Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
Umm, my understanding is that under current rules, HDB will allow for whole unit to be sublet as long as MOP is fulfilled. The tenancy and the names of tenants have to be registered - whether whole unit or room sublet.
In the past, it was more difficult to sublet the whole unit (have to write in for approval etc); but now just MOP fulfilled can already. -
Dora1:
The problem lies with the immigration dept people who approved the PR or SC blindly.
So actually the weakest link is allowing 1 of the PR couple to convert to SCs. All the cooling measures or whatever other measures will not work on these people who have the intention of abusing the system and cash in on the benefits. That's why they should not allow only 1 spouse to convert. Want to convert both must convert together.
In the application letter, it states who are the husband or the wife, marriage of certs, birth certs are all must be attached. -
Thanks 3 Boys, that's a great read!You may have seen this before
http://www.theglobalist.com/storyid.aspx?StoryId=8321
Is Population Growth a Ponzi Scheme?
I am not sure about your stand but PAP keeps wanting Singaporeans to swallow bitter pills to prevent future illnesses is very bad for their Y2016 election.
Think they will lose big time then.
WP must be busy strategising themselves, how not to win too many wards in Y2016 election, to the extent that they will be 'forced' to become the government.
Y2021 is more feasible for WP to take over if these bitter pills keep coming out from PAP. -
The increase in population size mitigates the consequences and effects of an aging population. There is an economies of scale issue here where because Singapore is small the greater density can lead to a mitigation of costs increases that will continue to happen.
There is also an insufficient domestic market to sustain Singapore’s current rate of economic growth and so if u do nothing, eventually you will start to deflate economically leading to a lower quality of life in an overcrowded environment.
I am not sure as to what is the right population figure as it is crystal ball gazing at best. But unless you have a time travel machine, the best you can do is to look into the crystal ball and hope you are seeing what you hope to see! -
Just relax:
:goodpost:The increase in population size mitigates the consequences and effects of an aging population. There is an economies of scale issue here where because Singapore is small the greater density can lead to a mitigation of costs increases that will continue to happen.
There is also an insufficient domestic market to sustain Singapore's current rate of economic growth and so if u do nothing, eventually you will start to deflate economically leading to a lower quality of life in an overcrowded environment.
I am not sure as to what is the right population figure as it is crystal ball gazing at best. But unless you have a time travel machine, the best you can do is to look into the crystal ball and hope you are seeing what you hope to see! -
This is a must read. :goodpost:You may have seen this before
http://www.theglobalist.com/storyid.aspx?StoryId=8321
Is Population Growth a Ponzi Scheme?
The basic pitch of those promoting population growth is straightforward in its appeal: \"More is better.\" Joseph Chamie, who has spent a lifelong career as a demographer, including 12 years of service as the director of the United Nations Population Division, finds that more is not necessarily better. -
octoberbaby:
One of our taiwanese friends got her PR few months after her arrival. She said her agent in Taiwan will handle all everything concerning Singapore Immigrations. She paid SIN$10,000.00 to get whole family PR status thru this Taiwanese agent.
She came her, few mths later, bought HDB 4 room flat. Few months later she rent a master-bed room in condo. Rent out her 4-rm flat. She is a study-mama, husband doing china business.Dora1:
The loopholes and flouting of rules are not new and everyone knows, only those policy makers \"don't know\" or \"don't want to know\".Nope, after MOP can rent out whole flat also. This is applicable to SCs, and PRs until the recent cooling measure in Jan this year. Prior to this, they can rent out the whole flat after MOP just like SCs. So many HDB rental units, where are the owners staying? Of cos in their condos!
Anyway, I know so many PR couples, where 1 of them convert to SC, so they bought new flats, and rent out while they went back to their home country to work. This is even during the MOP cos HDB allows renting out of HDBs during MOP if the whole family is posted overseas to work.
That's why the stats show that only a couple of thousands of PR renting out their flats. This actually excludes those where 1 spouse have converted.
So actually the weakest link is allowing 1 of the PR couple to convert to SCs. All the cooling measures or whatever other measures will not work on these people who have the intention of abusing the system and cash in on the benefits. That's why they should not allow only 1 spouse to convert. Want to convert both must convert together.
The \"valid reasons\" given by the spouse not converting are
1. have business interests in home country and a lot of government-linked business, so cannot convert.
2. only heir to properties in home country, the law prohibits ownership of such properties by foreigners, so cannot convert.
3. aged parents in home country, the parents are paranoid of being left behind, so cannot convert
and the list goes on..... like fake divorce...... -
- Why turn us Citizens into minority in our home land?
- If there isn’t 3.6mil citizens by 2030,how? where’s yearly milestone?
- What is the imported citizens ratio for this 3.6mil citizens?
- Where is Singaporean distinct priority in housing citizens first, employing citizens first, Singaporean children first, health care for citizens first?
- Knowingly 17 years later, yr child enter NS to serve and protect these migrants, after which compete for housing, jobs, transportation with these migrants, will you plan to have children?
- If so, how to reach 3.6mil by 2030?
- Why migrate oversea due to this white paper when we can object it & cause our children to be a nobody in that country?
- How old are you 17 years later, with so many migrants surrounding, where do you stand as an old man?
- of 6.9mil population, only 3.6mil citizens??? NO way!!!
Jim -
toddles:
Don't you see, that is the irony of it all. Last time parents 养儿防老, but in a way, that takes care of society's needs! Although they might have been thinking of their own nuclear family, ultimately, it is each individual household that make up the population and the society. And when everyone has similar mentality, we wouldn't have the same problem as we have today, being reminded of how we are having a smaller working population taking care of bigger aging population.
Hmm... I don't think yang er fang lau is wiser...
better 靠自己... have children because you want to, because you think it's meaningful, not because of their perceived economic value to you in old age...
that's why we're called the sandwich generation. look after parents (too late liao, they 养儿防老 mentality so didn't save for their own retirement, we bo pian have to provide for them), look after kids, gotta save for own retirement cos really shouldn't expect kids to have the means to look after us in old age.
times are different... those who believe they can still 养儿防老 are probably setting themselves up for disappointment. not that the kids are not fillial, but it's just going to be increasingly hard for them...
On the other hand, it could also be the more challenging environment that results in the change in people's mindset towards 养儿防老 - possibly Western influence, challenges in bringing up children in the new era, and people not wanting to be a burden to their children. Not saying these change in mindsets are no good - just that they aren't benefiting economic growth, and the reason why we need immigrants
Say we grab people from the streets & ask for their opinions, I seriously doubt anyone would wholeheartedly support this overpopulation plan.
Problem is decision makers are not listening. They have already decided (apparantly) and are now merely trying to pitch to everyone else that they know best.
They certainly look very determined to proceed with this plan, regardless of what Singaporeans said.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.