Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      KopiYing

My maid’s work permit is till 4 Jun 2010. We havent asked her whether she wish to continue or not.

Can I purchase 1-way air ticket now?

kiasimom

KopiYing:
        My maid's work permit is till 4 Jun 2010. We havent asked her whether she wish to continue or not.

Can I purchase 1-way air ticket now?
        You should first find out from her if she wants to continue working for you and whether you still want her to work for you.
        It is too early to purchase a ticket now.

Usually you can buy 1 to 2 months in advance.

KopiYing

Oh ok! noted! Thanks 🙂

peapot

oh! I didn’t know that Taiwan has such rules. The government should do something about it. Maybe there’s no maid’s abuse case in Taiwan? I think we should write to the Straits Times forum. I usually see only people write about maid abuse. Hardly anything on what was mentioned here. The Straits Times is a poweful media, it brought NKF down. It may help us.

peapot

Wow, Tamarind your SIL maid blackmail your family?? I cannot tolerate such maids. If your SIL has alternative temporary baby sitting arrangement, then think its best to send the maid off.

For your information, I couldn’t find a maid replacement intime and my maid told me she’s "helping me out" by extending her stay for another 1 month. In actual fact its because she can attend her job interview. I have to listen to her and do her bidding because there’s no alternative for me.

NicHei

Hi Poison,

I had a friend who had a Myanmar maid. Her EL was quite good. Later on, I found out that she was a Uni grad.

Perhaps this piece of information might come in handy in the selection of your nxt maid?? 😄
                Hi hi, just take note that although they indicated they are 23, some of them are only 21 or evenless.I already have heard of 2 cases.those that are uni grads, may just wnat to come and take alook at the world out of Myanmar. if can, try to arrange for phone interview or webcam/videophone call..... but but, sometimes dun even want to do it lor.

Haiz, government should really start to look at employers interest on maids.

Andaiz

peapot:
                  Wow, Tamarind your SIL maid blackmail your family?? I cannot tolerate such maids. If your SIL has alternative temporary baby sitting arrangement, then think its best to send the maid off.

For your information, I couldn't find a maid replacement intime and my maid told me she's \"helping me out\" by extending her stay for another 1 month. In actual fact its because she can attend her job interview. I have to listen to her and do her bidding because there's no alternative for me.
                  Aiyo peapot, your this maid EQ quite high eh? If it's not too disruptive to your lifestyle, think it'd be a win-win situation since you've got that extra pair of hands, and she can stay till her job interviews come to an end. :celebrate: Just dun let her hold you hostage by leaving you high and dry when you need her lo! 😐

peapot

Ya Andaiz, sigh! She’s like my boss. Because she knows I have no one to care for my kid, she’s acting high and mighty now till end Jan. I have to tolerate her till then. She’s a university graduate and so quite intelligient. I m also puzzle how MOM can just approve her permit as a waitress while she’s still working as a foreign domestic maid. My maid now wants everything to go her way and to her advantage.

Everything ok with your smart cookie? But I guess you need 8mths to really tell. Luckily you still got your mother in law. Mine passed away long time ago…

tamarind

kiasimom:

We have to attend lesson for the 5th replacement maid, how about the maid?
                      Do they have to be counsell by MOM if they change more than 4 employers a year?
                      Sigh...a maid can have 12 employers and nothing happens to her. She can still find jobs easily.

Andaiz:
                      Ahhh.....Tamarind jie, you hit the nail on the head...the problem isn't with the degenerating quality of maids, it is with the fact that the floodgates are open to them even if they play punk, get sent home...can rest and enjoy Christmas with their family, then re-surface here with another agency. God help unsuspecting employers like us.
                      No one up there is going to help employers, so we have to help ourselves.

Many employers still do not know how to check the employment history of the maids in MOM website, they simply believe in the lies that the maid and the agency tell them.

I have heard of maids who tell prospective employers that they ran away from their previous employer's home because they were ill treated, etc. The new employer pity the maid and employ her. Then the maid ran away from the new employer's house !!! Employers should stay far far away from maids like this. We are NOT doing charity work, we need a maid who can work !

Then there are employers who think that it is perfectly OK to employ maids who were sent back by their ex-employer after a few weeks or days. I am not saying that all maids like this are bad. But it costs a lot of money to employ maids, why would the ex-employer want to send the maid away simply because they are fussy ? The maid must have done something unacceptable. The maid has learned her lesson and knows how to cover up her tracks better, that is why it is harder for the new employer to discover her problems. It is too risky to employ this type of maids.

I advise all employers to employ only experienced maids who have completed 2 or more years with one employer only, either that or employ new maids with no experience. If all employers can do the same, then this is one way to get rid of the bad maids.

peapot:
                      Yes she is blackmailing my SIL's family. Not my family, I will send this maid away immediately if that is what she wishes.
                      My SIL has 3 kids age 5 years, 18 months, 3 months, and she has to work. She has already changed a few maids. She does not have any alternative, that is why she has to tolerate her.

peapot:
                      oh! I didn't know that Taiwan has such rules. The government should do something about it. Maybe there's no maid's abuse case in Taiwan? I think we should write to the Straits Times forum. I usually see only people write about maid abuse. Hardly anything on what was mentioned here. The Straits Times is a poweful media, it brought NKF down. It may help us.
                      In this case, no one has done anything wrong. It is about policy changes, and people up there may not share the same opinions.

Andaiz

peapot:
                        Ya Andaiz, sigh! She's like my boss. Because she knows I have no one to care for my kid, she's acting high and mighty now till end Jan. I have to tolerate her till then.

Yep, that's what I meant by being helf hostage. HRH was becoming like that too. So, I'd had to let her go ahead of the new year so that I can get the new one settled in.

peapot:
                        Everything ok with your smart cookie? But I guess you need 8mths to really tell. Luckily you still got your mother in law. Mine passed away long time ago...
                        so far so good. Very fast and efficient but like to take things into her own hands loh. Picky with food and I told her no princesses allowed in the house. My kids are given their lunch (heated) at dinnertime if they didn't finish the former. I myself eat leftovers so she needs to also learn to eat our way. I'm not about to change my ways for her. She doesn't seem used to the way we eat vegetables (stir-fried Chinese style) so it'd take some getting used to.

I've to constantly remind her to ASK if she doesn't understand. Just over Christmas she incurred the wrath of my MIL liao...anyway that's another story coz my MIL has issue with every one of her 40 or so maids anyway 😛 so smart cookie's just one more to the statistic 😐

Yeah, we'd need to wait till she's paid off her loan then the \"true colours\" like the other forumers say, will then rear its ugly head. Till then, I'll just have to keep teaching loh!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 106 / 1032