Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 318.4k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      octoberbaby

One of our taiwanese friends got her PR few months after her arrival. She said her agent in Taiwan will handle all everything concerning Singapore Immigrations. She paid SIN$10,000.00 to get whole family PR status thru this Taiwanese agent.

She came her, few mths later, bought HDB 4 room flat. Few months later she rent a master-bed room in condo. Rent out her 4-rm flat. She is a study-mama, husband doing china business.

pirate

Dora1:
        Well I think it depends on which year the PR application is made. I think during 2006-2008, anybody who applies seem to get it. My hubby's colleague was invited to come to SG to work by Edb in some dunno what talent scheme for his industry. And he was sent the PR application form within the 1st week that he arrived in SG. It's only when complaints started and after the GE 2011 that they cut down drastically

Well, I sure hope they take the next fews to review and weed out some of these nonsense PR granted in 2006-2011 when they come up for renewal. The problem I fear is that they will send home the good ones that are beneficial to Singapore too. We all know how the civil service works. :mad:

ngl2010

7 million is too many for Singapore. I am very dreaded to have that big population in 2030 in such a tiny island. I am opening my mind if my DC wants to migrate overseas 😢 In the past, when govt has a plan, they will carry it out for sure. I hope this time they will hear our voice. If not, I hope the next GE will make them hear our voice. Is it correct that opposition party needs one third to veto in parliament?

I used to enjoy off-peak grocery shopping…now it makes no difference between peak nor non-peak…it’s crowded all the time…do we really need so many immigrants? Singapore is like a crowded fish tank…add in anymore people, there will be insufficient air, water, food and space for the existing people to breathe.

Dora1

ngl2010:
              7 million is too many for Singapore. I am very dreaded to have that big population in 2030 in such a tiny island. I am opening my mind if my DC wants to migrate overseas 😢 In the past, when govt has a plan, they will carry it out for sure. I hope this time they will hear our voice. If not, I hope the next GE will make them hear our voice. Is it correct that opposition party needs one third to veto in parliament?

Yes opp needs 1/3 to veto. And I'm afraid we are too late, cannot wait till 2016 liao. the white paper will be debated next month in parliament, and we all know what's the result :mad:

Dora1

pirate:
                Dora1:

Well I think it depends on which year the PR application is made. I think during 2006-2008, anybody who applies seem to get it. My hubby's colleague was invited to come to SG to work by Edb in some dunno what talent scheme for his industry. And he was sent the PR application form within the 1st week that he arrived in SG. It's only when complaints started and after the GE 2011 that they cut down drastically

Well, I sure hope they take the next fews to review and weed out some of these nonsense PR granted in 2006-2011 when they come up for renewal. The problem I fear is that they will send home the good ones that are beneficial to Singapore too. We all know how the civil service works. :mad:

Yeah I know of spouses of SC being denied PR, yet I have so many PR colleagues that has 1 spouse convert to SC so that they can buy flats, baby bonus, maternity leave, Pri sch priority. I asked them why dun the other spouse convert as well, they told me they won't stay in SG for long anyway. In other words, they convert because they want the benefits! The most recent case that I know of was middle of last year, she converted she knew she was preggie and now she's entitled to the new baby bonus package! I know personally of soooooo many of these cases and they told me that they won't stay here forever cos cost of living is too high and too crowded!!!
                I know of a few where the whole family converted and they really want stay here, and I can see these are the ones that make the effort to integrate. I welcome these new citizens, but for the 1st group they are just wasting tax payers money!!! And we're going to let more of these people in?? They will just leave at the sign of 1st trouble in SG, after enjoying all the benefits.

I think we should only allow married couples to convert to SC if the whole famiły convert, if not dun give the citizenship!

concern2

pirate:
                  I guess we will have to leave it to the next generation to figure that one out. May they have greater wisdom than us.

😆 famous lines from Deng.

concern2

pirate:
                    I guess we will have to leave it to the next generation to figure that one out. May they have greater wisdom than us.

😆 famous lines from Deng.

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

You may have seen this before

http://www.theglobalist.com/storyid.aspx?StoryId=8321

Is Population Growth a Ponzi Scheme?

The basic pitch of those promoting population growth is straightforward in its appeal: \"More is better.\" Joseph Chamie, who has spent a lifelong career as a demographer, including 12 years of service as the director of the United Nations Population Division, finds that more is not necessarily better.

concern2

Dora1:
                        ngl2010:

Yes opp needs 1/3 to veto. And I'm afraid we are too late, cannot wait till 2016 liao. the white paper will be debated next month in parliament, and we all know what's the result :mad:

Is it possible that they suddenly make halt to this after discussion in Parliament? LIke perhaps making 'populist decision'? 🦆 Or perhaps making you feel like being 'subsidized' :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 150