:
Mathsparks, thanks for reply.
Does anyone has a good English tuition center or tutor to recommend?
Do you know what they teach at learning lab (for english) ? I am interested to know what is their teaching plan.
Hi, hwachongkid, you may either swim thru' this link (but mostly related to Pri level) or give TLL a call.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=418 -
CrazyDad:
Its 3 points for HCI/RJC, and 5 points for NJC/VJCLowest point is 2 points if your child can get all A1 (which is 6 points). If your child has HMT, then can minus 2 points. If affiliated, can minus another 2 points. For CCA, can minus 1 to 2 point depends on the performance.
And University is still not it... Is there JOBs available?.. -
CrazyDad:
though it may not be difficult to go into JC (based on max. of 20 pts), but admitting into an average or less than desired JC, how many of their pupils r eligible to local Uni? Not able to get into local Uni, parents would need to invest lots more $ to either send their children to private institution or overseas.
Lowest point is 2 points if your child can get all A1 (which is 6 points). If your child has HMT, then can minus 2 points. If affiliated, can minus another 2 points. For CCA, can minus 1 to 2 point depends on the performance.
And University is still not it... Is there JOBs available?..
julongmum:
though it may not be difficult to go into JC (based on max. of 20 pts), but admitting into an average or less than desired JC, how many of their pupils r eligible to local Uni? Not able to get into local Uni, parents would need to invest lots more $ to either send their children to private institution or overseas.

Going oversea is a good idea. But must go a place where the kids can work to earn part of the expenses and we Kiasu Parents pay the rest of it.
As MM Lee said in yesterday's Strait Time. Our edge is bi-cultures, not bilinguals. And the kids can only be bi-cultures if they live the life not only in campus. -
CrazyDad:
What about polytechnics? What about homeschooling? What about distant learning?Going oversea is a good idea. But must go a place where the kids can work to earn part of the expenses and we Kiasu Parents pay the rest of it.
As MM Lee said in yesterday's Strait Time. Our edge is bi-cultures, not bilinguals. And the kids can only be bi-cultures if they live the life not only in campus.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.